We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2010

My husband and I decided to visit Charleston for a weekend getaway. We choose the Francis Marion for the historic charm and location. When we pulled up the front door the bellman greeted us promptly and escorted us to the front desk. We were then warmly greeted by the front desk staff and offered a map of Charleston with some suggestions on where to go. Our reservation were for two beds, however, after informing the front desk we were there for a romantic weekend ,the front desk upgraded us to a king with a beautiful view of the harbor. Overall we had a great weekend at the Francis Marion. We will definitely be back when we visit Charleston.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterfli26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,695 - 2,701 of 2,998 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2010

The Francis Marion offers old world charm and a great location for many restaurants and attractions but we felt it overpriced at about $300/night. Yes, we liked staying there for two nights but were constantly reminded by facility conditions and service that we deserved better for the price. For example, the bathtub glazing was delaminated and dirty making it unsuitable, the large walk in closet had no light so we could not see well enough to sort through hanging clothes, service staff with a mop and bucket of odiforous wash water joined us in the elevator instead of waiting for one that was unoccupied, the concierge was occasionally missing during core hours, food service trays were left in the hall way for most ofthe day for more than 20 minutes...there is more but I think you get the picture. We travel over 80 night each year and are not complainers. We've stayed at the Francis Marion before and beleive our expectations were reasonable. If our experience is an indicator, do not pay more than $150 for a double room until the facilty and service gets upgraded. Some may decide that the old world charm of a landmark propety overrides our concerns - we do not. There are alternatives. Charleston is a treasure and exemplar of hospitality and grace and the Francis Marion is uniquely positoned to demonstrate that to visitors. It did nto work for us - we felt a bit taken advantage of. BTW - we did provide feedback to hotel staff and received some expression of concern which made us feel better but of course, that did not change the expereince.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeraRodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

My wife and I had spent the weekend in Myrtle Beach and spent the night in Charleston on our way back to Georgia. We stayed at the Francis Marion. For an older hotel, its a very nice hotel and has a beautiful lobby. Our room was a smaller one, but for one night it wasn't that bad. Its location was great too, since we spent a day walking around historic parts of town. The parking garage was somewhat annoying having to walk up the street to get to the separate garage, but you're able to pull up to the front of the hotel to load and unload. We ate breakfast in the restaurant (The Swamp Fox) which was also quite good. If you're planning on staying for several nights, I would recommend getting a larger room. I was okay paying the price I did for one night, but probably wouldn't stay longer than one night for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

There are so many hotels and B&B's in Charleston, this unfortunately is not the best. The location is fantastic, right on King Street (the main shopping street) though. You can walk everywhere downtown instead of worrying about finding public parking. Note however that you will still be charged $17/day for hotel parking. For the amount of money we paid I thought the hotel would be amazing; I was disappointed. Their website makes it look beautiful and it says they just finished a $12 million restoration. I don't know where the money went but it didn't go to our room. There wasn't a mini fridge in the room or anything extra special. It was still a good size room, king bed and couch sitting area, and the bed was very comfortable. The doormen were nice and the valet got our car quickly, the bar was nice and we had good service all around. I've had a much better experience with staying at the Courtyard by Marriott in Mount Pleasant (10 minute drive). I'll be sure to check out other hotels next time...and to look on tripadvisor before making any reservations. Wish I had read these first.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_101_411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

The Vice Presidential Suite was great for our family because it was a one bedroom suite. However, it was small, overpriced, and had very cheap finishes (laminated floors, old fixtures and outdated appliances in the kitchen). The hotel boast that it was recently updated but they must have missed this room. The kitchen didn't even have a complete set if flatware. The staff were generally rude and unconcerned about the simplest request (ie linens for the sofa bed).

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

For a hotel that bills itself as a historical gem in Charleston, I was very disappointed.
Yes - it is an old building but for its high price I expected better service, better value and frankly, a nicer hotel. Pealing paint, old bathroom fixtures and it just seems hollow.
You can do better in Charleston.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Averyfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Having booked this hotel on the internet, I was misled by photographs that must be ten years old. When we arrived I could see that the lobby was the same one in the pictures, but everything that looks clean and shiny online is faded, old and dirty in real life. Our room had stains on the ceiling, the carpet was old and worn and the textiles in the room were not luxurious. The bathroom had the bare minimum of amenities. The crowning disappointment was the Sunday brunch. The dining room is on the same level as an IHop. There were no tablecloths. For $350 per night I did not expect to be breakfasting at the Waffle House. Really disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnie1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $148 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing