We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need for an alarm clock”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Reasonably priced, attractive hotel in a great location by the marina. Covered parking below hotel was also handy. Room was clean. A few little things maintenance items kept it from being perfect; missing tile, frayed carpet edge. Staff was friendly and attentive. Problems with the room's heating unit were immediately addressed. I was upgraded to a large suite with a balcony, jacuzzi and separate bedroom. For the rate I was paying this made it a real bargain.... if it weren't for the major construction going on next door. Be warned, a Hilton going in next door makes this a noisy place from 7am until quitting time. If you want to sleep later than 7 you may be better off somewhere else or at least on the other side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Away from construction next door.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thawingoutinflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for the nice review of your most recent stay at our property. We're glad your concerns were heard and dealt with in a timely manner, and that you enjoyed the suite even with the construction next door. We'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 789 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is a typical Marriott, very clean and well appointed. It was however the smallest Marriott room I think I have ever stayed in. The front desk staff was wonderful and even helped out with a great deal! The view out the back of the hotel over the river was beautiful. We are sailors so the marina full of sailboats at the back of the property was awesome. Unfortunately our room was on the front and we had a rather dismal view of a busy highway and the Veteran Affairs Medical Hospital. Oh well I guess only half the rooms look out over the river (but if you have a choice ask for the river view). I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dixon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thanks for this great review of our hotel! While it's impossible for every guest room to face the water, we're so glad you enjoyed the views of the Ashley River from the newly furnished terrace. We appreciate the kind words and we hope you'll stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hot tub is hot and it's a tub...the water level was low all 6 days, the plaster needs to be redone on both the hot tub and the pool. The fireplace was great when it worked, which it did for 25 minutes - and that was because I was able to get it to work when working with the maintenance staff. The beds were hard and both of them squeaked. Overall the room was nice. The wireless internet access was good, speed was okay, but not enough to skype. The balconies of some of the rooms were large, but the rooms that face the bridge have a 6'x18" deck. They're not very big. The staff was very acommodating, and I'd like to call out the wait staff in the breakfast area, Louis (Maintenance), and Julian (Lobby) for outstanding customer service. The common areas are nice and the rockers and lounges out on the deck are really cool.

All this said, I would stay again, but I'd be specific in my room choice. The construction wasn't bad next door (Hilton Garden Inn). The beds are a bit too hard, and I'd be willing to explore the Holiday Inn that is close by too.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the marina, not the highway.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Tretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

We appreciate the feedback, both positive and negative, on your recent stay with us. Your concerns have been passed along to the appropriate departments and the necessary repairs have been addressed. Louis and Julian thank you for your kind words and we all hope you'll consider a visit to us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The room was pretty decent and clean. The bed was a bit hard and uncomfortable. The common areas could use an upgrade. Customer service at check-in could have been a bit more hospitable. There was construction nearby, but I could not hear it much from my room. A decent value for the price. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylorpdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thanks for the review! We're looking forward to some renovations coming in 2013, so stay tuned for the New Lobby! you might have seen at some properties and featured on the Marriott website. We hope you'll consider staying with us on your next visit to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I found this hotel to be comfortable and quiet. The desk staff were very friendly and they even let us check in a little early since we arrived in town an hour early.
The room was spacious enough, the bed was very comfortable and even though our room faced the main road, we didn't hear any noise at night. The room has a microwave and little refrigerator which we used.
The hotel has free parking.
The only problems we found with our room is: no ventilation fan in the bathroom, and the bathroom door doesn't close completely - it seems to be too large for the door frame. But we would stay in this hotel again because we enjoy the Marriott hotel chain.
Downtown is about 1-1/2 to 2 miles away and only takes a couple of minutes to drive there. Downton Charleston has a number of parking lots and you can park along most streets, so that wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: A quiet location near the water - about 1-1/2 miles from downtown.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to our property and the Charleston area. We appreciate the feedback, and the concerns you addressed have been passed onto our maintenence team and the necessary repairs have been made. Thanks again for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a wonderful room with wonderful service. The view out our window was one of the lovely pool and the water and bridge inthe background with the boats in the bay. There was some construction next door but we never even knew it until we went for a walk. the only bad thing was that you weren't able to walk to the historical Charleston but their shuttle was prompt. ALthough we learned that you had to reserve it.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a view of the water...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

We appreciate the great review and the fantastic feedback regarding your visit! We hope you'll consider staying with us again on your next trip to the Charleston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Wanted to stay in one decent hotel driving from Massachusetts to Florida. Rooms were spacious and clean but hotel was good distance from downtown. They have only breakfast available and nearest restaurant was 10 minute walk. They do have free parking which is a good deal. The staff was very nice. There is a six dollar roundtrip shuttle to downtown which I used. Overall nice place and good value. I think I would prefer staying in town next time to be closer to everything.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giddyupgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We're so glad you chose to stay with us on your trip down to Florida. Thanks again for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#35 of 61 in Charleston
1,136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $164 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing