We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“great service”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our taxi driver dropped us at this hotel when , in fact, we were booked into the other Marriot. Without hesitation the lovely young lady on duty got her car and drove two weary travellers to the correct hotel I don't know her name but she is studying teaching, has 4 sons and was working on a Thursday night. I hope the manager will pass on my thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contraltomo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Wow !! Reviews like this are why we get up in the morning. Thank you so much for letting us know about this great example of great service. That is true hospitality, and thankfully many of our great associates truly live that every day.

Thanks again, and try us again next time you are in Charleston.

Regards,
Bill Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    282
    140
    64
    42
See reviews for
194
301
30
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife, son, and I stayed there for 1 night and hated it. First our check in time was 4pm we got there at 5 and still had to wait for our room to be cleaned. After 20 min we got our keys and went in the room. As soon as we opened the door the room smelled like burnt pot. We asked for a different room but they only had a 2 queen bed room but we paid for a king bed. So we delt with it. The room was very small and the bath tub was left dirty. The bed was ok, but for the price you pay I would expect a free continental breakfast at least. They charge 9 bucks for that and if you want eggs you pay 13. This is horrible. I would never stay at a marriott again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience. I apologize that parts of your experience did not meet your expectations. Excellent housekeeping and maintenance are minimum standards that every guest should expect, and it is disappointing that we fell so short on this occasion. I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit. I am sure your stay will be a more pleasant one.

Regards,
Bill Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,474 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel was just ok. Peaceful views of the Ashley River from elevated deck but very out of the way. They run a $6/person/day shuttle but it didn't run very often or to many locations. We took cabs everywhere. There is nowhere nearby to walk to or eat and the walk to the main downtown area is going to be over a mile with no sidewalks for much of the way and nothing interesting to see. There is a peninsula rate for cabs between the downtown and the hotel which is less than the metered rate. Every cab we took back to the hotel tried unsuccessfully to charge us more. It should be $5 plus $1 gas surcharge plus an addl $1/pp. This Marriott cost over $100/night less than the one just south of the visit center. You pay your money, you make your choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chitownsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay, and I am sorry that the hotel's location did not meet your needs. Even though the hotel is not in downtown Charleston, only a couple other hotels on the peninsula have a great waterfront location that can compare to the Courtyard Waterfront. While you did describe several different transportation options going to uptown Charleston, the Charleston Dash Trolley is one that you did not mention. There are a couple trolley stops that are a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. The trolley is free and runs regular routes between uptown and the Lockwood Drive area. I am sure someone at the front desk or the hotel concierge would be happy to give you directions to the closest stop.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Prior to our check in date, I called the hotel to discuss dining options since it was my wife's birthday and we were traveling with friends. I spoke with Emily, at the front desk, and she gave us some outstanding recommendations. She made us two reservations for our weekend stay, and even called me back to confirm. Having this experience prior to checking in got all of us very excited for our trip to the land of southern hospitality. When we checked in, we could not believe the gorgeous view of the river from their terrace. Emily was there to check us in and even gave my wife and I a complimentary upgrade for the special occasion. The other front desk staff were also very helpful and attentive to our needs. Nothing can beat having a room overlooking the water with a balcony was a definite plus. Eddie, assisted us as well with our tour reservations and sights to see around town. All in all, this was an amazing trip to Charleston, and with the hospitality we got from Emily and Eddie, we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldwaterj53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that our hotel was able to make your special occasion even a little more special. Thank you for your recognition of our associates Emily and Eddie. Both are valued associates that consistently demonstrate a great understand of the meaning of hospitality. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Waterfront for you special occasion, and hopefully we can share it again with you next year.

Regards,
Bill Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was extremely cordial, accommodating and knowledgeable. Unfortunately that is about all I can say good about this property. For $216/nt most people would expect a better facility.
This is a WELL WORN 3 star hotel at best. Maintenance does not appear to be a priority. Rooms are very small and all of the room doors are scuffed from the housekeeping carts. The entire hotel smell like a bad air freshener is being used in an attempt to cover up a musty odor. Beds are not comfortable. We were stuck in the elevator on the first floor. Parking is inadequate.
Note: Due to it’s proximity to the river and the potential of rising tides, the front desk and all of the amenities at this facility (except the pool) are built above the ground floor parking. Entry is from a circular drive at ground level with front desk on second level (1st floor). Some will find it very inconvenient.

Room Tip: Small rooms... inconvenient check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Your feedback regarding your recent experience is greatly appreciated. It is great to hear that our associates delivered friendly and efficient service that met your expectations. It is disappointing that you felt our facilities were below standard. Our maintenance staff works very hard to maintain the physical facility to as close to a "like new" condition as possible. Things such as the scuffed doors you mentioned are an almost daily maintenance task In a busy hotel such as ours. While this is a tremendous challenge, our team is always striving to improve in that area. I assure you that all of your comments will be passed along to our maintenance team, and we will certainly address them immediately.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope we will have the chance to serve you again in the near future.

Regards,
Bill Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice place to stay - close to the city spots - WARNING shuttle for hotel costs $6.00 per person. A bit steep but worth it if you do not want to drive. 2nd warning - no dinner restaurants! The closet is a .30 mile walk or you need to drive.

Breakfast was good though and well priced.

I would recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and your recommendation. The next time you stay with us, consider the Charleston Dash Trolley. There are a couple stops a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel , and the Dash will take you directly to downtown....for free.

Thanks again, and we hope to have you back soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Two separate stays. First: called on 17th for short stay starting 19th. Res was made for 16th (?); credit card given on 17th charged for no-show; when arrived on 19th had no room; after front desk argued with us for 30 mins, Manager finally gave us room on back of hotel next to street, garage entrance, and construction. Room in need of attention - sink cracked, tub stained, carpet stained. Gave another chance on longer stay recently. Room was nice with side view of water but machinery in ceiling made constant noise. Husband was scheduled for major surgery the next day and he got no rest that night. Very hard to sleep with ears stuffed with tissue so asked for different room next night. I was given a nicer room with beautiful view and newer looking furniture; but, the air conditioner did not work. Called front desk to tell them and gave up after 35 rings. Kicked a/c and was able to get temp down to 74 around midnight. Used shuttle to get to MUSC while husband was in for surgery. It failed to pick me up twice. Biggest disappointment was the lack of a restaurant to eat dinner. The on site food service was one of the primary reasons we tried this place a second time. Do not believe the advertising or their site. The restaurant was closed and they did not tell us about it when we made the reservation. Very, very poor customer service! Stay away fom this place!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penguinamomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the poor service you received. Unfortunately it is apparent that our staff failed to meet your expectations in any way. Normally our staff members work with all of our guests to meet the guest's individual needs, and I am sorry in this case they fell short.

Your comments are appreciated. I hope you will try us again, as I am sure your experience will be a better one.

Regards,
Bill Moore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 62 in Charleston
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Property: Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing