We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

The hotel was nice inside, and our room was comfortable. The concierge was helpful. What I didn't like was the fact that we were misled concerning the parking. The man at the desk told my husband that parking was $15 and we could go in and out as many times as we wanted. The key words he forgot to mention were per day. So, needless to say we were shocked to find a charge for $52 for parking when we checked out. Not to mention all the money we spent tipping the valet. I spoke to the woman who checked us out, and she would not budge on it, and was even a little cold about it. So, be aware!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrieshira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,376
    921
    311
    131
    85
See reviews for
547
957
93
657
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

My mom and I recently spent a short weekend in Charleston and spent one night at the Francis Marion. I was torn on what to expect due to the postings on TripAdvisor; I booked thru Priceline and got a good weekend fare. The hotel overall is well appointed and the staff was very friendly. The bell boys opened the doors for us each and every time we went thru the entrance and the front desk was helpful in recommending places to eat. The room itself was nice, we had 2 queen beds; the beds were a little soft, since i have a bad back i noticed this, but still slept well. It sits on the street so we did hear some traffic noise when sirens when past, but otherwise pretty quiet hotel. Yes, the bathroom was smaller than your traditional hotel room bath but it wasn't unbearable. Ours had a combo shower/tub where you could put your toiletries in the corners. The sink had a shelf above it to put your toothpaste, brush, etc. The toilet was unusual, i assume because the hotel is so old, but it was funtional for our needs. We didn't feel cramped in the room at all, but then again we were in Charleston to be out and about and didn't spend much time there. The hotel was close enough to town to walk, but definitely was about 8-10 blocks to get to Market St. We walked down King past all of the shops on the way to occupy our time. It would have been nice to stay closer in, but for the price, i would rather walk a little further. Parking was $12 in a nearby garage for self-park; seems typical that hotels in Charleston don't include parking. We would return here for another weekend in charming Charleston if the price was right!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We recently stayed at the Francis Marion Hotel for a business meeting. The lobby is lovely, and the front desk staff very helpful. We had reserved a room with a king bed. When we got to our room, it was very small with a queen size bed. There was no view from either of the two windows. The air conditioner was very loud.
The bathroom was the smallest I have ever been in. The toilet is flush against the wall and you actually touch the sink while using the toilet. There was no tub in the room, just a VERY SMALL shower. Water pressure is inconsistent. There is no room to place any toiletries, so any attempt to apply make-up or use curling iron has to be done in the bedroom.
Housekeeping is spotty at best. The sheets were not changed at any point during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlt0457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

An older, grand hotel in Charleston -- on the very edge of the shopping district. My room was lovely (if the air conditioning was a bit loud!) and clean; the staff was very helpful.

Visiting again, I would most likely stay more in the heart of the historic district. But for shopping, restaurants, etc -- this was a great location. The hotel is only a block away from the shuttle service which runs one through the historic and shopping districts.

DO try the Swamp Fox restaurant. It is deliciious!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

My spouse and I stayed here for a business meeting in April, '09. When we made the reservation, I asked what the difference was between the room rates offered (still way over what most people pay, it seems!). I was told that the traditional room was just "slightly smaller". Perhaps my perception is different than others, but the room was TINY. The bathroom was old and so small that the industrial plumbing was to the side of the toilet (making for an uncomfortable right leg upon nature's calling), and your head practically touched the sink. The bathroom couldn't have been bigger than 6 X 6. Awful! We complained about the room, but were told that they were "sold out" and come back tomorrow. We did, and they offered us the 'only" other room available...it was THE EXACT SAME room, just five floors higher! Instead of looking across at the rooftops, we then looked down on them and little else. What good was that???? Also, the higher floor brought absolutely, positively non-existent shower pressure. After 15 minutes of trying to get the shampoo out of my hair, I swore that I'd tell EVERYONE I could about how horrible this hotel is. We didn't bother complaining to the front desk again. They obviously didn't "get it" the first time! The breakfasts at the Swamp Fox restaurant were fine; once, we did have to ask for the missing omelette chef to re-appear. The wifi didn't work over the weekend at all, although I had to work over the weekend! The lobby is very nice. The concierge was efficient and friendly. The location is on the fringe; definitely not the center of the action. Parking is a nightmare; self-parking is cash only. The garage is not linked to the hotel, therefore one of us waited with the bags while the other went to get the car upon the welcomed check-out. I'd avoid this place and stick with more highly rated Charleston hotels.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slainte2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed at the Francis Marion in downtown Charleston on 4-20-4-23 we upgraded to a suite. Which since the hotel is older the rooms could be small. We had two rooms and lots of space,the beds were wonderful like being home. Bathroom small but, wasn't a problem at all. Great shower,and great service. The hotel staff was the best! Located in great area on corner of King and Calhoun. Wonderful shops along King St. and Great resturants in the area. I highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiney21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

This is a perfectly nice hotel. While not at the super-luxury level it was clean and convenient. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was fine and the concierge helpful. Located at the Northern end of the Historic District it was easy to walk everywhere. It is pretty close to the Visitors' Center, too and adjacent to the College of Charlston campus. There is a nice restaurant (Swamp Fox) and a little bar in the hotel.

As others noted, the bathroom was very small, but it had been updated. The smallness was not a problem for us as there were only two of us. If you had more than two people in a room it could be a problem.

The room itself was a good size and had a huge walk-in closet, but strangely with no light in it. We did not have a good view, but this may have been why it was so quiet in our room. We looked over rooftops rather than a street.

They have free WIFI in the rooms and two free internet-connected computers in the lobby.

Someone else in this forum had mentioned a smell, like pee in the hotel. We did not find this at all. But, we were hit with a strange odor every time we entered the lobby from the Calhoun St. side. It did not smell like urine at all, but it was odd and not attractive, but is seemed to be only at the entrance and not in the rest of the lobby. Not horrible, but not a good first impression.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,737 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,095 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing