We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel features a great waterfront view, with a very pleasant staff, that will attend to your every need. The view and the deck are this hotels features, with a small bar, just inside the door. They do offer breakfast, which is pricey, but there are local places, to get a great bite to eat. The hotel is on a one way street, so you have to plan if you want to go in the opposite direction. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your great comments. I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit to the area.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 816 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice clean hotel. The lighting was good. There is a parking garage. Breakfast was decent. There is a nice patio outside of the dining room that overlooks the river. It is only a couple miles from the historic Charleston tourist area. I would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank LV2SLSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. I am glad the hotel's facilities met your need and I hope we will have the chance to host you again on a future visit.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Good clean rooms which could do with a little updating, but hey, it's a good hotel from which to explore Charleston - the free bus is 5 mins walk away which'll take you downtown to the historic district - don't bother with taxis we used this excellent service throughout our two day stay
The hotel staff are very helpful and even though we arrived very late with flight delays were on the case
Plenty of parking with easy access to downtown Charleston and Highways out of town
All in all, a good hotel!
And we're looking forward to our final day there tomorrow before returning to UK.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. It sounds like the hotel was able to meet you expectations, and that is always good to hear. The complimentary Charleston Dash Trolley is a great way to get uptown, and I am glad you were able to take advantage of that free service.

Again, thank you for your comments, and I hope we will be able to host you again soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

So disappointed in this hotel. We always stay at Courtyard because they are so clean and worth the money. The linens here were gray and dingy and both rooms we tried smelled funky.needless to say we left quickly. And still haven't received a full refund. Shame on you Marriott! I'm not sure we will ever stay with you again after this.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBoiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry that your recent visit did not meet your expectations. Certainly clean, crisp linen is an expectation of every guest, and one that the hotel should always meet. In your case, we obviously fell short of that standard, and your comments will be addressed with our housekeeping and laundry staff. I hope the hotel will have the chance to serve you again in the future. I am sure that your experience will be a more pleasant one.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We started our holiday at the courtyard waterfront. The hotel is about 10 mins drive from the historic downtown although the hotel has a shuttle bus at a cost of $6 per person for as many trips all day.
The hotel staff are very friendly and as our bags had been delayed by the airline they were very helpful.
There is a new hotel being built next door and having stayed in a room at the end of the building it was very noisy with the building work, although not the Courtyard's fault.
Parking is free and plenty of space.
We would possibly stay again although the Courtyard Historic district is possibly a better location for exploring down town without transport.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank KAB1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding the Marriott Courtyard Waterfront. I am glad that you found our staff members friendly and helpful. Regarding, the hotel's location, it is certainly not in the "center" of Charleston. However, the beautiful waterfront location, is unique to the city, and offers an "amenity" that cannot be matched by hotels that are downtown.

Thanks again for the comments, and I hope you can visit us again soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is an excellent property. Everything is up to Marriott standards and the bar/café opens onto a large beautiful open area overlooking the pool and the downtown marina. Great spot to sit outside and enjoy a conversation with friends!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormSC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you had the chance to take of advantage of the hotel's unique and beautiful setting.

Hopefully we will have the chance to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a bad stay at the Holiday Inn Riverview across the water from the courtyard for the first half of our stay in Charleston so coming to the Courtyard was a breath of fresh air! Literally the lobby smelled great! The hotel overall was very clean. The rooms were much bigger then normal hotel rooms. Decorated accordingly. The staff was friendly and helpful. One night I came back to the hotel in the evening and really wanted coffee I was meandering around the coffee pots in the lobby and noticed they were off. A gentleman in the staff I believe may have been a manager went and made a pot of coffee just for me. The outdoor area was absolutely beautiful with a fountain and rocking chair and pretty flora, all overlooking the pool/hot tub and the harbor. Also had a plethora of seating to accommodate large parties to relax and enjoy each others company. Unlike the Holiday Inn which didn't have any. All the charm this hotel had to offer was exactly what I was looking for in Charleston. Definitely reflected some southern hospitality! I am a travel agent and will definitely be recommend this to my clients!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitja48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay in the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. It is always great to hear that the hotel's staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel's beautiful location is unique to Charleston, and I am glad you took advantage of the fantastic view.

Thanks again, and I hope you will have the chance to stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 62 in Charleston
1,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $156 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing