We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I arrived at noon and check in is not until 4. Even during this busy travel season they accommodated me, which I appreciated since I had been on the road for 3 days. I was given a bi-level suite off the courtyard. The staff in this hotel is excellent! Helpful, friendly and knowledgeable The location is great, being in the heart of the Historic District. My toilet overflowed one morning but maintenance was there within a few minutes of my call. Literally 2 or 3 minutes. Otherwise the room was quite nice. There are a lot of restaurants nearby. Room service was provided by a nearby restaurant and was very good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaymus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property, location, and service. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space, beautifully appointed rooms and superior service. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,584 - 1,590 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel is in the perfect location for walking the historic district. It is right next to The Market and Hank's Seafood. It's also only a block away from many other great restaurants. Valet parking is expensive, but very convenient.Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property and its location. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space, beautifully appointed rooms and superior service. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Doubletree Hilton in Charleston's historic district has a great staff, beautiful lobby and a good location (as long as the rain holds off) There was flooding around it when we arrived--sandbags at the nearby Farmer's Market. We had a "Larger Suite". It was small, the pull out sofa was worn, the bathroom grout needed replacing and housekeeping forgot us the first day. These featlures are all right for a middle of the road hotel...but not for Hilton with the high prices...We paid almost $900 for AAA rates for three days (includes parking for 3 days)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

It's so disappointing to hear that your guestroom was anything but meeting your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will also work with our housekeeping and maintenance Teams to ensure comfort and cleanliness. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope you'll give us another chance to show you our true hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at the DoubleTree on a really hot weekend. The staff was very nice and had bottles of cold water available. This hotel is in a great location in the historic district. Very close to the market area, shopping, museums, visitors center and the water front. My room had a loft area with the beds and bathroom on the upper level which was interesting but not very practical having to go up and down stairs. It was also hard to control the temperature, the thermostat was in the lower level which was nice and cool but it was warm in the upper level. I would stay at this hotel again but would reserve a one level room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for bring to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear that the bi-level suites were not to your liking. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!

Safe Travels…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The stay at the Double Tree in Charleston was a very nice experience. The living space was a great plus to the stay. We could relax there without sitting on the bed. The one down side was I thought the sofa could be reupholstered, it looked a little worn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

On behalf of the entire Team we would like to thank you for your candid review. We are glad to hear that our Doubletree by Hilton was a “A Great Stay”. I will be sharing your comments with our entire Team so they can hear your comments.
With Charleston full of hospitality choices we are pleased that you choose us and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Safe travels…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A very nice suite hotel option just off Market Street in the historic area. Rooms were nice but our townhouse style suite was very warm upstairs and the bath was quite small. However, the hotel has a great location near the historic sites and some great restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for reaching out to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that your room did not cool to your expectations as your satisfaction is our ultimate goal. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction and hope to have another opportunity to show you the complete quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Parking is terrible! Bathrooms are dirty. If you leave your car for more than a few min, the hotel will have it ticketed unless you pay them. Hotel Mgr is very rude. The location is great but I will make every effort to never recommend or stay at this location again. There are to many nice hotels in the same area to choose from.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
3  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for reaching out to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you received a parking ticket while parked on the street. The city of Charleston’s parking enforcement Team is very strict on parking in no parking zones or parking meters when time has expired. I apologize for the incident as receiving a parking ticket is not a way to start your holiday off in a city like ours. We're very sorry to hear about the cleanliness issue with your room. We always want our guests to feel comfortable and will ask our housekeeping staff to be mindful of this when servicing guest rooms in the future. We hope you'll reconsider staying with us again in Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,829 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $202 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing