We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 26, 2009

First, let me say that I stay at Marriott hotels whenever I can and am a Gold Rewards member. I was in Charleston to visit family and chose the waterfront because of location and I was certain it would be upgraded as most other Marriott hotels througout the US. The exterior and main lobby areas were well appointed and the customer service is about as good as I've experienced at any Marriott property. Check in was very smooth. The lobby, lounge area, and restaurant were all exceptionally clean and fresh looking. The rooms, however, are a step back into time. The bedding is typical Marriott - exceptionally comfortable. The decor, carpet, etc. were just unattractive and uncomfortable. It smelled like a very old home with wood paneling and carpet that's over 20 years old. It felt damp. I know-, I know ----who spends time in the room anyway?!?! This place needs a major room upgrade ASAP. Change the carpet, fresh paint, flat screen TVs, contemporary cabinetry, etc. It felt like I was in an interstate motel and not a Marriott guest room. Because of the dampness in the room, I had a sore throat each morning. While the customer service was excellent, the breakfast buffet reasonably prices and very tasty, and the view of the harbor simply the best, I would probably not stay here on future trips to Charleston unless no other options are available. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bogeyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 820 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2009

The location of the hotel is wonderful and the views and lobby are lovely. Our room had issues, a closet door was missing, the air conditioner didn't keep the room cool and the carpets were not clean. This hotel needs some serious upkeep. Floors were dirty walls had stains on them, etc., not at all what I expected from a Marriott property. You can see the office from the checkin desk very dirty and cluttered in full view of the guests.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellowkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I often stay at this hotel given its location to the Medical University where I often visit on business. The attraction here is the view of the Ashley River harbor, particularly at sunset on the veranda by the bar. Otherwise, typical Courtyard. Despite my repeat business, their quoted rate varies depending on who I talk to but I can usually get a room for $100 to $110/night (if lucky you view the harbor and maybe even get a balcony) versus the official $129 - 149/night, although I can Priceline it at $75 (but you will view the freeway). The staff is polite and businesslike. The rooms are normal to slightly larger than normal depending on where they put you. These prices do NOT include breakfast, so add another $12. Parking is free, a nice treat in downtown Charleston. At this location, it will be tough for older folks or families to walk anywhere, so keep that in mind: you will need to drive to the historic area. The adventurous can walk the one mile or so along the water, but heavy traffic will be an issue for the first 1/4 mile. I often jog or walk the path but dread the start.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardSoutheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

This hotel was very nice. Sits right on the water near the marina. It's a little far from downtown so be warned if you do not want to have to drive to get to all of the good stuff (and thus pay for parking). Parking at the hotel was free though so that's a plus. Rooms were nice and comfy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augirl41184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed at this same hotel last July and our experience both times was exceptional. It is a beautiful hotel w/beautiful surroundings and a marvelous staff. We had a room w/a view of the marina and it was very relaxing. I really don't have any negative comments to make about this location, but if I had to come up w/one I would like for them to offer a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYLamplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed five nights here and really enjoyed the hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff is very nice. Eugene in the breakfast area is a great employee and VERY hard working. We were there with three children and they had a great time in the pool. The balcony from our room was a nice place to watch boats going in and out of the harbor.
We only encountered a problem with housekeeping. They only showed up twice out of our five days. It wasn't a big problem because the front desk got us all necessary items, it just was a little inconvenient.
The pulling into and out of the hotel was a little bit of pain, but we always had free shaded parking in the garage, which kept the car out of the sun. We liked the security of having to use your room key to get the elevator to work.
We had a great room with two beds and a pull out couch. There was a microwave and a small fridge and tons of counter space. The only laundry facilities are on the second floor and for the whole hotel there are only two washer and dyers. Although they do give you FREE boxes of detergent and it is only $1 to wash and $1 to dry.
All in all we really enjoyed our trip to Charleston and when we return I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagunalvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

This Marriott needs a bit more help with the room we (my fiance) and I stayed in. While the hotel has a beautiful lobby and poolside, our room was not that great. We had a non working desklamp, an alarm clock that had an issue with the volume and there was an obvious issue with the shower head. There must have been a plumbing problem some time ago with the room above. The ceiling above the shower head had been damaged but minor work had been done to repair a hole. The bathtub faucet still had not been pushed back in and fitted properly. I hope these issues was related to this room only! Staff was friendly. Breakfast was ok but hard to find the person whom you could give your custom egg order too so we ended up doing the buffet to save time. I would probably stay here again for the value and location but I would make sure I did not get room 117.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melnatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 62 in Charleston
1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $173 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing