We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Trip to Charleston with Husband and Toddler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Trip to Charleston with Husband and Toddler”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We took a quick weekend trip to Charleston to visit some friends. This hotel is in a great location as it is located only 12 minutes from the downtown historic Charleston area. There are NUMEROUS restaurants located directly next to the hotel and across the street. We were warmly welcomed and promptly checked into our hotel room by Michelle. She even let my son hit the desk bell a few times when we checked in (he loved it!). The room was average size and very clean. NO problems. The hotel breakfast was decent if you were just looking for something to put into your belly before heading out. The coffee was WONDERFUL :) The pancake maker machine was wonderful for my 3 year old. They have complimentary cookies, coffee and lemonade in the evening. No problems. VERY DECENTLY PRICED and close to everything. Do doubt, we would stay here again. :)

P.S. Very close to the St. James Island Holiday Lights Show.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We are so excited that you had a great weekend trip in Charleston. Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all the great comments especially about the staff and recognizing Michelle. I am so pleased that your toddler had a great time ringing the bell and enjoyed the pancakes. We hope you have a wonderful Holiday Season. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    198
    69
    17
    13
See reviews for
205
234
32
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
174 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is located at I-17 and Hwy 526 just 11 minutes from the airport and convenient to Kiawah island. It is very easy to find and offers 3 floors of rooms. I spent 2 nights in room 326. The numerals outside each room are definitely the largest and easiest to locate in any hotel. But typical hall noise cannot be avoided when the door is closed. Parking is ample and there are a number of restaurants close by.

My major complaint is about breakfast. The breakfast area is small. This hotel does have the normal variety of food but some of it (muffins, bacon) is of particularly low quality with respect to high sugar content and bad taste, respectively. I wish other hotel chains would look at the overall product instead of the bottom line.

The stay here was fine and the staff was very good. They serve cookies in the evening and when it is raining the porch in front allows for loading and unloading without getting soaked.

I would likely stay here again but definitely avoid the breakfast, regardless of what other reviews say.

Room Tip: high floor, end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDM77059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback especially in regards to the breakfast area. The Holiday Inn Express brand has taken great pride listening to guest comments and feedback about our breakfast bar. They are looking to improve the items on the bar with healthier items starting in 2014. We are very happy that you had a great stay with us. We hope you have a wonderful and Safe Holiday Season. We hope you have an opportunity to visit Charleston again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night and enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Swimming pool looked good though we didn't use it as it was winter. Good full breakfast.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank James255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We appreciate the wonderful comments you had about your recent stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a Great Stay. We hope you have a wonderful Holiday Season. Also we are hoping that you have another opportunity to visit Charleston again. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed three nights at your hotel. It was our first trip to Charleston and the hotel personnel couldn't have been more helpful. Each day we had a new destination within Charleston and would stop by the front desk for directions and comments on where we were going. They gave us excellent recommendations, directions and some wonderful places to dine. It was also nice to start out each day with a nice hot breakfast. I would really like to thank Sherry, the front counter person, for all her help in making our trip so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms on botton floor were easier access to front lobby and exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgordonwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
WOW! Thank you for your amazing comments about your recent stay with us. We truly appreicate the kind words you express about the staff especially, Sherry. Our staff strives to give each guest a wonderful and memorable experience when they stay with us. We hope that you have a fantastic Holiday Season. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Charleston again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I really enjoyed my overnight stay. I was in Charleston to visit my son who attends The Citadel The room was clean and nicely decorated in a modern fashion. The bed was comfortable beyond words. Best night of rest I've had in awhile.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vernisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the amazing comment you had about your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable night. So excited for you that you had the opportunity to visit your son while visiting Charleston. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit Charleston again and stay with us. Thank you for great review, we truly appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice hotel, very clean and nice staff. At times I could hear people talking and the hallway always seemed to be busy as I heard people talking and room doors closing 24/7. I don't know if the walls are thin or the folks were just being loud but I would ask for a less busy floor if I stay here again. The business center was small but comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bawalker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you had a comfortable, cleaned hotel room and that our staff made you feel welcome during your stay. We hope you have another opportunity to visit us again. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ditzingen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

great place if you dont want to stay in the City.
Very easy to travel to Magnolia Gardens, Charleston Downtown, Sullivan Island, Folly Island and many more things.
Rooms and Hotel a clean, Room service did a perfect job.

Only the breakfast area is a bit to small when the hotel is fully booked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed our location and the hotel. We hope you were able see all the history that Charleston has to offer. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Charleston again. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#25 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing