We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Right in the heart of things!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Conway, SC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of things!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and stayed at the DoubleTree during an overnight trip to Charleston. We booked a large suite and was given a Townhouse suite. This has an upstairs bedroom with bathroom. It would have been great had they had a toilet downstairs. Very nice, but after having broken my ankle a year ago it was a pain for me to go up and down. Nice though not having anybody else above you that makes constant noise. I will be going back in a months time I will request a regular suite on one level only to avoid the stairs this time. Nice breakfast which we received complimentary. (I think because we were Hilton Honors Members). Parking is a little pricey @ $22 plus tax a night. For one night it didn’t break us. You can park you car yourself in a garage around the corner from the hotel, but this has nothing to do with the hotel. I will be back again.

Room Tip: Don't get a Townhome Suite if you have to drag a lot of baggage or cant walk up and down stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for bringing to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about the type of guestroom you booked was not to your liking. I will be meeting with our department heads, as well as, the Team so they can hear you comments as well. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Safe Travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    632
    259
    109
    38
See reviews for
423
699
50
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in a Larger Two Room Double Bed Suite. Easy check in (the cookies were delicious!) and Bellman Mark was very helpful getting us to our room, which was lovely, with very comfortable beds and plenty of room for our group. The room décor was traditional, which was fitting for the area we were visiting. The room had a mini-fridge. I was surprised that the suite did not contain a microwave, although there was a microwave on most floors in the vending/ice machine room. As we were in the middle of our road trip, we were happy that the hotel houses a coin laundry room. The hotel public areas were beautiful. The valet parking was easy to deal with (although pricey at $25 a day) and we were allowed easy access to our car when needed. We did not eat at the hotel, so I cannot review their dining options. They do not offer free breakfast. There is no pool, which would have been nice for our kids, but a lot of Charleston Historic District hotels do not have pools. The location is the true gem of this hotel - right in the heart of the Historic District. We had easy walking to King Street shopping as well as the City Market and tons of restaurants. The price, while high, was comparable for the area, and we were very pleased with our selection of this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, as the Historic District has an interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojonellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property, location, and service. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space, beautifully appointed rooms and superior service. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We only stayed one night but we were well pleased with both the service and accomdations. Upon arrival, our valet was most attentative to our every need. Checking in was a breeze and the concierge arranged for reservations at a local restaurant for our 39th wedding anniversary. We had forgotten an item in our car and the valet was gracious to retrieve it for us.Everthing was great and the location was perfect! Keep up the good job!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
On behalf of the entire team… ““What a wonderful time!” is an excellent summation of your recent visit and we Thank You! Our courteous and professional staff goes out of their way to ensure guest satisfaction is consistently offered to everyone that comes through our doors….and it appears you had the pleasure of witnessing our team in action during your groups visit.
We hope to have another opportunity to serve your hospitality needs in the near future. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
27546
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Over all the hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. It was located in the heart of downtown and was within walking distant from various attractions, shopping and restaurants. However there were some disappointing features. I wasn't very pleased with the valet parking. I felt like every time we needed our car we had to pay more for a tip when we were already paying $25 a day to park there. This could really add up if you plan to go out a lot.

On the day of arrival it was raining and the valet's did not bother to help us with our bags or even hold the door. We all were soaked and brought our own luggage in. (but they still expected a tip) When we left the hotel (we carried our own luggage down they could not spare a luggage rack) I am glad we did because when we got our car we found a suitcase an computer box in it that was not ours. we gave it to the valet and he asked "Are you sure it is not yours" I think we would know. Don't know who's it was but that is not a good feeling that someone else's bags were put in your car. Makes you wonder if they drove your car around to give to someone else. I would recommend only for location. No breakfast unless you want to pay $15 person. No bar, no lounge at all....

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet but nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stategirl1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for bring to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about your valet service you encountered. This is very troubling to us and I will be meeting with our department heads, as well as, the Team to ensure that these issues do not happen again. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
As a company it is our goal for each guest to experience the warmth and glow of hospitality and we are sorry for not living up to this standard with your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed one night at the Doubletree in Charleston in July on our way down to Hilton Head. We stayed here last year as well, and decided to return primarily due to the excellent location of the hotel. We were given a room this year in the "new section" of the hotel that was across the courtyard in what appeared to be the conference center. The room was a basic King room, not a suite, however no complaints. The real draw for this hotel is that you are in walking to district to all of the bars, restaurants and shopping in the heart of the historic district. I highly recommend for a short stay in Charleston if you're looking for a hotel that offers easy access to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank risalee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review reminding everyone how convenient the hotel is in the historic market area. It is exciting to hear how much guests enjoy our location when visiting historic Charleston as they visit the variety of bar and restaurant choices that make up the historic area.
We know that Charleston is full of choices and appreciate you making the historic Doubletree your choice. We look forward to seeing you again real soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A group of girls and I stayed here Saturday night for my bachelorette party. There were 3 of us that are brides to be. We checked in and one of our rooms was already ready at 10 that morning! So we were able to drop our stuff off and go shopping! We booked two rooms, both with two double beds and a sofa bed in each room. The rooms were wonderful! Clean and the beds were so comfy! Before going to lunch I asked the gentleman at the front desk to call me when our second room was ready! After finishing lunch at Molly Darcy's I recieved a call at 3pm that our second room was ready! We hung in our room until our dinner reservations at 8. We played some music in our room and popped some champagne. We recieved a knock at our door and it was the gentleman we had spoken to at the front desk..us brides wore sashes that afternoon.. He came by to make sure that we were enjoying ourselves and if we needed anything to call! Very nice man! He made sure we had dinner reservations and talked with us for a few minutes. I used valet parking since a friend of mine had to use the car later that after noon. I would recommend using it because it was very convenient! Only a couple dollars diffence. Our other friends used the parking garage across the street and couldn't get the elevator to work..so they had to carry all their luggage down 3 flights of stairs.. The valet attendants were very helpful and nice! One of the boys called us a cab at 2am after stopping by the hotel before going back out. The experience was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to family and friends! We will be staying here for all of our trips to Charleston!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
On behalf of the entire team… “Great Place to Stay” is a wonderful summation of your recent visit and we Thank You! Our courteous and professional staff go out of their way to ensure guest satisfaction is consistently offered to everyone that comes through our doors….and it appears we you had the pleasure of witnessing our team in action.
We hope you will come back to Charleston again real soon and look forward to having you as our guest again.
Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and step son stayed here for two nights. We had stayed at other properties in Charleston but wanted to get the Hilton points as well. Great location next to the Market which is nice (maket has changed which in another review) and convenient. We got the multi level room which was nice, stepson downstars and us upstaris. We like the recommended restaurants were so close by. We chose the Mercato (another review) and was not disappointed. They have breakfast each morning at the Doubletree which is a nice buffet and we chose to sit outside and were accomodated. Staff was very nice, the valets were great, and the room attendants work very hard. On Friday when we checked in around 12:30, we had a male staff member at the front desk that was not so pleasent, but that happens sometimes. Otherwise, this is a great choice for accomodations in the Historic part of Charleston. You wont be dissapointed!

Room Tip: There is a bar that opens at 5:30 in the restaurant which is nice (charge for drinks) and the room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for bringing to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about your experience with one of our front desk Team members. This is very troubling to us and I will be meeting with our department heads, as well as, the Team to ensure that these issues do not happen again. However we are glad to hear that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and memorable. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
Safe Travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing