We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay... Very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. The location on the harbor was perfect. Most importantly, my room was very clean. Since I am clean room snob, I was pleased and would stay again. This hotel didn't cover up the the stench of cigarette smoke with a hefty dose of air freshener either.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brackneychiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thanks so much for this review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us in Charleston and we definitely hope you'll be visiting us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 797 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

The two women at the front desk were very sweet and upgraded us to a corner king room. Check in was easy, but from there one, it was not a great experience. Overall this hotel is in need of a makeover. The elevators are slow, the bathroom had peeling paint, and the rooms were poorly laid-out. Unfortunately our corner king room had one window view of the marina and the other window was of the parking lot and the highway. It was noisy from the highway as well as the poorly insulated ceilings and hallway doors. We heard noise from hall mates as well as our upstairs neighbors. The last day a cockroach made his/her way out from behind the chair. Pool was too small for all the people that wanted to use it. The exercise room consisted of only 3 machines, but no one else was really using it so that worked out. If we ever return to Charleston we will not be staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the highway and avoid the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thanks for this review - I sincerely apologize you didn't fully enjoy your stay at our property. I appreciate you bringing the issues to my attention, as we can't improve if we're unaware there's a problem. Thanks again - I do hope you'll consider giving us a try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is located in the Western part of the city, far away from the Historic area. There is a shuttle that will take you downtown for $6/day.
The check in was pretty fast. The common areas (pool, gym, restaurant) are immaculate. The swimming pool had salt water but it was a little too small for the amount of guests. The area around it was very neat and hip.
The rooms were small and outdated. My bathroom had areas that needed some touches. The walls between the rooms were thin and you could hear everything from next door.
The view from the terrace was nice. The service was great. It was just that is not well located and for what you are being charged, you can go to North Charleston and had more services and space for half the price (since you will have to drive anyway...). It is a great place if you have to go the MUSC hospital.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucybelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thanks for this review of our property! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. While we're a mile and a half from the Historic District, we are very convenient to MUSC and the area hospitals as well as the College of Charleston. Hopefully you were able to utilize the shuttle to the Waterfront Park and sampled some of Charleston's finest restaurants. Thanks again and we hope we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very nice, clean, friendly hotel! Rooms are spacious, well decorated, nice! Not a walk friendly place to anywhere though! Not close to the historic place and restaurants but it is not too far away either!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Columbiafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thanks for the review! We're so glad you had a good stay in Charleston. It's hard to get the best of both worlds with a property on the water but still close to the Historic District - but we think we fit the bill, especially with the $6 shuttle that drops guests off right by the iconic pineapple fountain, close to restaurants and some of the city's finest sights.
We hope you'll choose to stay with us the next time you're in Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I could also have called this review Fawlty Towers in South Carolina Branch. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fawlty_Towers).
This is a very strange story about a good looking hotel in a great location but totally disorganized. It is in a great location on the waterfront in Charleston, SC. If you do not know Charleston, you should get to know it.
On the whole, I like Courtyards and this looks as though it should be a very good one and I suspect it will be. It looks as though the hotel has been recently renovated and is comfortable and attractive inside, the rooms are comfortable and clean (and not in fifty shades of brown) - 4 stars at this point.
But then, you go downstairs and the stars drop to close to zero. They boast a restaurant and a bar and again, they look good, with nice views towards the river and the marina. When I asked a manager about food I was told something like " I wouldn't eat here, its really a kids menu at this moment, we are not yet established" or words to that effect. We were very tired from exploring the town, so really wanted to stay in the hotel. We were told we could order in pizza and eat it in the bar, which is what we did. The pizza was good but the bar, was a joke. They boast exciting cocktails but when asked for one said they did not have the ingredients. I won't go into the whole experience , I will just say that nothing worked well and the bar staff kept explaining that no one knew how to organize this side of the hotel and that was obviously true. At the end of the evening, I asked to pay my check and was told that I didn't need to as they did not know how much the drinks had cost! So, I was luck in a way. The next morning for breakfast, the restaurant was chaotic and the tables dirty. We did not stay any longer and left in search of food and coffee.
Now, this hotel will be very good, I am sure of that, but at the moment, while the physical side of the hotel, inside and out is really good, the service is something that Basil Fawlty would be proud of. They are also building something right next door, so it is noisy outside.
So my recommendation is to call the hotel before booking and ask if the service is better organized there now (there was a guy from "corporate" there to sort it out) than it was in June 2013, if so, stay there, it will be good. At the moment it simply is not ready, when it is, I will probably go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eisenstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your visit. I'm sorry you experienced so many issues regarding the restaurant - admittedly, it's a work in progress and unfortunately our guests are the ones caught in the middle while we transition from a breakfast only restaurant, to the Bistro style with breakfast, lunch and dinner options. We currently have some new team members in place to assist with the issues and we appreciate your feedback. We hope on your return to Charleston, you'll consider giving us another try so we can prove to you that your experience was not the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a great hotel with very clean rooms and water views away from the historic district but with a shuttle to get there easily, It is on the water with beautiful views of very expensive watercraft. It is easy to get to from the hospitals, provides parking and a very friendly stff.

Room Tip: a waterfront view is worth a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We're thrilled you had an enjoyable stay with us in Charleston! Thanks for taking a moment to share your feedback and we hope we'll see you next time you visit the Lowcountry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We chose this hotel on price. Downtown charleston looked far too expensive but you probably sacrifice proximity for value. Saying that this is a nice hotel with views over river (we asked for balcony) and pleasant surroundings/pool area etc. we had a vehicle kept in free parking so popping into town wasn't a problem. Rooms very pleasant. Staff very welcoming. We stopped for three nights but didn't bother with breakfast. I may have to visit charleston again and if so would happily start here again

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy B, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for this great review of our property! We're glad you found our location to be convenient to the Historic District and perfect for your budget as well. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 61 in Charleston
1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $152 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing