We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Could use some updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Overall it's a pleasant enough hotel in a great location. Aside from the decor (the drapes were easily the ugliest I've seen in my life, I mean, distractingly hideous), the room was relatively comfortable and spacious. It's always nice to have the half kitchen. Breakfast was great. There were no wow moments, but I'd stay here again if the rate were right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benFlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and its service. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they are one of the special points you made comment to in your review. As a company it is our goal to make each guest experience a warm and inviting experience offering our signature “southern hospitality”.
One point of concern was your comment regarding the draperies. We are in the process of refreshing our hotel with a completion set for early 2013.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    659
    278
    119
    43
See reviews for
446
751
54
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

After a week of traveling we decided to splurge and stay at the Doubletree in the heart of the Historic District in downtown Charleston. We had recently stayed at a Doubletree in Fayetteville NC and were more than pleased so we expected the same wonderful experience. We started off great. The young man who took our bags, registered our car for valet parking, and brought us to our room was pleasant and helpful with dining suggestions as well. Things went down hill from here. At registration we were assigned a first floor room, we requested a QUIET room on an upper floor and were reassigned a room on the second floor (hotel has 5 floors). We were also told if we decided to leave early (reservation was for 2 nights) we would be charged 50% for doing so. Maybe this was an omen? Our quiet room was anything but, with people talking outside on the street our room at 10:30 and again at midnight, the street cleaner sweeping the street outside during the night and at 7AM the septic truck pumping outside our window, and a trash truck at 8:15. So much for a decent nights sleep.
To add insult to injury, we asked to upgrade our reservation to include the breakfast package. Since we booked on line the upgrade price on the website was $20.00 for two and the hotel was $30.00 for two. We asked if they would honor their web price and when the receptionist asked the manager, Mr Valentine, if she could do this his answer was, " No, they should have done it when they booked the reservation on line". Not the greatest customer service. We decided to eat elsewhere.
The hotel is clean and nicely appointed, however the management needs some lessons in customer relations.

Room Tip: Request a room on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidMHoldenMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about the uncomfortable noise disruptions you experienced while staying with us. We're reviewing your concerns with our staff so we can work on additional resolutions and appreciate that you brought this to our attention. I'm also sorry that we couldn't honor your room reservation request. Our front office goes through a lengthy process each day to try to accommodate all reservations but occasionally can’t due to extenuating circumstances. We appreciate your feedback and hope you give us a second chance if you return to the area.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I wish that we had been notified before-hand of extensive renovation on our floor. I think our room, and our Mother's room were the only two rooms not being painted or carpet changed. Our room smelled strongly of paint, and I think ours had just been finished a day or so prior to our arrival. It was impossible to wheel our luggage for us (2 adults, and 3 young kids) because of the furniture piled in the hallway, carts full of paint (which I was sure my kids would knock over), etc. Looking back, I wish that I had complained a little stronger at the front desk, as the price we paid was so very much higher than the quality of our stay. Also, you can unload your bags and family, then park your car at a 24h parking garage just down the block. It's a little inconvenient, but would have saved us a little had we known. Call the hotel to see if they are renovating any of their rooms, and if so, be sure to stay on an already updated floor.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to see if they are renovating any of their rooms, and if so, be sure to stay on an al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesisterlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I appreciate your flexibility as we undergo some growing pains and apologize for the inconvenience. We're currently working with our team to improve communication to our guests about the refreshes. We hope that you'll come back once the renovations are complete and let us know what you think. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this in further detail.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The accomodations were very good. Immaculate room and bath. Breakfast had good variety. Very courteous staff. The best in room coffee we've had in years. Walking distance to restaurants, sightseeing. Valet parking is a plus and at a minimal charge for the convenience.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, get a suite. Good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your posting and reminding everyone of our numerous amazing attributes that make Doubletree by Hilton such a special place to visit in Charleston. As you mention, our attentive staff assist with making memories for our guests on a daily basis with a genuine sense of pride and hospitality not found in many properties. We look forward to your next visit.
Best Wishes…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa bay, fl
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We are pretty loyal Hilton Points people and are always happy when the Hilton we get is in a perfect location with nice accomodations. We flew in and didn't rent or need a car due to the close proximity of this hotel to everything.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your candid review regarding you recent stay at our Doubletree by Hilton hotel. I will be sharing your comments with the entire Team so they can hear your comments. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return visit.
We wish you safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a great hotel with a very friendly staff. The valet parking seemed a little crazy when I first heard about it but I'm glad now glad that we had it. The price seems kind of steep but if you use the parking garage it ends up being about the same. We didn't have to move our truck until we were leaving on Sunday! My only complaints would be not having a hot tub and pool, having to purchase breakfast instead of it being included in the hotel price. That seemed very expensive being 10.00 for continental and 15.00 for a small buffet. Other than that the fact that it is right in the heart of the Historical District with a lot of the sights and shopping and restaurants being right there was amazing. Oh, and lets not forget the warm chocolate chip cookie you're greeted with! It was wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gfmountaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We thank you for your recent review and recognition of our property and staff. We strive to ensure each and every guest is provided the best possible experience and it appears our efforts were successful during your visit. It is rewarding to hear we made “such a positive impression” as Charleston is full of options for lodging.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We booked two suites for 6 people for a "girls trip." We were so pleased with how comfortable the suites were. The location of the hotel is perfect for anything you want to do in "downtown Charleston." The hotel was very helpful in getting us a car to take us to the plantations for a tour, and also to go to the airport. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Extremely comfortable bedding - comfortable room temps
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cintayroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel and our Team. Your comments referencing our service the Team offers was most appreciated, as well as, your comments regarding our guestroom amenities. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can hear your comments as well. We appreciate your continued loyalty and hope for the best with your family. Hope to see you again on a leisure trip to Charleston soon. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ansonborough Inn
#11 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing