We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOLDEN OLDIE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“GOLDEN OLDIE”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

the Francis Marion Hotel is a stately, majestic hotel in the heart of Charleston. We checked in and were immediately impressed by the grand lobby and warm welcome. Our room was lovely and very spacious and the staff was helpful. The hotel is located across from beautiful Marion Park which was decorated with lights for the holiday season. A festive touch that made us smile. All major sights were within walking distance and we sure did a lot of walking. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Charleston.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bgershenof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
"Golden oldie" — what a wonderful compliment! Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay. I'm thrilled you were here to see Charleston all decked out for the holidays; it's not to be missed!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    897
    299
    128
    83
See reviews for
537
923
91
644
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooretown, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I love this hotel! As the co-owner of a women's tour company I am always looking for wonderful vacation spots. Broad Escapes tours for women often focuses on European destinations but after spending time at the Francis Marion hotel I know our clientele would love this hotel. It has the charm and character of a European hotel without the overseas flight! I love that it is not a "cookie cutter" chain hotel.
Location is superb in the very walkable historic Charleston. Lots of fantastic shops, restaurants and historic attractions.
I look forward to returning soon and will highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanP2832013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Wow! Your recommendation is music to my ears. We understand how important guest recommendations are, and we so appreciate someone as connected as you spreading the word about us!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent New Year's Eve 2013 at the Francis Marion. The location was great for shopping and Charleston's wonderful restaurants and activities. There was a free outdoor evening concert going on in the park across the street from the hotel which was festive and fun. A New Year's Day morning parade passed right in front of the hotel so the location was really just right. The rooms show some wear but beds are comfortable, good lighting, wi-fi access, bathroom works fine and at a good value. You don't have to book a two night minimum like some other hotels. We had a night cap in the bar which was comfortable and pleasant. It is not a luxury hotel but suits families and couples who are looking for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: You might want to book a lower floor during peak holiday times - elevators can be busy with a bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for ringing in the new year with us! I'm so glad you took the time to follow up with a review. Other reviewers will appreciate your attention to detail as much as I do!

Best wishes,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
235 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife went to a conference in Charleston. I went along for a chance to see the Hunley and Fort Sumter. This is an historic hotel that is very nice and comfortable. I got a good night's sleep. The hotel is near shopping and interesting places in Charleston. Although everyone I talked to liked the place a lot, we all joked at how slow the elevators were. You can grow a beard going from the first floor to the fourth. Nice place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calicoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for following up with us after your stay! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, but I'm sorry you were frustrated with our elevators. As you said, we are an historic hotel, so I hope you'll understand that age contributes to how quickly they move from one floor to the next!

Thanks again,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is so great! So historic! So well located! It is right in the heart of historic Charleston! We were close to shopping, restaurants and historical sites. Staff was so helpful. Parking was great! Rooms were clean and well decorated. Only one drawback, walls were thin, we heard a baby crying in the next room. Other then take we loved this hotel. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Chose a room with park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you, Robin! I'll make sure our staff sees your thoughtful recommendation. We can't wait to have you back next time you're in Charleston!

'Til then,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I booked a deluxe King room and was pleasantly surprised to have a beautiful large corner room with three windows, one overlooking Marion Square, and including a make-up table. The bathroom was tiny but as it was just me there it didn't matter. The bellmen and front desk staff were fantastic! I was especially impressed with concierge Constance, in her ability to get me short-notice reservations for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and provide me lots of resources. I had a massage at the on-site spa, Spa Adagio, and found it overpriced for a mediocre massage. I walked everywhere except to the plantation and the beach, making it a very active trip also.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 651MichelleJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
An active trip indeed! Thanks for spending the holidays with us, Michelle. I'll make sure Constance sees your recommendation!

All the best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our second stay at the Francis Marion. Our first was in a standard King room. As other reviewers have stated, the rooms are not large and some have tiny bathrooms. Our first stay we had his-and-her bathrooms in our king room. Small but servicable to be sure. This time I booked a king room again but when we checked in the receptionist informed us we had been upgraded...to a penthouse suite! Thanks guys, the suite was awesome! KItchen, living room, and large bedroom with a walk-in closet and bathroom. Both rooms had beds with softer mattresses than the chain hotels normally use which works for us. The restaurant did a good breakfast which can sometimes be hard to find in Charleston. Our bartender at the Swamp Fox was great and made us some delicious Irish Coffees when we returned late on a chilly evening. The parking garage is next door and you can either use the valet parking or park it yourself. The staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. Bottom line...I've paid a lot more money to stay in other historic hotels in Charleston that were not as nice. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goblin1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed the suite! Reading that we're your "new Charleston hotel" was music to my ears. Hope to welcome you back again soon!

'Til then,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,678 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing