We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,357)
Filter reviews
3,358 results
Traveler rating
1,696
1,067
351
144
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,696
1,067
351
144
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swamp fox historic hotel king street an older hotel within walking distance farmers market small bathroom beautiful lobby corner room bell staff downtown charleston perfect location southern charm bed was very comfortable parking garage conference fm
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 3,358 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Hotel was beautiful and in the middle of the action! Loved the Swamp Fox restaurant on site. And a lovely park across the street and Sbux in lobby!
The location was perfect for walking everywhere as we didn’t have a car

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Karen, it's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the location so much! You can always count on us for a wonderful Charleston stay. Thank you for the feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

It was the very best of Southern Hospitality! The weather co-operated as well, the room was beautiful, we couldn't have asked for anything more. The Swamp Fox looked after us as well for eating & then in the bar area as well. The ladies & gentleman made us feel very welcome.

Room tip: The bathroom was a bit small, but being an older hotel it was acceptable.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elfidavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

You can always count on us for warm hospitality! Thank you for the feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

It is hard to find a great hotel when travelling from thousands of miles away and reading reviews of places which often depends as much upon each travellers mood and demeanor when they experience places but the Francis Marion Hotel was one that lived up to its reports and more.

The large building stands out on King Street overlooking an open park and once you enter, the very large lobby and reception area offers comfort and seating.

We were in a high room that faced onto King Street and gave us a great view over the city down to the river.

The room had a touch of old style class and was very comfortable and the location of the hotel made it ideal for us to explore Charleston.

Room tip: The higher rooms get less traffic noise and facing onto King Street, we got to see the sun rise over the river.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Barrie, thank you for the excellent feedback! We're thrilled you enjoyed the location, views, and classic feel of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful place! Loved the history of the building! Very clean rooms and the beds were very comfortable. I usually dislike hotels but this was a very clean place and we were so comfortable. Would definitely stay again. Staff was great. We walked everywhere.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank tater4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

We're delighted you enjoyed the hotel's historic charm! You can always count on us for clean and comfy accommodations. Thanks for the feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We stayed at Francis Marion over Independence Day week. We had to change the room after the first night because of the outdoor (mechanical equipment) noise, the indentation in the mattress and the fact that there is no ventilation in the bathroom. The room was kind of dilapidated. The reception has great people and they changed the room immediately. We were initially on the 6th floor, and then moved us to the 10th floor. We're from NYC, so we're used with the noise, but their equipment was too much even for us.
It is an old hotel that has not been updated and needs a lot of maintenance and cleaning of the common areas.
Bathrooms do not have ventilation, so you must open the door to the room. Windows are all painted locked, so no fresh air.
AC is fine, but was leaking water in both rooms.
10th floor mattress was much better. The one on the 6th floor looked like a whale slept in the bed for 6 month. The room's housekeeping is impeccable. Besides cleanliness, we don't usually care about the room. Unfortunately the 6th floor one was terrible. Try to get a room on the 10th floor or above and an even number room. Even number are on the other side of the HVAC equipment.
The bell boys are great, very friendly and helpful. Same should be said for the reception. As far as maintenance and management, that is another story. I run high end condos in NYC, so I am really an expert at running buildings.
Nobody cleaned the elevator for 5 days. The brass in the elevator was gross. Bathroom in the lower level are gross. The carpets have not been cleaned in month. The only place the management decided to have a meeting was on top of the lobby piano. WTF?, there is a sign to not use it. And of course, they always give you the excuse that the hotel is old and a landmark. Biggest bull..., you will hear. Plus their office ( not talking about bell boys or reception) is huge. No wonder their overhead is decimating all income. So all around, a dilapidated poor maintenance hotel, with a great housekeeping, bellboys and reception. Any good NYC resident manager will need 2 weeks to change the place and make it great.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RDP330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

We appreciate your feedback, though we wish you'd been a bit more impressed with your room. We work hard to provide clean and comfortable accommodations, but it sounds like there are some areas that could use a little more attention and updating. You can trust that we'll look into the issues you mentioned, as we always want to make sure you have a wonderful experience. We're happy to hear that the housekeeping and reception took good care of you -- you can always count on our team for friendly and attentive service. Again, thanks for letting us know about your visit, because this helps us to be the best we can be.

Take care,
Stephen Parker, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews