We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel made our trip to Charleston the Best ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
west palm beach
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This Hotel made our trip to Charleston the Best ever.”
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed at the Francis Marion in downtown Charleston on 4-20-4-23 we upgraded to a suite. Which since the hotel is older the rooms could be small. We had two rooms and lots of space,the beds were wonderful like being home. Bathroom small but, wasn't a problem at all. Great shower,and great service. The hotel staff was the best! Located in great area on corner of King and Calhoun. Wonderful shops along King St. and Great resturants in the area. I highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiney21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    936
    316
    133
    87
See reviews for
562
975
94
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

This is a perfectly nice hotel. While not at the super-luxury level it was clean and convenient. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was fine and the concierge helpful. Located at the Northern end of the Historic District it was easy to walk everywhere. It is pretty close to the Visitors' Center, too and adjacent to the College of Charlston campus. There is a nice restaurant (Swamp Fox) and a little bar in the hotel.

As others noted, the bathroom was very small, but it had been updated. The smallness was not a problem for us as there were only two of us. If you had more than two people in a room it could be a problem.

The room itself was a good size and had a huge walk-in closet, but strangely with no light in it. We did not have a good view, but this may have been why it was so quiet in our room. We looked over rooftops rather than a street.

They have free WIFI in the rooms and two free internet-connected computers in the lobby.

Someone else in this forum had mentioned a smell, like pee in the hotel. We did not find this at all. But, we were hit with a strange odor every time we entered the lobby from the Calhoun St. side. It did not smell like urine at all, but it was odd and not attractive, but is seemed to be only at the entrance and not in the rest of the lobby. Not horrible, but not a good first impression.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

I was excited to stay in this hotel based on the photos on its website; it's a large tower located at the edge of the action in Charleston. However, I have to say the place smelled pretty bad during our entire stay. Maybe it's the cleaning products they use, but we were constantly holding our noses! Plus, our bathroom never really got "cleaned" during our stay. We were constantly finding hairs and things like that.

The rooms are pleasant, with plasma TVs, classic decor and plenty of room. Wifi is free in the rooms, but is too slow to stream video. The rooms at the back of the hotel overlook a parking lot, so if you have to stay here ask for a high floor with a south-facing view. Having a Starbucks off the lobby was a god-send. The fitness center is a stuffy room with a couple treadmills and no weights.

Service was so-so; it seemed very amateurish, as if the entire place was run by students who were doing it as a part-time job.

We had a pretty good rate for a weekend in Charleston ($159), but I wouldn't pay more than that for a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattypw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Every time we go to Charleston, we stay at the Francis Marion Hotel. We also have a clean and lovely room. We usely go in April to visit the area. We stay at the Francis Marion Hotel because of it's location and hospitality. Never any problems. In April, across the street at the park the Farmer's Market is on Saturday. Fanastic market fresh vegetables and fruit. Also arts and ford and plants. Yes we, would recommend this great hotel. The Swamp Fox has great food also.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2009

We bid on Priceline and won the Francis Marion ($80 +taxes/nt). We emailed the hotel directly and asked for a non-smoking room with two beds.

We were given room 414, a big, lovely room set back in an alcove (and was very quiet). We had two comfy double beds, marble-top sideboard with TV, coffee, hair dryer in bathroom, big fluffy towels, and wonderful citresse soap and shampoo. We had read that the rooms here were small but our room was large and comfortable.

There were two fast (free) computers in the lobby for guest use and the concierge was friendly and happy to give info and make reservations.

We loved staying here and felt we really got a bargain with Priceline.

  • Liked — Comfy beds
  • Disliked — Poor lighting in the bedroom area
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

What a fabulous hotel! This is an old historic building which is an amazing hotel! We loved it so much! The restaurant downstairs - The Swamp Fox - was a delightful escape from the corporate restaurants! LOVE THIS HOTEL!! We are already making plans to go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean6942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We got a great rate on the Francis Marion for a quick MLK Weekend getaway. Overall, the hotel is a nice, historic property, and the staff is very accommodating and attentive. We arrived early for check-in, so the front desk offered to keep our bags and call us when the room was ready. They called my cell phone at the appointed time and we walked back to check in. We had requested a room away from the elevators with a king bed (and you don't always get your requested type when you book through a discount website). We first found ourselves in a room right next to the elevator, and the room was also one of their few "accessible" rooms, so there was no tub in the bathroom. I called down to the desk to request a move to a room with a tub (it was unexpectedly cold in Charleston over this weekend, and I wanted a hot bath), and they immediately sent someone up to give us new keys. The bed was comfortable and the room fairly spacious, as well as the common areas being clean and elelgant. I would agree with some other reviewers that there are minor things that tend to draw my attention and affect my overall opinion negatively (mildew in the bathroom), and it was very hard to regulate the temperature in our room as well as the water temp and pressure in the shower.

This place is perfectly situated for exploring historic Charleston on foot. Most of King Street north of this property is abandoned and boarded up...but going south is easy and pleasant. Note that it is fairly impossible to get a taxi in Charleston. We did not rent a car because we planned to walk a lot and cab it when not walking, and the door staff at the Francis Marion did their best to help by calling cabs in advance, but we still waited a very long time and way overpaid for each and every taxi ride we took while there.

It was nice to have a Starbucks downstairs, and we had drinks and dessert at the Swamp Fox in the lobby one night and enjoyed it.

  • Liked — location and value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincitravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,765 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,148 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing