We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick overnight stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Ranked #27 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quick overnight stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We got in at 10 pm and left at 6:30 am. We were greeted very cordially and checked in quickly. The room was very clean and equipped with a refrigerator and microwave. Very comfortable bed . Breakfast was great. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dale1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your "Quick Overnight Stop". We appreciate the feedback you have given to us about your stay. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your return trip to Charleston and to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    176
    60
    16
    11
See reviews for
179
212
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The accommodations and the breakfast bar were excelent. The staff was very courteous and friendly. I believe they truly wanted to make me feel welcome and at home. The location was near shops and various dining establishments yet very convenient to get into the heart of downtown Charleston, SC within minutes. I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express! Kudos to the management and staff of this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler301_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you sharing with us your wonderful experience with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We pride ourselves on having a genuine staff. I am happy that you were able to experience that while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel previously during renovations on our house, and we have also had family members stay here while they were in Charleston. We have never been disappointed. These people really know how to make you feel welcome! I have to travel quite a bit for my job, and I have never encountered a front desk staff as friendly, and as genuinely caring, as these ladies are. The location is only 10 minutes from downtown, and there are many restaurants near the hotel. They offer a complimentary breakfast in the morning which is quite good. We love their pancake machine! We have always found the rooms to be very clean, and have never had an issue in that regard. We did have a slight problem with the remote control to the TV, but after a call to the front desk, they had it fixed in five minutes flat (needed new batteries). It's that kind of attention to customer service that really sets this place apart. We would never stay anywhere else in Charleston!

Room Tip: We prefer a room on the 3rd floor, seems to be quieter, but have never experienced a problem with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray2417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in the process of renovations. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. I will share the comments with the staff and they will love hearing the feedback as well. We are hoping that the renovations at your home is everything that you expected. Thank you again for staying with us and making us your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked two rooms for our stay December 2012 so we would be ready for our cruise ship departure. The room looked good but when my son sat down on his bed it squeaked and rolled like it was falling about. Since we arrived around 10pm and were only staying one night I decided to just inform the front desk and deal with it. I was not able to sleep from so I walked into the bathroom and found 2 bugs. They looked like roaches to me but the front desk person said it was water bugs and acted as if it were nothing. Actually told me about these bugs in his own home as if they are part of the fixture. From my experience in the past a water bug is what they are called in your place and roaches when they are found in someone else's home (hotel). After reading the reviews I decided to stay here because of so many higher ratings but would not recommend it. The people working throughout the hotel were friendly and they did have breakfast. However I usually stay at Holiday Inn Express because they are so highly rated but this one fell below all the others I have stayed at before.

Room Tip: Not 105- bed sucked and bugs in bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for contacting us regarding your stay with us in December. I would like to apologize for both of the incidents that occured during your stay. Our goal is to provide superior service, accommodations, and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us target problem area, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the feedback we received and welcome any opportunity to improve.
I hope you had a wonderful time on your vacation.
Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We paid 80$ per 1 night (3 people) and this place was better than 4 out of 5 hotels we slept in the previous 10 days, where we paid an average of 250$ per night.
Great room, very clean, very friendly staff, free wifi, ok breakfast.
We perfectly rested that night.
Best value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManuTheDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us while you were visiting Charleston. Thank you for the positive feedback that you have shared with us. We hope that you are able able to visit us again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We wanted a quick getaway for the weekend and decided that Chareston SC was the place this time. I had stayed at Holiday Inn express several times over the years and so we picked this location. We were greeted warmly by the front desk and immediately given our Priority Club packets (often overlooked at other Holiday Inns until I ask). The room was ample in size with all the conveniences (microwave, etc.) and was clean and quiet. The breakfast was hot and delicious and the staff super friendly. The drive to the center of Charleston was quick and easy. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cobra888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your "quick getaway" to Charleston. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. We wish you the very best in new year. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Took a group to this hotel and had not one complaint from anyone about anything. It was very clean, the personnel was the best..friendly and most helpful. The beds were comfortable and made up perfectly and was attractive. The breakfast was delicious. This will certainly be my hotel of choice each time I stay in charleston. Try it and you will agree it's the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
We can't thank you enough for bringing your group to Charleston and staying with us. We had had a wonderful time with you all. We are looking forward to your return trip to Charleston. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#33 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing