We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$305
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$323
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$230
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$218
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,408)
Filter reviews
2,408 results
Traveler rating
1,062
792
354
143
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,062
792
354
143
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treegreat locationhistoric districtfront deskvalet parkingwithin walking distancecity markettwo storycookieswet barking suitevalet staffliving areawould stay here againfitness centercarriage rideper day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,421 - 1,426 of 2,408 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

good location, clean, ac worked great and much better than any other hotel's. security was good adjacent parking a little high in costs but had no problems. staff were polite and helpful. well this surveyminimun of 200 characters is a little abusive and too much time, is that 200 characters yet???

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Edgar Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Edgar Ralph R,
Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and its service. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they are one of the special points you made comment to in your review. As a company it is our goal to make each guest experience a warm and inviting experience offering our signature “southern hospitality”.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next trip to Charleston.

Sincerely,
Michael Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is within walking distance to pretty much everything you want in the historical district; Great restaurants, museums, shopping and the waterfront. You can even take a longer walk.down to Battery Park without much effort.
Our room was wonderful, with a separate sitting area, great bed and decent bath. Very clean. The small refrigerator was nice but it would have been helpful to also have a microwave. The workout room looked nice but did not use due to all of the walking we did. Wifi was pretty slow but tolerable for basic tasks.
Staff was really friendly and helpful with dining and sightseeing recommendations. Complimentary cookies were awesome!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Admiral727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Admiral727,
Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property, location, and service. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Right on the Market. Nice restaurants close by - within walking distance. Easy access to downtown areas by pedi-cab or walking. Rate is a little steep for what you get. Also, get ready for the additional $25 daily parking fee that is not included in the room price - PLUS parking valets who have their hand out at every encounter.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingBikerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear TravelingBikerdo,
On behalf of the entire Team we would like to thank you for your candid review. We are glad to hear that our Doubletree by Hilton was a “Nice place, convenient to historic areas”. I will be sharing your comments with our entire Team so they can hear your comments.
With Charleston full of hospitality choices we are pleased that you choose us and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Safe travels…

Michael Perry,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed for 3 days on a guys trip in July 2014 & had one of the 2nd floor two-level suites, which is an interesting set up but worked out well for just 3 of us as each had their own bed. The sofa bed is actually very comfortable, which is something I've never been able to say about a sofa bed before. The rooms are a bit dated but the bedding is comfortable.The bathroom area was very small & the sink is on the outside which could be an issue for light sleepers traveling with others.

The location is top notch. a block off the city market area & within walking distance of King Street & many of the local attractions. Ate breakfast two days at the hotel, which had a basic breakfast set up but did offer to make omelets, etc if you wanted something not on the buffet spread. Toast is about 2 blocks behind & south of the hotel which was much better. If you drive, just know that the $25 charge for the valet is about the best deal as the lot across from the hotel & garage next to it are both that much or higher & do not offer in & out privileges.

Overall, especially at the right price, I'd definitely stay here again. I used points for two of the nights & as a Hilton elite got the breakfast included which definitely made it worth my while. The front desk help, the housekeeping staff & others you can tell are regularly graded on their hospitality as they all make eye contact & say hello or good morning as you pass them.

TIP: Don't bother bringing your swimsuits as the hotel has multiple courtyards for some reason but no pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank heathwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear heathwillis,
We're so glad you enjoyed the location and it's excellent news to hear that you had a chance to expereince our old south touch on “southern hospitality”. We appreciate your feedback and will surely keep your comments in mind as we improve our property. Come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The only reason I gave this hotel a poor rating is because of the following: the couch in my room was very very dirty. I had to put a sheet over the couch in order to sit. The bathroom was very very small. The tub was dirty and needed to be refurbish. The drapes needed cleaning. Other then those things I found this to be a very nice hotel. The food was very good and they offered coffee, tea and nightly cookies to all the guest. The hotel was located in a good location close to everything. If the rooms were renovated I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jonniemae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Jonniemae H,
Please accept my sincerest apologizes for the less than acceptable accomodations. This is neither typical nor tolerated and is being addressed. We appreciate your feedback and will also work with our housekeeping team to ensure comfort and cleanliness. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope you'll give us another chance to show you our true hospitality.

Sincerely,
Michael Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews