We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, good room but lacks historic charm.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hotel is very well located in Downtown Charleston within walking distance to everything that you'd want in town. The rooms were nice, but left something to be desired. Clean, but the rooms seemed a bit dated from a design standpoint. Certainly not old, but missing something that fresh feel. Also the lobby missed the mark. It was average and plain-jane. With this kind of location, it missed the historic charm that I would've liked. The value was great and I'd certainly stay again. Breakfast was good too...ask for the cooked-to-order eggs. it's included in the price, but not so obviously available.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollinon-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,961 - 1,967 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was my first visit to Charleston, and it was amazing! This hotel is in a great location and the rooms are wonderful. Their staff is great. They even arranged my airport pickup with Omega Transportation! I love the city of Charleston.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston - Historic District. We are glad you enjoyed to prime location in the market area only steps away from great restaurants and wonderful landmarks. Our staff is second to none and always try to go above and beyond for our guests. We look forward to seeing you on another trip to Charleston soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The location can't be beat. You can walk to anything. I would say the hotel itself is average. The staff is really nice and helpful. I was upgraded and the room was nice. I heard the other rooms were small. The room set up is nice if you have kids since each room is a suite. The room I was in did not have a patio or outside area which is something I usually really like. I would stay there again if I got a good deal on the room.

I do recommend Hank's for dinner, the shrimp cocktail was amazing and they had a great wine list.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StellaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston Historic District. Our convenient location to this charming city is a great reason to stay with us. Hank's is our favorite restaurant also! Great recommendation! We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I am a Hilton Honors Gold member and have stayed at Doubletree properties all over the country. This property is below average when compared to other Doubletree Hotels. For the money, you could get more at other hotels located within a block or two of this property. For example, this hotel has no real bar/lounge. They set up nightly in the breakfast bar which also serves as their restaurant. Think Hampton Inn and you get the picture. No pool, no pay per view.... Rooms are dated. Best thing is the location without a doubt. If you don't mind paying more for a hotel that offers few if any amenities, then you will not be terribly disappointed w/ this property.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamala63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Our convenient location to restaurants and the market is a great reason to stay with us! Due to our historic location we do not have room for a pool, but we do have a very nice courtyard for guests to enjoy. Please consider us next time you stay in Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

A clean, well decorated suite in a fabulous location was the perfect place to stay in Charleston. Our two story suite provided a great opportunity for a couple to be able to have different schedules without disturbing one another. It was great. I only wish there had been a powder room on the living room level. However, you would think with no neighbors above or below that it would have been quieter. We could hear children crying and each time someone took a shower. Oh well....you can't have it all. I would still return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CollinsRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston - Historic District. We are pleased you enjoyed our convenient location in the Historic District, and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Just had one overnight at the Doubletree. The staff were very helpful with directions and cleaned the room well. The bed, although a little hard, had very comfortable sheets. Bathroom had plenty of room and soft towels. The AC was pretty noisy.... it sounded like a birds nest that was behind the wall (Room 207). I was there for a meeting and the food served with the meeting was great. The hotel is very well located to fine restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taxman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our convenient location to all of the great attractions and restaurants in the area. Thank you for the feedback regarding the A/C unit, and we will work to improve the imperfections. We look forward to your return visit to Charleston and the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We had a suite. It was clean and roomey. The front desk was helpful with directions and suggestions. There are many restaurants within walking distance. The gym was simple but adequate. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAJFJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $158 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing