We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #44 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Yes, there is construction going on next door, but honestly I never heard it except for when we had coffee outside in the morning or we were driving out of the parking lot. We were not hanging around the hotel during the day to bother us,

This hotel has an amazing view, but is not near downtown. I would only suggest staying here if you have a rent a car. Taking a taxi back in forth is a hassle and the shuttle adds up $$. However, parking is a pain in the butt in town.

The room we had had a great view, the staff was friendly and the room clean. The only thing I didnt like was the pillows they were awful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarmag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for such great feedback in regards to your experience at our property. We're looking forward to the completion of the construction in the lot adjacent to our hotel as much as our guests! When you return to Charleston, we hope you'll choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    257
    119
    57
    35
See reviews for
163
266
29
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The property was very nice. Inexpensive breakfast buffet. The only downside is that there is nothing walking distance around the hotel. Everything is a cab ride or a 20-30 min walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masik23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for the kind words regarding your most recent stay with us. We hope that on your next visit, you'll take advantage of the shuttle service into the Historic District. For $6 a person, you'll receive a round trip day pass to the Waterfront Park, putting you mere steps away from incredible restaurants and the downtown charm that Charleston has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Comfortable room with nice amenities. Great shower! Tiled walk-in shower with nice showerhead, good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Comfortable bed, but hotel needs to purchase bottom sheets large enough to fit the mattress. The fitted sheet was obviously made for a smaller mattress but housekeeping had tried to stretch the corners to fit the thicker mattress. Every time we got in bed the upper corners pulled off the mattress so by morning the sheet would be in a wad under our shoulders and we would be lying on the mattress pad. we added an additional night on the front end of our visit at the last minute and also requested an early check in. Although they made no promises when we called, they accommodated us with the room type we wanted upon our arrival.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled that your room was comfortable and that the shower was such a hit! After reading your comments about the fitted sheets, I went in search of the scoop. I shared your review with our Executive Housekeeper and together we went in search of ill-fitting sheets. On our third room, after two that seemed to fit fine, I noticed that the elastic on the corners of the fitted sheet only seemed to come about half way down the mattress. Upon further inspection, we found that the sheet was not put on correctly by the housekeeper, making it nearly impossible to fit. We identified the housekeeper and showed her the error. We no longer have that problem!

Letting us know about issues like this is greatly appreciated! I'm certain that other guests have had that same issue with the fitted sheet. If we don't know about a problem, we can't fix it. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Poor ventilation resulting in rooms that feel like saunas and smell like mold. Tiny baths, again, no vents.

Public spaces are large and pretty on the marina, but our large group over the weekend was in agreement that we were fleeced on high cost/very disgusting lodging.

Meeting planners are lured to this place with low cost meeting space; attendees pick up the bill and have to live with the mistake for days.

Charleston is old- seek out new hotels and enjoy the city.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbadiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry that you were unhappy with our facility. It's true that we have a few challenges here. Issues, such as the size of several guest room bathrooms and ventilation, are not easily changeable in a 5-story building. The hotel was built by another chain over a decade ago. Unfortunately it can be difficult to increase the size of hotel rooms in an existing property. We took great care when renovating to maximize the space we inherited.

Meeting planners return to our hotel time and time again not only for the reasonable cost of our meeting spaces but because of the excellent customer service and unique location directly on the water! We host hundreds of wedding guests and groups every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Courtyard Waterfront in March of 2012. We had an absolutely wonderful experience here and we cannot wait to return sometime this year. The front desk staff was very accomodating to us. We arrived to the hotel a few hours before check in started, and they were able to easily find a room for us. Our room was very clean and the beds were amazingly comfortable. After a 10 hour drive it was great to lay down and take a nap when we arrived. The location of the hotel is beautiful along the Ashley River. We enjoyed sitting on the wrap around porch and watching the sail boats. It is a very short drive to the Historic District, like I'm talking less than 2 miles. My husband and I stayed here before going on the Carnival Cruise out of Charleston. The hotel allowed us to leave our car in their lot free of charge for the entire time of our cruise. This saved us quite a bit of money, as the parking at the port was $15 per day. We honestly would have preferred to stay at this hotel for our entire vacation instead of going on the cruise! I am a travel agent and I recommend this property quite often to customers. Another agent in my office also stayed here this summer and had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Request River view room when making your booking. The other rooms face a busy highway and it is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steph452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! Nothing thrills me more than a happy guest who can't wait to come back! As you mentioned we are happy to offer free parking for our guests embarking on one of the Carnival Cruise ships that depart from our beautiful city. As long as you spend atleast one night with us your car is welcome to stay with us at no charge while you are out cruising.

We are very proud of our associates! They all love what they do and that is the key to our success of providing outstanding customer service.

Thank you again for your glowing review! Come back and see us again soon.

P.S. This guest provided a very good Room Tip! We gladly upgrade our guests to waterview rooms at no additional charge upon availability. If a view of the water is a "must", be sure to book that room type. Booking a standard room and requesting a waterview does not guarantee one. Thanks for that great tip!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me and my family decided to stay there for a couple of days. It was construction going on so it was really noisy. We had horrible service at restaurant, eggs were cold, servers were rude. My husband had a problem with people at the front desk. Molly looked like she didn't want us there.
Otherwise its a nice place with beautiful view. But it is not enough to say it was great experience. I will never stay there again. Wold not recommended that!!!

Room Tip: Choose for another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. You are correct that there is construction going on at the property next door to us. Luckily, the pile-driving is complete and the current construction noise is minimal. I apologize that you were also unhappy with our breakfast. It was surprising to hear as we usually get great reviews about the food we provide on the buffet. We have made some employee changes over the past two weeks and our new servers are much more experienced than the previous ones. We have gotten rave reviews so far!

I was truly shocked to read that you felt I didn't want you here. Shocked because I never feel that way about any of our guests. If I came across that way it was unintentional and I am truly sorry.

Every day I go out of my way to ensure that every guest feels welcome and knows they are appreciated. Our business is all about our guests! My goal is that every guest returns home feeling completely satisfied with his or her stay and has a desire to stay with us again. I urge future guests to voice concerns druing their stay so that we can have the opportunity to address them immediately! I guarantee we will do everything possible to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The arrival/lobby area was hard to ascertain as you drove up. It wasn't immediately apparent that you needed to go upstairs to check in, and no one was there to indicate that.

The beds were so comfortable with all the pillows. The TV options were good. The room was clean and comfortable. Some of the lighting didn't work, and there wasn't a good way to turn on the lights as you entered the room. Loved having the refrigerator that you could put things in - I hate having those stocked refrigerators that charge you every time you bump it, so we were grateful for the plain 'fridge!

Our bathroom was bare bones - not a lot of spa-like luxury for the money spent. And the toilet paper dispenser kept coming out of the wall completely. Just one of those things...but the Paul Mitchell amenities were nice.

The balcony didn't have the best view, but it was nice, and we enjoyed being out there, or having the door open. It was odd there was no screen door though.

The elevators were a bit slow, but not horrible.

Parking was easy - right under the hotel, or right outside it. Never difficult to get a spot.

The shuttle to downtown Charleston was FANTASTIC! Inexpensive service that let you travel every half hour to downtown for shopping/food/touring. Very nice service. Less expensive than paying for parking downtown.

The breakfast buffet was good, if not a bit pricey. Lots of good selections though.

The pool looked great - wish I had the time to enjoy it!

Great location - so nice to be near a path to go running or walking. Loved the view of the marina.

Room Tip: I would request a marina/river view. We had a marsh view, and it also overlooked an expressway and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgesslake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCharlestonMgr, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regardng your recent visit to the Marriott Courtyard Waterfront. I am glad that the hotel met your expectations. Our beautiful location, combined with all the amenties and attractions of Charleston, make this hotel a perfect choice for a great visit.

Your comments are appreciated, and we hope you will choose the Courtyard Waterfront on your next Charleston visit.

Regards,
Molly Prochazka
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#38 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Property: Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing