We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a very nice stay here - easy access to downtown and other areas, great prices with the bonus of free breakfast. Room was spacious and comfortable. Front staff was friendly and always accommodating. Would definitely return here next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPBAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We will definitely look forward to your return. We're glad you enjoyed our convenient location and complimentary HOT breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    197
    69
    17
    13
See reviews for
204
234
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our family held our biennial reunion at HIE North Charleston and it was great. The rooms were large and clean, ideal for families. They put us near each other so we weren't disturbing other guests. They helped us find good restaurants in Charleston and generally took good care of all of us. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the historic district and there's not much to do in the area, but the price is right and you can't beat the free breakfast...lots of healthy stuff like fruit and yogurt, plus the usual southern fare. Definitely worth a return trip.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nixflix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. Holiday Inn Express provides a great location for Reunions, Weddings, and Tour Groups as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLANDOtOURGUIDE
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Chose this place specifically because of the previous reviews: I do not feel like it lived up to its very good/excellent rating. Off a major intersection but on a busy highway - sandwiched in between two retail businesses and across the street from an Enterprise and McDonald's. It's OK, but nothing special. Kind of dumpy inside - I suppose they must have remodeled it but really, the elevator is telling and it looks "lived in. Small breakfast area makes it difficult to get in and out to pick up something to eat- seating is close and limited as well. I am a tour operator and would not chose ot bring my group here. It doesn't not have the feel of a nice hotel -and if you're in Charleston to vacation, there are better closer in for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ORLANDOTOURGUIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Our room renovations were completed about a year ago and our lobby has gotten a facelift with new tile and carpet just a few months ago. Our rooms are equipped with microwaves, mini-fridges, flat screen TV's with HD programming, and all the additional amenities you would expect of Holiday Inn Express.

Our location is in a suburban area with nearby restaurants, conveniently located just off Savannah Hwy (Hwy 17). We are a central location to Folly Beach, Historic Charleston, Ashley River Plantations, and area businesses.

I apologize that you did not have the experience you expected and if there is anything I can do for you at this point, please contact me.

Sincerely,
Rebecca Ruttiger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We originally were going to stay at a Motel 6. Despite not expecting much from them, it turned out to be absolutely disgusting and violated several health codes. So we needed somewhere to stay, and quick! We weren't pleased with the price for Holiday Inn Express, considering it was doubling out expected spending.

However, as soon as we walked in the doors, we knew it was worth it. We were greeted with a very polite desk attendant. She had a genuine smile and even remembered me from the phone call earlier that night. She made sure we knew where all the amenities were and told us where our room was (motel 6 just gave us the keys and turned her back to us).

We stayed one night, then decided to stay two more. Unfortunately, our king room had been booked, so they moved us directly across the hall into 2 queens. She was apologetic for making us move, but so polite.

The free breakfast was pretty good for being from a complimentary hotel breakfast. And they even provided a free shaver and shaving cream, which I had forgotten. The showers a just delightful! Very powerful and strong. The colors in the rooms are relaxing. The rooms are very spacious. The a/c unit is quiet. The fridge worked perfectly.

Everything was spotless! We even checked under the mattress on the boxsprings (for bed bugs). We really could not find any lint!

We will definitely stay here again if needed. This beat my expectations. I'm certain if you have an issue here, just speak to someone about it and they will fix it or work with you right away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you were able to accommodate you. We pride ourselves on having a genuine staff. I am so happy we were able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Extremely pleased with hotel. Great location for all attractions. The room was very clean abd comfortable. The breakfast was very good with a lot of choices. The pool area was very nice and pool was clean. The front desk staff was the BEST I have ever experienced in any hotel. The staff was so friendly and always had a smile for you. The staff recommended several area restaurants and attractions that we were so satisfied with. Every night I would go to the desk and update them on my day and how much we enjoyed what they recommended. Thank you so much to Michele, Octavia & Lelia, you made our vacation fantastic!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor, extremely quiet room and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Our staff is wonderful here and always willing to go the extra mile to make your stay. We appreciate your recognition of them and sharing your experience with the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel was nice, and it was conveniently located.The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Employees, such as Octavia, Leila, and others, were very friendly and helpful. Great place, great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McDonalds24Him
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Leila and Octavia say HI!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Nice and quite, no real food places near, have to drive.

Arrived at breakfast at 8:30 am - out of eggs. How does that happen? Plan better when you order!

Hotel is upgraded, however they left a few of the old items in the bathroom. Used the old shower outlet and ecussion cover. Why? That is a $6 part. Left the old toilet cut off valve as well.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#27 of 61 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#36 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing