We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dave and Lynda from Pennsylvania” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Dave and Lynda from Pennsylvania”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We chose this Holiday Inn Express based on price and easy access to downtown Charleston ( 15-20 minute drive). We got a warm welcome from Octavia and Leila at the front desk who offered several suggestions for developing our list of "must see" sites. Room was quiet, comfortable and nicely appointed. Breakfast buffet offers plenty of choices including warm cinnamon rolls (great) and pancakes from an automatic machine (better than I expected). The hot coffee/tea and chocolate chip cookies in the evening are a nice touch. Special thanks to Ben from Housekeeping who promptly followed up on every issue/request.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much Dave and Lynda for recognizing our wonderful staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. I hope you had a safe trip home and have a Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    186
    66
    17
    12
See reviews for
190
222
30
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good value for the price. Bed was comfortable, the breakfast options were as expected. Staff were approachable and accommodating. We received a positive response to our request for an hour extension for check out. We chose for the price and not location as it is out of town and is surrounded by strip malls.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apreciate your business and glad you enjoyed our great value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrico, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our visit to Charleston for our 3rd anniversary. We normally stay at bed and breakfasts, but we wanted to save a little money and had stayed at Holiday Inn Express in the past and were happy with them, so we booked a room here. The staff make you completely welcome here. We were greeted by Leila when we registered that evening and she wished us a happy anniversary and ensured we got a king bed. She also checked in with us by calling our room the next day to make sure everything was okay with the room. The room was clean and updated. We also decided to do something we normally do not do and eat breakfast at the hotel (again to save some money). The breakfast was good for a hotel and we enjoyed the pancake maker which was a nice change from the usual waffle maker. I didn't catch her name, but the lady that was working the breakfast each morning we were there was pleasant and kept everything stocked until closed which I was impressed with since the few times I've ever eaten breakfast at a hotel if you come last minute you lose out if they run out of things. The lady doing the breakfast also mentioned how sorry she was to see us go and she was just a nice lady all around. You are also close enough to Charleston without being downtown which was a plus for me. (parking=free!) The bed was a little too hard for me, but I got over it after the first night. Just something I had to get used too as I have a soft bed. Anyway, I would totally reccomend this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Happy Anniversary! Thank you so much for an excellent rating. Reading your review brought a smile to my face knowing that I have such a wonderful staff that is so genuine and able to help our guests feel right at home. You are now part of our family so we will look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Mom & i would like to express our Thanks to the very welcoming staff at Holiday Inn Express. (October 18-21, 2012) Octavia met us at the front desk with a smile and always words of interest --whether it may be suggestions for a place to dine or a tour that we might enjoy, or simply that she had just made fresh coffee for our enjoyment! Our room was very clean and so comfortable. The staff member that handles the Breakfast Buffet each morning was so cheerful and kept everything well stocked and hot for our consumption. Will definetly recommend to friends and family. Your friends from Kentucky.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
It was wonderful for you to visit us from Kentucky! Our staff truly enjoys what they do and it shows. We're so happy you enjoyed us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I would like to share my experience at the Holiday Inn Express in Charleston (US 17 & I 526 - October 12/13/14). First off it is a exceptionally clean hotel, the housekeeping staff really care about their work. The breakfast room was warm and inviting and the staff were on top of the food when it was extremely busy one morning.

The main reason for writing this review is to acknowledge one guest service person in particular, her name is Leila, she worked the evening shift the three nights we were there, as we came in the door to register she greeted us with a smile and welcomed us to the hotel. From that moment on she ensured our stay was comfortable and that if we needed anything that she was just a phone call away. On our arrival she gave us great information regarding a City tour, the tour was $22.00 and was 2 hours long, it was excellent and if not for Leila's suggestion we would not have been that lucky to see what we saw with a great tour guide.

Over all our stay with the Holiday Inn was superb but it would have only been 'good' if it had not been for Leila and her great smile and personality!!!!!

Thanks Leila
Kathryn Grant

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Wow! Thank you for recognizing our staff, especially Leila. All of our employees take great pride in providing our guests an "experience", not just a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Daytona, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We came up from Florida to visit the Charleston area. This hotel is in a good location,easy to get to downtown Charleston and historic district The hotel was clean and bright. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJP909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We certainly appreciate you mentioning our great location, clean hotel, and friendly staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Was here on a business trip. I stayed here many years ago. The renovations were completed and the hotel looks brand new inside and out. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. My favorite was Octavia. You go girl. Very clean and well cared for. I was very happy with the room and amenities.

Room Tip: My preference is a first floor room. Easy in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We're so glad you have come back to see our renovations. Our fresh, up-to-date appearance matches our fresh, smiling faces! Thank you for recognizing Octavia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing