We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality at its finest with a reasonable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We booked this for our 4th anniversary. This was our first time in Charleston, we LOVE IT. This hotel blew our expectations out of the water! It is the perfect location and everyone was so so so nice and hospitable! When we checked in they surprised us by upgrading our room at no charge to the king deluxe corner room since it was our anniversary! Then after we checked in a staff member delivered an anniversary card from the staff at the hotel with chocolate covered strawberries and bottled water! We were so surprised and pleased! They turndown your bed every night with chocolates and fresh bottles of water at no charge! I've never stayed at a hotel that has bottled water that is FREE! It's the little things like that that make you return guests. Our last night is tonight and we are sad to go! :( thank you so much Francis Marion hotel! We will be returning and telling all our friends to stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyssers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Knowing your stay with us exceeded all your expectation makes our day, Lyssers! We pride ourselves on our warm, welcoming, and accommodating service, so I'm delighted to hear our staff did everything in their power to make your stay all the more special. Anniversaries only come around once a year, after all. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review — your recommendations mean more than you know. Looking forward to your next visit!

Until then,

Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,880 - 1,886 of 2,998 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We spent the week of Christmas at the Francis Marion and it was worth every penny. The location and ease of getting to everywhere you want to be is almost out the door and turn right. A resturant or shop to keep you intertained for days. On Christmas day, the buffet very good, with a roast beef and ham carving station and maple honey salmon.
This is my go to in Charleston.
Only reason, not a 5, rooms are small, but how much time do you spend in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerryt3161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

It's wonderful to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us, Jerry. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. Of course, you should expect nothing less than a delicious dinner on Christmas day, and I'm glad our buffet offered just that. Looking forward to your next stay in Charleston!

All the best,

Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were very pleased to stay at this hotel during our visit to Charleston. The hotel was comfortable and elegant. The staff was very attentive, particularly those who took our bags and parked our car. Everyone was friendly and professional.

Room Tip: We faced the street on a low floor, but did not experience problems with noise. There are rooms tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellertoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

This is great to hear! Thanks for thinking of us when you were planning your trip to Charleston. I'll make sure our staff sees your compliments!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Funny that this hotel was reviewed as the place to stay in Charleston because its not. The location is ok but not great and the service was very good but could not make up for the tired old rooms with the smallest bathrooms in the world. Only one person at a time would fit in there. The tub had been poorly painted with some kind of paint that was chipping off around the drain. The fixtures looked like they had been put in and not upgraded since the 1960's . The decor in the room was old but not charming old just tired old. The carpet was rumpled and yes you guessed it.. old. The rooms electric system seemed original with not enough outlets to service everything so multiple extension cords were used with at least four running from one outlet under the desk. I can imagine this was once a grand hotel back in the day but has not been upgraded enough to deserve the title grand any more. Run down and worn out is the best I can say. The service was very good with helpful staff at every turn but this could not overcome our disappointment. Charleston is a wonderful city and I wish we could have stayed a week But not at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you must choose a room overlooking the park be aware the windows have single pane glass so noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solazT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

While we are continually making improvements to our historic hotel, we believe maintaining the original fixtures and decor helps us preserve the past. Of course we also want our guests to have everything they need for a comfortable stay, and I'm disappointed that wasn't the case for you. Is there anything else we could have done to make your visit more enjoyable? I'm happy to address any other concerns you might have!

Regards,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel in the heart of Charleston, with very affordable rates. It is at walking distance from all the shops, museums, restaurants, etc. The hotel is wonderful, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is knowledgeable and very kind. Tori, one of the front desk assistants, was so helpful and kind. She made us feel right at home as soon as we arrived. She was all smiles, very genuine. Room service is extremely fast; we ordered in one of the nights that the kids were too tired and the pizza arrived in no time! And it was delicious, very good food. We also asked for a mini fridge and the staff sent it up so fast. A few minutes later they called to make sure it had arrived. Very attentive! And there is a Starbucks on the ground floor, very convenient. The hotel is across from the Marion Park which was completely decorated with light for the holiday season. My kids loved seeing the lights every night of our stay. I would recommend this hotel to anybody and we would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

What a lovely recommendation, Lorena! I'm so glad you and your family were able to take advantage of all Charleston has to offer during the holidays. I'll make sure Tori sees your compliments!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our check in and parking went well. We were shown to a nice room, bathroom was tiny but everything was neat and clean. Fabulous location to use as a base for walking all over Charleston. Certainly lots of character and the renovations have maximized what can be done working with an old structure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

It's great to hear you appreciate what we've done to carry the past into the present, Peter! Aside from the size of the bathroom, is there anything we could've done to earn a couple more stars in your book? We're always open to suggestions!

Thanks,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I love to stay in hotels that are unique, full of character, and history, without breaking the bank. Francis Marion was a wonderful hotel to stay in. The rooms updated and comfortable. Walk to shops, museums, restaurants, and the historic district. Parking available and convenient. Internet access fast. A great deal for the money! Definitely would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thanks, Sena! It sounds like the Francis Marion is right up your alley, and I'm so glad you chose to stay with us when you were in Charleston. Hope to have you back sometime soon!

Until then,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $148 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing