We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Review of the Charleston Double Tree” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review of the Charleston Double Tree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Charleston Double Tree is listed as being in the historical section. A great hotel for touring the city and have business in the downtown area. Good staff and great rooms. We had others in the wedding party at other hotels. We had the best deal. Plenty of bars, restaurants, and places to visit within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Franklin Fretz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your posting and reminding everyone of our numerous amazing attributes that make Doubletree by Hilton such a special place to visit in Charleston. As you mention, our eager staff assist with making memories for our guests on a daily basis with a genuine sense of pride and hospitality not found in many properties. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    621
    253
    107
    38
See reviews for
417
690
48
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is very meh...it's in downtown which is why I stayed there and it would probably be fine for a short trip, but I was there for almost 3 months and the experience and atmosphere got old quick. After a while some of the valets recognized me and quit lingering around for a tip (sorry, but I'm not going to tip you everyday for 3 months for driving my car a block). The hotel itself is an older building, which, again, is fine, but not for an extended stay. Towards the end of my stay my room started having ants crawling around it and downtown and lost its charm, so rather than staying for the full 6 months like I intended I switched hotels. Also - for those of you staying long term, be wary, they cap you at 100,000 HHonors points per stay Nothing awful about the hotel, nothing great about it either. Very middle of the road and seems on par for the other hotels I stayed at in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we're so glad you chose to stay with us for such an extended period of time. We always try and provide guests with a comfortable and welcoming environment whether with us for one night or several. Based on your review additional training has been instated for our team and a professional pest control company has addressed the ant issue. We regret that due to some of our missteps you could not stay for the entire length of your scheduled work trip. Please contact us if you would like to discuss your experience greater detail and accept our deepest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my first visit to Charleston and the hotel is in a perfect location for a first time visit. Everything you need within footsteps of the front door...wonderful restaurants, shopping, carriage rides, pedi-cab, market place, historic homes and gardens and the waterfront is only 2 blocks away! We didn't take a taxi, bus or need a car the whole time. We rode the pedi-cab once just for the fun of it. The hotel is nice but I must say I've stayed at nicer Doubletree hotels. We had a suite and it was somewhat small. No place to put a suitcase in the bedroom. Only one bathroom sink. There was a small bar sink and refrigerator but no microwave. The homemade chocolate chip cookies that we were given on arrival were absolutely delicious. Very nice staff. Hope to visit Charleston again someday and I will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper floor room or courtyard view room. Many of the first floor rooms look right out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbuff88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and its service. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they are one of the special points you made comment to in your review. As a company it is our goal to make each guest experience a warm and inviting experience offering our signature “southern hospitality”.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
451 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel. It had a PERFECT location - next to the French Market, shopping and great restaurants within 2 blocks, like: Peninsula Grill, Hanks, Hyman's, Charleston Grill, Toast and others. Nice room - although the living area furniture needs to be replaced. Helpful and friendly service with lots of coffee in the morning. Thanks, Doubletree for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your posting and reminding everyone of our numerous amazing attributes that make Doubletree by Hilton such a special place to visit in Charleston. As you mention, our eager staff assist with making memories for our guests on a daily basis with a genuine sense of pride and hospitality not found in many properties. We look forward to your next visit.
Best Wishes…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a quick trip to Charleston in early April. The other reviews about this great location were absolutely accurate. The room was quiet, and large. It had a separate living area with a pull out sofa bed (we did not need, but it was nice to have this couch and additional flat screen TV). The bathroom was a little tight, but everything was clean, lovely, and definitely one of the best places I have stayed to date. Can walk to anything, thus nice to have the sofa to sit and put your feet up. Very comfortable bed, in bedroom with a separate door. Room had a fridge and small sink by the coffee maker, very convenient. Cost $26/day to park car, which we were not made aware of (although we suspected something like this in the city).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueJFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property, location, and service. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space, beautifully appointed rooms and superior service. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here during the Copper River Bridge run weekend. You cant beat the location, walkable to all the great restaurants, bars, waterfronts, carriage ride stations, and the street market.
I was upgraded to the suite #273, very nice room and turn down service was excellent. Noise from the street and upstairs can be loud but that’s what you get staying downtown.
Parking is very limited; valet parking is $22 daily.
Will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
On behalf of the entire team… “Great location, friendly staff, and nice rooms” is a wonderful summation of your recent visit and we Thank You! Our courteous and professional staff go out of their way to ensure guest satisfaction is consistently offered to everyone that comes through our doors….and it appears you had the pleasure of witnessing our team in action. Thank you for attending the Charleston Bridge Run.
Best Wishes...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great location.
Serious upgrade needed in fitness center.
Rooms spacious and great value. Furniture needs improvement.
Phones did not work in the room. Heard lots of "noise" from the adjacent room.
Staff was polite. Breakfast was good.
Conference facility was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rt252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for reaching out to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our appearance did not meet your expectations as your satisfaction is our ultimate goal. I apologize for the less then acceptable guestroom furniture you witnessed. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction and hope to have another opportunity to show you the complete quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,786 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing