We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK place to stay in the city, but away from historic district” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK place to stay in the city, but away from historic district”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

When I go back to Charleston, I won't go back here. It was a decent place, but I think I could find something just as acceptable for the same price in the historic district, and not have to get in the car and find parking every day. The staff were very friendly, the décor was OK, but the carpets in the bedrooms could have used a good cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear DunwoodyFoodie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you found our staff friendly and apologize for the inconvenience the cleanliness of the room may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    192
    67
    17
    12
See reviews for
198
228
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Debary, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

the location was perfect for my visit, the staff very accommodating and friendly. Room was comfortable and quiet. Everything was as effortless as possible from a visitor's point of view. Although it was cold and the pool inaccessible, it seemed to be a nice place for it, not in front of the hotel but the rear.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time in Charleston. We hope that you have another opportunity to visit Charleston and stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. While the lobby and dining area were somewhat small, the atmosphere was welcoming. The room itself was smaller than expected, especially the bathroom, but the whole room was very clean. Overall this is a nice hotel for a few nights stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hgb712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the great comments about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and in Charleston. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Charleston again. Thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I am usually leary about certain hotels because I have had some bad experiences with the cleanliness and such. But my husband and I decided to go with this hotel based on reviews on TripAdvisor.
When we got here I was so relieved! The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. We came up to our room and, again, was so relieved! The room was very clean!! One of the cleanest I've ever been in!
Being the germaphobe that I am, I was very pleased with this hotel and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
WOW! Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the 2 nights with us. We strive to give great customer service and a clean hotel. We are honored that you have you have read the other trip advisor comments and decided to stay with us. We hope that you are able to visit Charleston again. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The room was super accomdating with pretty much everything you would need. The bed super comfy and the front desk was super helpful and had everything would we need for our 2 night stay. The room was clean and the breakfast had everything you would need to fill your tummy. the location is the best easy access to everywhere you need to go. A must stay for anyone traveling to Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel3069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
WOW! Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strived to provide our guest with comfortable and clean guest rooms, helpful front desk and amazing experience.
We hope you have the opportunity to visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Being violently allergic to tobacco smoke, we booked this hotel because it allegedly was non smoking. We checked in at 11:30pm. The lobby smelled like an ashtray. I complained and was told the tobacco stench was from someone smoking outside and would dissipate. The area around tje elevator smelled like marijuana smoke which my 15 year old noticed Our room smells like an ashtray but there are no other rooms to be had. I have been up all night retching. My wife has been coughing all night. Our clothes stink of tobacco sonit is going to be a splendid trip back home. Thanks, Holiday Inn, for making us ill and exposingy adolescent to dope. Appreciate it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JumpingJackPollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I truly apologized for the unpleasant experience you had. We are 100% non smoking hotel. We try quite hard to keep people from smoking in our rooms; unfortunately some people will still smoke in the guest rooms. I am truly sorry that you encountered this during your stay.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I hope you'll give us another chance when you return to Charleston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
298 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wrote one review and Tripadvisor would not publish. PROS: Good location, Non-smoking property, comfortable mattresses, good t.v. reception & channels. CONS: Unwelcoming front desk check-in personnel on 10-6-13 (Samantha), one TINY, slow elevator, Only HIE that has ever levied a $15 usage fee; it is removed from your charge card within 24-48 hours, but was not told they did this! Has the potential to be a GREAT hotel but needs to give some of its employees a course in how to welcome guests; also.......if you are on a personal call when a guest checks in, please hang up and call them back. Don't just lay the receiver down and treat your guests as if they are bothering you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I truly appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us. I truly am sorry that we didn't meet all your expectations while you were staying with us. Our goal is for our guest to enjoy their stay with us from service, to the product, cleanliness, and want to stay with us again. I am hoping you will give us another opportunity in the future to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#26 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing