We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing out of this world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing out of this world”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were on the first floor. No view. And the bathroom floor was freezing with the garage below us. Can't believe this was a 5 star by Mariott for points. Nice view for breakfast. You do have to "loop around" if you are going out to Kiawaha midland for golf. Close to fun places in Charleston.

Room Tip: Don't be on the first floor in cool weathere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellymillersimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post some feedback regarding your stay. On sold out weekends and certain event dates, inevitably there will be guests that don't get the room upgrade they hoped for or a room on the 4th floor as requested. Know that we read the requests put into the reservation system and we take them into consideration when we choose rooms. Unfortunately, not all requests can be granted and if you left our property disappointed, please accept our apologies.
We are very glad you were able to enjoy the gorgeous views of the marina from our terrace, albeit a little chilly outside right now. We hope you had a great time in Charleston and hope you'll consider staying with us again soon! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    283
    140
    64
    42
See reviews for
195
301
30
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were there last November (2012) when attending a wedding, and the property was one of
several in the vicinity of the wedding events with reserved rooms. We were very pleased with t
proximity of the motel to the wedding site, and thought the Courtyard was a good decision. The
location, due to adjacent construction, is a bit tricky to find easy access. After we learned that
when coming back from a trip to downtown on the east side, we had to pass by, make a u turn, and then enter we were good to go.
Our room was quite adequate, clean and easily accessible to elevators. The Courtyard is in
a good location for downtown access, Medical center access and access to the Citadel. When
there, a Citadel class was having a reunion there but rather than being a problem we enjoyed
the interaction ( even though I am a West Point grad ). The bar area is small with limited stock and space. Frankly, we don't remember the breakfast so can't comment +/-. The staff was
quite helpful with directions, etc. so our stay was generally what we would have expected at
a Marriott facility. The construction in the adjacent space is a bit if a hassle, but not their
making and certainly not a big deal.
All in all, we got the quality and service we paid for.

Room Tip: Until construction is finished, not sure how to recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks for this review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us back in November and that you found your room well equipped and comfortable.
Navigating the downtown area can be a little tricky at times and we're so glad our front desk staff could assist you with directions and get you where you needed to be.

We hope you'll come back and visit us soon! Thanks again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent location, great staff, comfortable sitting areas both inside and out. Concierge, Eddie McBride, was very helpful in dining suggestions and tours.Even on a rainy day, there was a fireplace sitting area. Breakfast was both buffet and order from menu. Very satisfying and well priced. The wait staff were excellent. If we return to Charleston, we would definitely stay at the same hotel. We have also recommended it friends who visit the College of Charleston. While there is construction in the area, there was easy access to the highway and within a few minutes of historic Charleston. Would recommend the facility.

Room Tip: Ask for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We're thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit to our property! Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and sing the praises of Eddie McBride, our Concierge extraordinaire! It's fantastic that you're recommending our property to others, especially those visiting the College of Charleston which is located a short 5 minute drive from us.

Thank you again for your kind words - we look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there this past week for one night, and while the staff was friendly and helpful, I didn't find the hotel to be very exceptional for the price paid.

Location - We had a corner suite situated between construction and a highway, and while I understand this isn't the hotel's fault, the pricing for the room ($200+) is a bit excessive considering we heard construction until after 6pm when we got there and it woke us up at 7am the next morning.

Room - The room was nice, with a bit of an odd lay out, the balcony was very large, but the room wasn't the cleanest I've been in. Stains on the chairs, bathtub didn't look like it had been cleaned and the whirlpool had black and white debris floating in the water when it was filled. Also the room was HOT and stuffy.

The outdoor facilities were beautiful and we enjoyed looking out over the marina as we relaxed. The breakfast was delicious and what we considered a reasonable price. Again, the staff was top notch.

I find it doubtful we'll be staying here again though for the sheer fact of value. There are much nicer, less noisy, hotels right downtown for a similar price. The price for the experience is just not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Reviews like this are difficult to read, as we work hard to make sure each and every guest has enjoyed their visit to our property. Know that your comments are heard, taken very seriously, and passed on to the appropriate departments so changes can be made. The construction next door has presented frustrations, but to us and our guests. We look forward to the completion of that new property this fall. Please accept our apologies for the disturbance the construction may have caused you.

We urge guests, whether ours or those at different properties, to communicate issues with the front desk agents during their stay. We may have been able to remedy some of the issues you were experiencing, or perhaps assist you in changing of rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback - we hope you'll consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel agent, San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. The room has everything you need. The walls are a bit thin though.The staff is wonderful and I cannot say enough nice things about them. The car service downtown is a nice touch as is the free parking. It is easy to get downtown from the hotel if you have your own car.. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christy2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you this great review and sharing it with TripAdvisor readers. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us this past weekend! We have to agree with you that our staff is top notch - thank you for recognizing them and know that your feedback will be passed on.

Charleston is a fantastic city and we definitely hope you'll be returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeasten Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at this waterfront property and had a lovely corner room overlooking the marina. The room was large with two decks and king accommodations. It was very clean and well kept. Our only disappointment was the fitness room. Only one TV worked on a treadmill and the other TVs were not working. Also, the room was extremely hot and even after leaving the A/C on over night, the temperature in the workout room did not change. Also the WiFi wasn't very fast and we had difficulty connecting to it. Otherwise, we enjoyed our short visit and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room when making reservations. During low season, you may be upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShenandoahBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay with us. Our corner king guest rooms definitely have some of the best views of the marina and we're glad you found your room well equipped and comfortable. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced - rest assured, your concerns have been addressed with the appropriate department heads and we're working to resolve maintenance issues.

Thanks again for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott for a quick weekend getaway. The rooms were spacious and clean. We ate dinner at the onsite restaurant one evening and the food was decent and reasonably priced. We ate breakfast onsite both mornings as the food was a hit with our teenagers. It was typical buffet food, but the made to order waffles and omlets were a favorite. The hotel loction is several miles from downtown, but was a short drive with very little traffic. The hotel is currently undergoing a pool renovation and the front entrance is diverted. We did not hear any construction noise during the weekend and were not disturbed by the renovation in any way. We will stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a hallway. Not only will you not have elevator noise but the showers ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemming6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We want to thank you for taking the time to provide a review for future guests! While we don't have a restaurant for lunch or dinner, we're glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet - whether it was here at our property, or at our sister hotel up the street (Charleston Marriott). With only about one slower month out of the entire year, both properties take that opportunity to finish some repairs and make sure the pool area is ready for the hot months ahead.

Thank you again for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your visit to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 62 in Charleston
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Property: Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing