We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to Marriott standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was extremely cordial, accommodating and knowledgeable. Unfortunately that is about all I can say good about this property. For $216/nt most people would expect a better facility.
This is a WELL WORN 3 star hotel at best. Maintenance does not appear to be a priority. Rooms are very small and all of the room doors are scuffed from the housekeeping carts. The entire hotel smell like a bad air freshener is being used in an attempt to cover up a musty odor. Beds are not comfortable. We were stuck in the elevator on the first floor. Parking is inadequate.
Note: Due to it’s proximity to the river and the potential of rising tides, the front desk and all of the amenities at this facility (except the pool) are built above the ground floor parking. Entry is from a circular drive at ground level with front desk on second level (1st floor). Some will find it very inconvenient.

Room Tip: Small rooms... inconvenient check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Your feedback regarding your recent experience is greatly appreciated. It is great to hear that our associates delivered friendly and efficient service that met your expectations. It is disappointing that you felt our facilities were below standard. Our maintenance staff works very hard to maintain the physical facility to as close to a "like new" condition as possible. Things such as the scuffed doors you mentioned are an almost daily maintenance task In a busy hotel such as ours. While this is a tremendous challenge, our team is always striving to improve in that area. I assure you that all of your comments will be passed along to our maintenance team, and we will certainly address them immediately.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope we will have the chance to serve you again in the near future.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 810 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice place to stay - close to the city spots - WARNING shuttle for hotel costs $6.00 per person. A bit steep but worth it if you do not want to drive. 2nd warning - no dinner restaurants! The closet is a .30 mile walk or you need to drive.

Breakfast was good though and well priced.

I would recommend it!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your positive review and your recommendation. The next time you stay with us, consider the Charleston Dash Trolley. There are a couple stops a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel , and the Dash will take you directly to downtown....for free.

Thanks again, and we hope to have you back soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Two separate stays. First: called on 17th for short stay starting 19th. Res was made for 16th (?); credit card given on 17th charged for no-show; when arrived on 19th had no room; after front desk argued with us for 30 mins, Manager finally gave us room on back of hotel next to street, garage entrance, and construction. Room in need of attention - sink cracked, tub stained, carpet stained. Gave another chance on longer stay recently. Room was nice with side view of water but machinery in ceiling made constant noise. Husband was scheduled for major surgery the next day and he got no rest that night. Very hard to sleep with ears stuffed with tissue so asked for different room next night. I was given a nicer room with beautiful view and newer looking furniture; but, the air conditioner did not work. Called front desk to tell them and gave up after 35 rings. Kicked a/c and was able to get temp down to 74 around midnight. Used shuttle to get to MUSC while husband was in for surgery. It failed to pick me up twice. Biggest disappointment was the lack of a restaurant to eat dinner. The on site food service was one of the primary reasons we tried this place a second time. Do not believe the advertising or their site. The restaurant was closed and they did not tell us about it when we made the reservation. Very, very poor customer service! Stay away fom this place!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penguinamomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the poor service you received. Unfortunately it is apparent that our staff failed to meet your expectations in any way. Normally our staff members work with all of our guests to meet the guest's individual needs, and I am sorry in this case they fell short.

Your comments are appreciated. I hope you will try us again, as I am sure your experience will be a better one.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were in town for our daughter to have surgery at the Charleston VA Hospital. We were expecting to stay 3-4 days at most but ended up there for 10 days. Our daughter had complications and required some special foods, etc. The staff went out of there way to accommodate us. The first night, it was late when we checked in, the bell hop made a point to bring us some info on restaurants that delivered in case we needed anything and were too tired to go out! If there was anything we needed or had a question about they went out of their way to help or get us the answer. I have stayed at some of the best hotels in the US and never had service that reached to point we had here. They set a new bar for hotel service! In addition, the rooms were nice but more importantly they were clean!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for the great comments regarding the hotel's staff. The hotel has a wonderful group of associates, that work very hard to meet the needs of all of our guests. In this case, I am delighted that our staff members were able to meet your needs. We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a quick visit to Charleston and I wish we could have stayed longer. The property is very nice, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff is very helpful.

Our room was not one of their best, so our balcony with two rocking chairs did not have a great view of the lovely marina. But the pool area and the veranda outside the bar and restaurant have plenty of rockers and couches from which to enjoy the beautiful view.

The room was large with two beds and a very nice sitting area, as well as a fridge and microwave nicely stored in a cupboard. The bathroom was a bit small, but sparkling clean and well-stocked.

The on site restaurant only serves breakfast, but it was very good, too and there is covered parking which helps keep the car a little cooler.

We liked this property very much and I recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the marina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melindamccrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Courtyard Waterfront is greatly appreciated. Our waterfront location is very unique in Charleston, and I agree that our veranda and pool deck are fantastic places to enjoy the beautiful view our location provides.

Thanks again for the review, and we look forward to having you back as our guest soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at this Marriott for 4 nights. We were with a large extended family group that was in Charleston for a funeral. The rooms were not huge and the lighting could be brighter but I give this hotel an excellent rating because of their warm and welcoming customer service. Over the course of the 4 days, the numbers of rooms that we needed kept changing as different family members flew in or had to leave to get back to work. The staff was completely accommodating and pleasant. The breakfast buffet was unusually fresh and delicious. I loved the nice and sympathetic people in the restaurant who supplied us with endless pots of good coffee as we gathered in the mornings to make our plans. The location close to the river was very nice also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MardiGrasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrJHMHotels, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your great comments. It is good to hear such great comments regarding our staff. I hope you will have a chance to visit the hotel again soon.

Regards,
Bill Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Manager was very helpful!! He hand delivered blow dryer and gave us extra help. Good breakfast buffet. Staff very helpful with maps, referrals, and directions. We enjoyed our stay. Also a shuttle ran us down town. Very helpful there too. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thanks for taking a moment to provide us with this great feedback. Our managers are very "hands on" and involved with our guests - they would much rather be out there helping with directions or correcting an issue than sitting behind a desk! We're glad you had such a great time while visiting our property and it's great to know you'll stay with us again! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 62 in Charleston
1,161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston - Historic Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $132 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing