We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to historic Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easy access to historic Charleston”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. It is a very nice and clean hotel. Room was nice. Add an additional $20-$30 to your room fee for parking. The largest selling point for this hotel is the convenience to beautiful historic section of Charleston. You can walk to anywhere from here - sightseeing, eating, shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk221202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property and location. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space, beautifully appointed rooms and superior service. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    708
    305
    128
    47
See reviews for
495
812
58
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is in an excellent location, perfect for walking around the lovely historic district and to the myriad of choices of excellent restaurants. The check in process went smoothly as we were greeted by a very friendly front desk staff. Our room was located across the lovely outdoor courtyard in a building for which you needed a key to enter. Our room had adequate space, and the bathroom actually was pretty large. The bed was extremely comfortable!! The housekeeping staff was very friendly and accommodating. Additionally, the valet guys were really helpful when asking about various attractions around the hotel. If you plan on seeing and touring Charleston, this hotel is ideal, particularly since you can walk to most places. Parking is at a premium in downtown, so walking is your best bet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building on the other side of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We always look forward to reading what guests post about us on TripAdvisor. Thanks for sharing your experience so we can share your compliments with the team!
Safe travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I can only see a few reasons why you would choose to stay at this hotel while visiting Charleston. One would be for a work conference (my reason). A second would be if you are using Hilton points. A third would be if you are traveling with children and would really like to have a two room suite. Otherwise there is no reason to choose this property over the other charming options that Charleston has to offer at the same price point. The room is average and a bit worn. I will say the staff – reception, valet, housekeeping, etc. – is very friendly and the location is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UVA97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I'm sorry to hear that we could not have made your stay more enjoyable. I regret that your impression of us was “average at best”. I am delighted to hear that our service was very friendly. We will keep all of your suggestions in mind as we make enhancements to our property and offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a wonderful, romantic weekend! From the valet car park through check-in it was so easy getting into room. With-in minutes, a lady came by to make sure everything was as expected, and delivered us a couple waters. The staff was most helpful with questions. The interior courtyard was a great place to plan your day or wind down after a visit to the many sites. We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We thank you for your recent review and recognition of our property and staff. We strive to ensure each and every guest is provided the best possible experience and it appears our efforts were successful during your visit. It is rewarding to hear we made “such a positive impression” as Charleston is full of options for lodging and this is a fantastic nod to our dedicated team of professionals.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLT
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel in a great spot next to the market in downtown Charleston. Room we had was a great size, clean and comfy. The staff took care of my special request for or anniversary with a smile. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your gracious posting regarding our warm and friendly staff. In addition, we are glad to hear you found our location convenient to everything in the city. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can hear your praise as well. As a company it is our goal to offer “southern hospitality” to every guest who comes in through our doors.

Look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is perfect for walking around Charleston! There is a huge market right across the street with lots of cool things to buy, many restaurant options within a 5-10 minute walk and is in a perfect central location for sightseeing.
Our room was very clean, but small. The whole hotel was in fantastic condition and seemed to be well taken care of and properly maintained. The staff were all very friendly even though the hotel was quite busy.
Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed the location and it's excellent news to hear that our housekeeping team's efforts in cleanliness and amenity restock was right on point. We appreciate your feedback and will surely keep your suggestions in mind. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Would not stay their again. Horrible breakfast buffet and extremely noicy room with air conditioning unit found inside a locked closet in the living room. Would prefer another lcoation in the immediate market area.The buffet breakfast was horrible. Everything was cold and dryed out. Even though we had a complimentary breakfast coupon the 2nd day we opted to pay for breakfast at a neighboring hotel. The waitstaff was non-attentive. Extremely poor dining experience and not the way you expect to start your day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I appreciate your speed in bringing this opportunity to me and allowing me to follow up with our team, ensuring that you and future guests are taken care of. If I can assist you further, certainly let me know. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing