We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Charleston Historic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Charleston Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Lovely historic hotel with a superb staff and lovely rooms. The rooms were beautiful with wonderful comfortable beds and bedding. We had a terrific view of the park and even the water from our room. The bathroom was tiny but well appointed and plenty of room outside the actual bathroom to apply makeup if that is a concern. We did have a problem with our air conditioning in our room when we first got there but the staff was very accommodating and immediately helped us change rooms. Recommendations for dinner were very helpful. They did have a temporary complimentary continental breakfast in the lobby due the restaurant being closed. This was a nice touch and beautifully displayed though the baked goods were a bit stale. Good location though a fair walk to the South of Broad attractions. Right next to the College of Charleston so would be perfect for families on college tours. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Best views are from the higher floors. We were on the 8th floor and it was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Sorry to hear about the A/C issue in your room, Mary! I'm glad we could get it all fixed up for you, and I hope it didn't interfere with your stay too much. I'll be sure to pass the rest of your kind words along to the staff -- we're so happy you were pleased with the room and the view. Can't wait to have you back!

All the best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    784
    265
    117
    74
See reviews for
435
797
83
570
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Francis Marion Hotel. It was the perfect location. We didn't have to take the free bus anywhere because we could walk to all of the places we wished to visit. Tons of restaurants and shops are very close, given its King Street location. We knew to expect the bathroom to be small. And it was. :) The staff was friendly. The lobby is beautiful. Our room was comfortable and charming. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
There's nothing quite like being able to walk everywhere you need to go! So great to hear that the location was everything you'd hoped for and more, Rebecca -- and we hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again soon!

All the best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Had a ball in Charleston! Did not have to drive anywhere because everything was in walking distance. On top of the wonderful experience of Charleston, The Francis Marion Hotel made my stay even better! Thanks FMH!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
It's great to hear that your trip to Charleston was a blast, Tracey! Hope you got the chance to experience everything you'd hoped for. Can't wait to host you the next time you're in town!

Best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed for one night and were generally happy with the hotel. The room size was good but the bathroom very small. This did not bother us much as we were staying for one night only but I would imagine it being annoying on longer stays. The hotel is a bit dated but in a way it added to its charm. Good location.

One negative thing that has stayed in my mind is the slow lifts. Perhaps I should have been more chilled out on my holiday, but nevertheless it was annoying.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjuliini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your room and the central location! I'm sorry if the slow elevators and small bathroom caused you any inconvenience, though. Since our hotel was built in 1924, we're working with limited space and resources, but your feedback will help us improve even more! Hope we get the opportunity to host you again soon.

Take care,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This property went above and beyond to make our stay special. The sweet gal at the front desk (I think her name was Marita) made excellent recommendations for getting around town, restaurants, and things to do! We had even mentioned to her that we spent one night of our honeymoon in Charleston and didn't really get to see anything since I was coming down with the flu. She went so far as to send a card and chocolate covered strawberries to our room, wishing us a better stay this time. The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous. We found everything to be very clean and well kept. The location couldn't be better, within walking distance to everything in downtown. After our experience at the Francis Marion, I can't imagine staying anywhere else when in Charleston.

Room Tip: Corner room with view was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valpope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
I'm so glad you had another chance to experience Charleston and that we could make your stay special, from the room to the recommendations! Can't wait to host you again the next time you're in town.

Take care,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt airy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Great old style hotel. Rooms smaller than normal but was just fine for two. I sent an email to inform them this was for our 20th anniversary and would like a room with a view. Valerie Ross went above and beyond. We were put on the 8th floor overlooking the park with the USS Yorktown in the distance. When we entered the room there was a tray with two bottles of water and 4 chocolate covered strawberries on it along with a card congratulating us. The restaurant downstairs was wonderful. If I had to complain about anything it would be there was a sewage smell around the ice machine in the halls. The smell didn't make it to our room. Also you need to understand with everything in Charleston it's crammed together and parking is hard to find. They have a garage (for $16 a day) but it's about two buildings down. So be prepared to walk unless you use valet parking.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Congratulations again on your 20th anniversary -- we feel so honored that you chose to spend it with us! Glad you loved your view and also got a chance to check out the Swamp Fox downstairs. On another note, I'm sorry to hear about the smell near the ice machine. That's not the norm for us, and I'll definitely be looking into what happened -- I'm happy that it didn't impact your enjoyment of your room. I hope to welcome you back to Charleston soon!

Take care,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here in mid-August. Easy to find and extremely convenient location for shopping, dining, and attractions. Friendly, helpful staff. The only things I would like to see are a refrigerator in the room and an additional chair besides the desk chair. While the room is small, there is room for one. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good and prices were reasonable.

Room Tip: If a good view is important to you, you can upgrade the room to have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the location and had a chance to have breakfast with us! Hope you were able to see everything on your list for Charleston. We're always making improvements to the hotel, so we'll definitely keep your feedback about the rooms in mind. Can't wait to host you the next time you're in town!

All the best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,454 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,725 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing