We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Overall, great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

You see that this is rated about midway in best hotels, but based on the location, price and overall hotel experience, I would recommend this to anyone. The rooms were good, bath rooms could use a little updating, but most of our time was spent exploring the city, so it wasn't anything that was a deal breaker. The staff was extremely courteous and friendly. Save yourself a few $100 and stay here, and use the money saved and visit some of the great restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your posting and reminding everyone of our numerous amazing attributes that make Doubletree by Hilton such a special place to visit in Charleston. As you mention, our eager staff assist with making memories for our guests on a daily basis with a genuine sense of pride and hospitality not found in many properties. We look forward to your next visit.
Best Wishes…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,226)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,483 - 1,489 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wonderful location for a medium sized conference. Reception food much better than average for a hotel. Room (suite) very comfortable and quiet, bed was good quality and water pressure in the shower was strong. It sounded like there was a significant spectrum of size of rooms available in the hotel. Front desk friendly and helpful. At the front of the hotel, I was able to get a discount ticket for a horse-drawn carriage tour (one hour during a break from the conference) and was able to have a very pleasant introduction to historic Charleston. Interesting/unique shopping at the market across the street, and plenty of casual to fancy restaurant options within close walking distance. The only not-so-great thing was airport transportation coming 20 minutes later than I had requested (but likely not the hotel's fault).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexaninLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your gracious review reminding everyone how convenient the hotel is in the historic market area. It is exciting to hear how much guests enjoy our location when visiting historic Charleston as they visit the variety of shopping and restaurant choices that make up the historic area.
We know that Charleston is full of choices and appreciate you making the historic Doubletree your choice. We look forward to seeing you again real soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had reserved the bi-level 2 room suite. When we got there for check in we were told that our room was being upgraded. We were delighted. However, when we opened the door to our room we were given the standard 2 room suite. VERY UPSET. Not only did we not get the room we reserved but we got a lesser room instead of an upgrade. We reserved the bigger room for a reason. We decided to order the express breakfast for the next morning. We ordered 1 oatmeal, 1 yogurt and coffee for 2. The price was just under $50 and it took 3 trips to our room to get the order right. We complained and got our breakfast compted. So we decided to try the breakfast downstairs. This cost was almost $15.00 per person. Ordered 2 eggs over medium and they were BURNT. They should never have left the kitchen that way. Reordered eggs and the rest of the meal got cold! Ended up starting all over again with breakfast order. The hotel staff was very accommodating but the overall service was lacking greatly. They advertise room service but this is not accurate. The "supposed" room service is VERY limited in time. Poor snack options. The room has a mini fridge and coffee maker but no microwave. The rooms are dated and almost shabby. Overall an overpriced hotel.

Room Tip: Poor quality rooms for price.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with service and value. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Terrific location. Everything is within walking distance. Friendly, helpful staff made good recommendations. The rooms are basic but nice which is reflected in the price. A good value overall. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed the location and it's excellent news to hear that our service was right on point. We appreciate your feedback. Come back and see us again soon.

Safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very pricey but great location. Right downtown in the historic district walking distance to the waterfront and city park. Very few places to park to check in or unload your luggage.
I liked the breakfast, great coffee, lots to choose from wonderful servers and they will cook to order.

Room Tip: Be careful when you book, some of the rooms have the bedrooms with the bath upstairs.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R55Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your gracious review reminding everyone how convenient the hotel is in the historic market area. It is exciting to hear how much guests enjoy our location when visiting historic Charleston as they visit the variety of shopping and restaurant choices that make up the historic area.
We know that Charleston is full of choices and appreciate you making the historic Doubletree your choice. We look forward to seeing you again real soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Too pricey. Great hotel location and staff. The extra charge for wifi and for parking is just wrong. Paying guests at this hotel should be have parking and wifi included in the room rate. Too expensive for average person. The small pillows are very uncomfortable. We didn't get even one good night's sleep due to the pillows in our room. They are small and flatten out immediately. Hotel should invest in some full size adult pillows that won't flatten out as soon as you lay down. They were very uncomfortable. Otherwise, it is a lovely hotel. Just very expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank DianeW122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

We always look forward to reading what guests post about us on TripAdvisor. Thanks for sharing your experience so we can share your compliments with the team and address your concerns. We're always looking into refresh options and improving our accommodations so we will keep this in mind as we make future improvements. Please come back and see us for business or leisure next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

No Restaurant in this hotel. Although breakfast served - it was in a lounge, of poor quality both mornings. I have had better breakfasts in a concierge level. No Bar - although one was set up for a few hours in the lounge - I wanted a drink - as the selection was small and unacceptable - I had to leave the hotel for a drink. Rooms and staff were fine - but did not feel like a Doubletree

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Benjamin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest input and we will use your comments as we constantly evolve to best meet our guests needs. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you an improved quality of stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $203 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing