We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“museum style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

One cannot help but admire the frozen-in-time look of this old hotel. Its location is great, if one wants to walk around downtown. It is great if one wants to imagine living in old-school aristocratic splendour.

On the other hand, modern comforts are not here. Instead, tricky & slow elevators, small & tightly-packed rooms (two double-beds in ours) and hallways, ancient fixtures one's afraid to touch, tricky parking, and an expensive restaurant... authentic it may be, but one in search of spacious comfort might look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

While I agree that our location can't be beat, I'm sorry you weren't more impressed with our building. In addition to customer service, preserving the look and feel of the past is our top priority. We're actually working on updates to our elevators as we speak, and we're continually working to improve our historic hotel. Thanks for following up!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,008 - 2,014 of 3,019 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is very centrally located within easy walking distance to Charleston's beautiful old town areas. Rooms are not very large but large enough for a short stay and have everything that's needed. Beds were comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby area is very large and inviting. Pricing is quite good for Charleston. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralf_Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks for your feedback! It's wonderful to hear you appreciate our convenient location and friendly service. I'm certain other reviewers will appreciate your recommendation as much as I do!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the Francis Marion Hotel. It not only is a beautiful old building in the heart of downtown Charleston, but the staff was very helpful. They recommended some great bars and restaurants to visit, which definitely enhanced our trip. I had forgotten to request a needed roll away mattress upon check in. Upon calling the mattress in later that evening, it was promptly delivered to our room! Beds were also comfortable, and the room was very cozy. I will make sure to stay at the Francis Marion next time I visit Charleston

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks for the excellent rating, Ken! It's great to hear you were so pleased with how accommodating our staff is. We like for everyone who stays with us to have an exceptional time, and I'm delighted that was the case for you!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I'm pretty picky about hotels, but I'm comfortable giving this hotel five stars. I stayed here five nights at the end of July in Room 400, which is a bedroom with a separate living area. I have to admit, every time I walked through the common areas of this hotel, I thought of the Titanic, I know that's weird, but the hotel has that same feeling of old-world luxury.

My room had a street view and was very quiet. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small, yet very nice. I didn't use the living area, but it was nicely appointed.

The service is top-notch. Doormen are polite and helpful. Front desk is ready to provide courteous service. Honestly, the only small flaw was the elevator, which was really slow, but it's an historic hotel, so that's part of the charm.

The hotel location is ideal to shopping and restaurants. Even the hotel restaurant is good.
Overall, an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Street view for the scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VFan2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

To read that someone who holds hotels to such high standards has no qualms about giving us five stars is both flattering and humbling — a remark our staff won't soon forget. The fact that you compared our rooms and decor to that of the Titanic is just the icing on the cake! I'm delighted to hear you were so impressed with every aspect of your stay, and I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're planning a trip to Charleston.

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed in this lovely, old and grand hotel for the first time in mid-July w/my daughter during her student orientation at the College. The staff was gracious and very accommodating at check-in. The bedding is fabulous, making for an excellent nights rest. The restrooms are quite tiny, but you have to realize this is a very old hotel and whatever it is lacking in amenities due to its age, the staff makes up for in southern hospitality. The Swamp Fox restaurant is a great place for a wonderful dinner and easy breakfast; the shrimp and grits are delicious. I will be returning again with my family in the Fall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hands down the best place to stay in Charleston? What a gracious compliment! Thank you so much for taking the time to recommend us. We love being able to host College of Charleston students and parents, and we're already looking forward to your next visit!

Until then,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lovely hotel in a fantastic location.To the left long street of bars and restaurants to the right long street of shops as I say perfect location.
Hotel itself and the rooms were traditional and clean with great air conditioning could have done with a bath as the only complaint I would have would be the shower was stuck in a corner of the actual shower cubicle and you couldn't get washed easily.
Apart from that Charleston is a brilliant place and this hotel is perfect location to explore the outer beach areas.After having an amazing previous week in newyork this was a pleasant contrast to the hustle and bustle (and extremely expensive for food and drink) to the laid back cheap and traditional real South Carolina experience.Would definitely return to Charleston and also stay in the Francis Marion without doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Great to hear from you all the way from the UK, Sharon! I'm delighted that our hotel provided a bit of relief from your otherwise busy trip. I appreciate your recommendation, and I hope to have you back next time you're in the US!

Cheers,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was here for a conference for 2 nights. Overall hotel staff are super friendly, the building has historic charm and beautiful meeting rooms. The guest room was a nice size, had a desk, vanity, couch, coffee table in addition to the king bed. My only compliant would be the humidity was controlled about everywhere else but the guest room. It was super muggy...otherwise everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckeye05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay! While I'm sorry to hear the humidity made your room uncomfortable, I appreciate you speaking up about it. I'll be sure to have our maintenance staff check those settings as soon as possible!

Best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,884 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,651 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $147 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing