We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Ranked #34 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I travel to Charleston often on business and always pick this hotel. The staff is always welcoming, helpful and friendly. Octavia was on duty when I checked out the last time and she makes you feel like your leaving home and will be missed. Rooms are clean, large, quiet. I will stay here again and again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank NScharping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

We appreciate you and you will be missed. Octavia says she'll be waiting for you when you return! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 669 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

With a group of fifteen ladies one would think there would be some complaints!
But no... everyone was so very pleased with their accommodations, and with the
staff who were so courteous and helpful. Cheryl was very helpful not only
with our reservations for our rooms, but also helpful in guiding us to the best
sites in the area! The hotel is conveniently located to all the Charleston sites!
We all would recommend this hotel and stay again here when visiting the area!
A great big thank you to Cheryl, Rebecca and the evening staff who were so great
with all us ladies sitting around chatting each night!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and all 8 rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you Louise! Having your group here was like having a family reunion with all our favorite aunts! We truly enjoyed your visit as much as you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited Charleston for a couple days before going on a cruise. The staff, especially Leila, was wonderful. She came up to check our air conditioning unit and called us to make sure our room was to our satisfaction. She gave us directions to several places in Charleston all with a smile. She is such a pleasant young lady and Holiday Inn Express is lucky to have her as an employee. Thank you Leila for making our visit to Charleston so nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethS756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to recommend us. We are here to help make your stay enjoyable and are more than willing to help make any changes to accomodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had a great stay here at the Holiday Inn Express. The location made for an easy trip to Folly Beach and a drive to Savannah, GA. The hotel employees at the front desk are friendly and helpful with directions. I forgot my iPhone charger at home and the woman at the front desk lent me her personal iPhone charger for the weekend and insisted I use it despite my protests. Lemonade and cookies in the lobby in the afternoon are an added treat for hotel guests. Complimentary breakfast available in the morning was a plus. There is a heated outdoor pool which was nice especially as the weather gets cooler. My only complaint is that the pool towels could stand to be larger and need to be located around the pool so we didn't have to go back to front desk after going out to the pool and realizing there are no towels around.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank You! We are in a great location and convenient to all of Charleston's attractions. Each afternoon we do provide a nice treat for all of our guests which includes cookies and lemonade, just to remind you how much we appreciate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

On our first trip to this exciting city,we started out on the right foot by choosing this hotel.the rooms were very clean and up to date.we met a friendly face by the name of Octavia who
checked us in and helped us find a great neighborhood restaurant.we went to our room
with a menu in hand.Later in the weekend she checked to make sure we were satisfied
with her recommendations.Octavia is the escence of what customer service is all about.
Holiday Inn is blessed to have her on their staff. We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It's because of our employees like Octavia that we are able to provide such great service and get such wonderful reviews. Our welcoming employees truly care about showing off their city to visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here during the week of Labor Day and really enjoyed everything about this hotel. The location was perfect. It was close to everything and a great value! My favorite part about this hotel was the front desk staff. They were so friendly and helpful. One of the ladies always asked us how we were enjoying our stay. I also liked the cookies and lemonade in the lobby. My favorite restaurants around the area were East Bay Deli and Hominy Grill. Thanks so much Holiday Inn!!!

Room Tip: Room 121 is on the bottom floor directly next to the pool entrance door. I enjoyed this room because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that your experience at Holiday Inn Express was a great one. We are conveniently located to the interstate, historic downtown, and beaches. Our front desk staff loves hearing about our guests' day with all of the exciting things they were able to see and do. Thank you again for staying with us and we would love to have the opportunity to make your next stay just as pleasurable as the first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We visited our children in charleston. The staff made us feel very welcome. hotel was clean, smart and very enjoyable after 2 long flights from the uk............................................................................................

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmengarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for choosing us during your most important visit. How nice it must have been to arrive quickly from the airport after such a long flight and be able to relax. We'll look forward to your next visit almost as much as your kids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,286 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#40 of 62 in Charleston
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $91 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing