We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,325)
Filter reviews
3,325 results
Traveler rating
1,675
1,057
350
143
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,675
1,057
350
143
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swamp fox historic hotel king street older hotel within walking distance farmers market small bathroom beautiful lobby corner room bell staff downtown charleston southern charm perfect location bed was very comfortable parking garage fm conference
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 3,325 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Our hotel room was large with 2 Full size beds (we would have preferred even a Queen Size bed), a desk, small bar refrigerator, and table. Didn't have any drawers to place your clothes though and I missed that. There was a safe in a too small of a closet. However, the hotel was full to the "brim" and we were satisfied to have the large bedroom, and the room was very clean every day.

The service the entire 3 days was great. Our only complaint and why I can't give it a 4 or 5 is the very small and old bathroom. The hotel was refurbished in 2009, but because of the small size of the bathroom, it still can't compare with all the modern conveniences of a newer bathroom.that has a vanity, several towel bars, and mirror that wasn't up too high, and the towel rack was coming off of the wall, as well as the tub wouldn't empty well. So though we tried to keep in mind the elegance of the hotel as antique and historic, we would have appreciation more amenities for convenience.

This historic hotel has beautiful convention rooms , elegant drapes, as well as the service staff that you need for a large group who was always accommodating.

The food was terrific at every meal. We had a cocktail party, a Ladies Luncheon, Breakfast every day, a Buffet and a dinner banquet. Every meal had a variety of Southern creamed gravies that were delicious and enough for helpings if you wanted. The banquet evening they served a huge portion of Barbecue Pork with another delicious gravy and all the fixings that was scrumptious. So all in all, take away the bathroom and loss of room amenities, it was a beautiful historic hotel. The best thing is that it is located in the historic part of town and that too, was great with all the local places to visit. Very historic Charleston is a must to see, and the 2nd time we have visited there.

Room Tip: Check rooms for a larger bathrooms. Also Queen/King size bed.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MissPerfectDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

From the stellar service to the delicious food, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Francis Marion. As for the faults you've mentioned, we truly appreciate your feedback. As you said, we are a historic hotel, but we're always looking to improve. Guest suggestions help us do that while preserving the beauty and history of our building. If you're ever in the area again, we hope you'll choose to stay with us again -- we would love to welcome you back.

All the best,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

Great old, historic hotel. Convenient location. Plenty of things to see within walking distance and easy walk to free circulator busses at the Charleston visitor's center. “Harbor view” rooms do offer nice views. Be sure to see old, stately homes on the College of Charleston grounds which are right next door.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidvhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm delighted that you loved your stay! From our central location to our historic atmosphere, it's wonderful that everything was to your liking. If you're ever in Charleston again, we hope you'll pay us another visit.

All the best,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

My husband and I stayed here for a conference I was attending. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was dated if you are interested in this type of ambiance. There was no pool onsite. The hotel is in an excellent location and it is easy to walk anywhere in the historic district. Was disappointed Starbucks was still closed. Room would have had more space if they would put one queen bed instead of 2 doubles (which is really not what couples want). Overall quaint hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
1  Thank Sherri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Francis Marion, Sherri! We are pleased that our staff took great care of you and your husband and that you could enjoy our central location. If you're ever in need of a place to stay in Charleston again, we hope we'll get to see you back.

All the best,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Great hotel with the old world charm. It was clean & very pleasant staff. However the bathroom was very small not enough room to put your toiletries. The door to the room was getting stuck & wouldn't open. The Swamp Fox restaurant was superb. The server was very professional & pleasant. The food was excellent especially the shrimp & grits.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Thanks for the shiny stars, Julie! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at our historic hotel. It's always nice knowing our restaurant hit the spot as well -- you can't go wrong with our classic shrimp and grits! Next time you find yourself back in Charleston, we hope to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

This beautiful hotel presents everything you expect from an elegant older hotel. The lobby is gorgeous with beautiful chandeliers, helpful, great front desk staff and friendly concierge staff, who go the extra mile to assist in planning your stay. Our room was quite large and very nice. Small but updated bath. Really, really enjoyed our stay here!!!!! It was like stepping back in time, when hotels were "in" and there was no thought of staying in a motel!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JasperCharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

We're always happy to help you plan out your day when you're here! I'm thrilled to see you loved the room and everything we have to offer. Come back for another stay next time you're in the area!

All the best,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews