We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,357)
Filter reviews
3,357 results
Traveler rating
1,696
1,066
351
144
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,696
1,066
351
144
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swamp fox historic hotel king street an older hotel within walking distance farmers market small bathroom beautiful lobby corner room bell staff downtown charleston perfect location southern charm bed was very comfortable parking garage conference fm
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 3,357 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

We loved this hotel. We loved the history of this hotel. The location was great right on King street, so u can literaly walk everywhere. There are tons of great restaurants near by, and the shopping too for ladies! their breakfast was pretty good too! The check in process was little bit underwhelmed, as it took quite sometime standing there to get our room. But overall we love our stay here. We definately will come back and stay there again!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank GF18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

It's wonderful to hear you're such a fan of our place! We're happy the location and breakfast were just what you were looking for. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful hotel. We were celebrating a special event and everyone from the moment we approached the hotel were superb, kind, knowledgeable, made every effort to ensure our comfort and happiness. Our room was wonderful- great view, love the period features in the room from color, molding, large windows, and furnishings. Our location was wonderful once our car was parked, we walked everyone. Both directions on King Street are full of sights, sounds, history and great food, and the Saturday market in the park was right out of our door. We could not have improved on anything- even the weather corporated!

Room tip: Great view, our room was very quiet and comfortable
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Q1910OCkarenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2018

It's great to know how much you enjoyed the service, accommodations, and location! We're here to make sure you have a wonderful stay, and we're thrilled that we could help you celebrate the special occasion. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Hotel was beautiful and in the middle of the action! Loved the Swamp Fox restaurant on site. And a lovely park across the street and Sbux in lobby!
The location was perfect for walking everywhere as we didn’t have a car

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Karen, it's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the location so much! You can always count on us for a wonderful Charleston stay. Thank you for the feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

It was the very best of Southern Hospitality! The weather co-operated as well, the room was beautiful, we couldn't have asked for anything more. The Swamp Fox looked after us as well for eating & then in the bar area as well. The ladies & gentleman made us feel very welcome.

Room tip: The bathroom was a bit small, but being an older hotel it was acceptable.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elfidavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

You can always count on us for warm hospitality! Thank you for the feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

It is hard to find a great hotel when travelling from thousands of miles away and reading reviews of places which often depends as much upon each travellers mood and demeanor when they experience places but the Francis Marion Hotel was one that lived up to its reports and more.

The large building stands out on King Street overlooking an open park and once you enter, the very large lobby and reception area offers comfort and seating.

We were in a high room that faced onto King Street and gave us a great view over the city down to the river.

The room had a touch of old style class and was very comfortable and the location of the hotel made it ideal for us to explore Charleston.

Room tip: The higher rooms get less traffic noise and facing onto King Street, we got to see the sun rise over the river.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Barrie, thank you for the excellent feedback! We're thrilled you enjoyed the location, views, and classic feel of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews