We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Francis Marion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$220
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
$199
$189
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,183)
Filter reviews
3,183 results
Traveler rating
1,593
1,019
336
140
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,593
1,019
336
140
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswamp foxhistoric hotelking streetan older hotelwithin walking distancefarmers marketsmall bathroomchocolate covered strawberriesbeautiful lobbycorner roombell staffdowntown charlestonsouthern charmperfect locationbed was very comfortableparking garagefree trolley
Filter
Updating list...
3,041 - 3,046 of 3,183 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2006

I made advanced reservation for a deluxe room with a city view. I got a tiny room with a view of the parking deck. The bath was covered with mold and mildew. There were roaches in the room. The staff was rude and unhelpful. The parking miserable. I would never stay at this dump again.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank land traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2006

For a historic hotel, the Francis Marion is an excellent choice. Positive points include clean rooms, comfy beds, first rate maid service, attentive hotel staff, excellent quality & taste of food, wireless Internet in rooms, location is within walking distance of shopping & restaurants.

Negatives are the lack of mini-fridge or minibar, small TV - 19", teeny bathroom, no vanity (just a small glass shelf) and an archaic toilet that didn't flush properly. With a few cosmetic and fixture updates, this hotel could be a 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dezertprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

After reading some pretty negative reviews of the Francis Marion, I had my doubts about staying there, but I was pleasantly surprised. The only complaint I have is the small bathroom, but that's what is to be expected in historic hotels. You can request a room with 2 bathrooms as they do have those as we found out. Our requests for service were handled promptly. The hotel food was very good. The location is great.
I would gladly stay there again.

A recent traveler to Charleston

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lala0772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Burlington, Vermont
11
Reviewed April 17, 2006

Our family of three had a terrific three day stay at the Francis Marion, an elegant older hotel with a beautiful lobby and very comfortable rooms. We had a lovely suite with a beautiful view of the city. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location. You can walk to everthing.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh, NC
12
Reviewed April 16, 2006

Despite the mixed reviews, my husband and I decided to give this hotel a visit. We were suprised at how nice it was. The lobby is beautiful. The hotel is in the heart of shopping, dining, etc. There is a club across the street, but it didn't interfere with us. We parked our car and never got it again until we left. We were able to walk just about everywhere we wanted to go. The room was very cozy. We did upgrade to a king deluxe, and had plenty of room.

The bathroom....very small, which we knew going in. The only complaint I have with the bathroom is the low water pressure in the toilet. It wasn't strong enough to take everything down.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this type of room to someone else.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews