We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Planters Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Andrew Pinckney Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Market Street Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Indigo Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Bohemian Hotel(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,471)
Filter reviews
2,471 results
Traveler rating
1,092
807
363
151
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,092
807
363
151
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treegreat locationhistoric districtfront deskvalet parkingwithin walking distancecity markettwo storycookieswet barking suitevalet staffliving areawould stay here againcarriage rideper dayfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
1,887 - 1,892 of 2,471 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A/C in room didn't work. No offer of help moving to 2nd room that was unacceptable (2 levels). Staff seemed unconcerned that this affected a dinner reservation. Furniture quite dated and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

We're most certainly always concerned about our guests' comfort and apologize that we were not more proactive in our efforts to accommodate you with a room change. I also regret the maintenance issues and any discomfort imposed upon you. Thanks for alerting us to your concerns so our maintenance and front office teams are aware. Please feel free to contact us directly so we can speak with you about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel is standard, nothing special. The worst part is you can't open windows in room (we had two room suite) there was a very strong cleaning product smell, that we had no way of airing out and in Charleston you really want to enjoy the good weather and fresh breeze, not possible. Bathroom was very small, like touch both walls with your arms small. we would not return for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for bring to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the inability to open the guestrooms windows. Unfortunately, the city ordinance prevents any window higher than the first floor from being opened for public safety. I have reviewed you comments with our housekeeping Team to discuss alternatives to avoid heavy cleaning product smells in the room and happy to announce that we have found a solution. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
We hope you will reconsider and give the Doubletree by Hilton another chance.
Safe Travels…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Charleston Double Tree is listed as being in the historical section. A great hotel for touring the city and have business in the downtown area. Good staff and great rooms. We had others in the wedding party at other hotels. We had the best deal. Plenty of bars, restaurants, and places to visit within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Franklin Fretz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for your posting and reminding everyone of our numerous amazing attributes that make Doubletree by Hilton such a special place to visit in Charleston. As you mention, our eager staff assist with making memories for our guests on a daily basis with a genuine sense of pride and hospitality not found in many properties. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is very meh...it's in downtown which is why I stayed there and it would probably be fine for a short trip, but I was there for almost 3 months and the experience and atmosphere got old quick. After a while some of the valets recognized me and quit lingering around for a tip (sorry, but I'm not going to tip you everyday for 3 months for driving my car a block). The hotel itself is an older building, which, again, is fine, but not for an extended stay. Towards the end of my stay my room started having ants crawling around it and downtown and lost its charm, so rather than staying for the full 6 months like I intended I switched hotels. Also - for those of you staying long term, be wary, they cap you at 100,000 HHonors points per stay Nothing awful about the hotel, nothing great about it either. Very middle of the road and seems on par for the other hotels I stayed at in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we're so glad you chose to stay with us for such an extended period of time. We always try and provide guests with a comfortable and welcoming environment whether with us for one night or several. Based on your review additional training has been instated for our team and a professional pest control company has addressed the ant issue. We regret that due to some of our missteps you could not stay for the entire length of your scheduled work trip. Please contact us if you would like to discuss your experience greater detail and accept our deepest apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my first visit to Charleston and the hotel is in a perfect location for a first time visit. Everything you need within footsteps of the front door...wonderful restaurants, shopping, carriage rides, pedi-cab, market place, historic homes and gardens and the waterfront is only 2 blocks away! We didn't take a taxi, bus or need a car the whole time. We rode the pedi-cab once just for the fun of it. The hotel is nice but I must say I've stayed at nicer Doubletree hotels. We had a suite and it was somewhat small. No place to put a suitcase in the bedroom. Only one bathroom sink. There was a small bar sink and refrigerator but no microwave. The homemade chocolate chip cookies that we were given on arrival were absolutely delicious. Very nice staff. Hope to visit Charleston again someday and I will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper floor room or courtyard view room. Many of the first floor rooms look right out onto the sidewalk. We had a suite, it was on the first floor and all the windows looked right onto the public sidewalk! No privacy what so ever when the drapes are open.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbuff88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and its service. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they are one of the special points you made comment to in your review. As a company it is our goal to make each guest experience a warm and inviting experience offering our signature “southern hospitality”.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews