We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This is a great location and the room was very nice. Eat breakfast somewhere else unless you get it free. The room needed updating but was adequate. I would stay here again. People very nice. Nothing special, however.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and its service. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can hear your feed back as well. As a company it is our goal to make each guest experience a warm and inviting experience offering our signature “southern hospitality”.
One point of concern was your comment of our property condition. We are in the process of refreshing our hotel with a completion set for early 2013.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,228)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,746 - 1,752 of 2,229 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a crazy trip for us. We were in and out within a day but the hotel was great! They upgraded us to a suite which was perfect and treated us great. The cookies are delicious that they give you and you don't feel guilty for eating them because you spend your time in the historic district walking around. It is a great city with adorable places to eat and shop.

The staff was so helpful picking places to dine. They also asisted us with rides to the airport. Overall a great stay. The only negative I can say is that the shower pressure could have been better. But the room was clean and that ranks higher on my list.

Room Tip: Stayed in an upgraded suite on the first floor which was great. All the noise stopped relatively ea...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

On behalf of the entire team… “Great Staff” is an excellent summation of your recent visit and we Thank You! Our courteous and professional staff goes out of their way to ensure guest satisfaction is consistently offered to everyone that comes through our doors….and it appears you had the pleasure of witnessing our team in action during your groups visit.
We hope to have another opportunity to serve your hospitality needs in the near future. Safe travels…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose the hotel for its location. We were a little concerned by some reviews, but the location outweighed the concerns. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. We were allowed to check in early. While going through the process, we mentioned it was our wedding anniversary. We did not expect special treatment or request it. The staff upgraded us to a nicer room and when we returned from dinner that night, we found a lovely tray of strawberries and champagne.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCBinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and its service. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they are one of the special points you made comment to in your review. As a company it is our goal to make each guest experience a warm and inviting experience offering our signature “southern hospitality”. We hope you will come back and visit us again for another special occasion or just a leisure trip.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perfect location, perfect price, perfect experience! This is THE historic district hotel if you are planning to walk, eat and tour Charleston, SC! The accommodations are above average for the cost and the location could not be better for waking EVERYWHERE. We booked a one bedroom suite with an adjoining bedroom for 2 couples so we could have our privacy yet enjoy relaxing time together. Before dinner we had a glass of wine (or 2) in the living area and an after-dinner beverage there also. The concierge recommended several tours that were "spot-on" as well as restaurants that were memorable. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Junior suites are roomy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsG1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel and our Team. Your comments referencing our service the Team offers was most appreciated, as well as, your comments regarding our guestroom amenities. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can hear your comments as well. We appreciate you choosing us for your hospitality needs and hope to see you again real soon. Safe travels…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hubby and I stayed there for a quick weekend getaway. The staff was very professional and friendly. This made up for the worn furniture in the sitting area of our suite. Additionally, the bathroom was extremely small in the one bedroom suite. My husband is 6' tall and his knees touched the door while "sitting down" (if you know what I mean). Our room overlooked the market which was nice. Breakfast buffet each morning for $14.95/person...tasty and not a bad deal considering. Overall I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are probably your best bet
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NARGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Your comments regarding our staff were very much appreciated and indicative of what our guest encounter. I will be reviewing your comments with our Team so they can hear your thoughts as well.
With special note we are in the process of refreshing our property to include the guestrooms to bring a much more fresh appearance to the entire hotel. Our estimated finish date is first quarter in 2013.
We hope to see you back here in Charleston again soon. Safe travels…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My mom and I enjoyed a nice stay at the DoubleTree in the historic district of Charleston. Bell stay (Hi, Keith!) were friendly and helpful. Front desk staff were efficient. Our two-room suite was nice, though living area furniture is showing a bit of wear. Market is steps away. Hotel is within walking distance of several restaurants and many visitor sites.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kch76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Your comments regarding our bell and front desk Teams were very much appreciated and indicative of what our guest encounter. I will be reviewing your comments with our Team to so they can hear your thoughts, as well.
As a special note we are in the process of refreshing our property to include the guestrooms to bring a much more fresh appearance to the entire hotel. Our estimated finish date is first quarter in 2013.
We hope to see you back here in Charleston again soon. Safe travels…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is recommended by one of my business partners, just referring to this company simplified things. Was given an an executive room (USD 249) which means you need to haul your luggage quite a bit through a restaurant setting anda little courtyard. Upside is that you get a quiet, large, well equipped room. All staff are usually so friendly, even this time. Excellent location in dowtown Charleston, just walk out and you have shops and a historical area at your feet. My only problem with this hotel is their very late opening time for breakfast; 7 am. Room service breakfast does not come until 7:30. Typically does not allow for a proper breakfast if you are heading for meetings around 8 am. (Yes it was me coming out of the hotel all energetic that morning, I brewed up all the Wolfgang Puck coffee I found in the coffee machine in my room)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Kaaskop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel and our Team. Your comments referencing our service the Team offers was most appreciated, as well as, your comments regarding our guestroom amenities. I will be sharing your comments with our Team so they can hear your comments as well. We appreciate your continued loyalty and hope to see you again on a leisure trip to Charleston soon. Safe travels…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $203 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing