We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got a wedding party rate and had a blast downtown! Great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We got a wedding party rate and had a blast downtown! Great value.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Jeff, the concierge, was amazing. He was brilliant at helping me get last minute flowers to my disabled sister-on-law in NY. He was kind, efficient, and thorough! Go Jeff!
The rooms are old vintage rooms. The hotel was built in 1924. Enjoy the history! The rooms were cleaned daily and the beds were uber comfortable. The front desk folks were nice and so were the bellhops. Jeff provided the best concierge service I have ever had. He was very personable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diningboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    936
    316
    133
    87
See reviews for
562
975
94
662
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel and we absolutely loved our room! We saw 4th of July fireworks from our room!
Charleston is such a beautiful city and we had a wonderful experience and loved the location of the hotel. We loved how the pedicabs were so accommodating as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested in staying in downtown Charleston, it's in walking distance to amazing shopping and fabulous restaurants (you won't go hungry in Charleston!). The historic hotel has been beautifully renovated and the rooms and bathrooms are clean and appealing.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful - they even assisted with a surprise bottle of champagne from The Swamp Fox (a lovely place to grab a bite or drink in the evening!) waiting in our room upon our arrival. I can absolutely say we hope to be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed in Charleston during the July 4th weekend while traveling without an itinerary. We went on a walking ghost tour of downtown. Part of the tour went through the Francis Marion Hotel. The hotel was immaculate, friendly, old charm. The next day we reserved 2 rooms. We asked for an early check-in which they accommodated. Check out is noon. Valet parking was $21/night with in-out privileges. Both of our rooms were upgraded at check-in but not on the same floor. The hotel staff at all times were friendly and professional. The rooms were very large and clean. The furniture was 1920's style, but not all of the better quality. The bathrooms were a bit small, but updated, and very clean. The hotel is in historic downtown with many nearby activities and directly across the street from a park and the original city Citadel. Lots to do/see/eat within walking distance. I will stay here again whenever I'm back in the area. Definitely a must stay or even a visit just to tour the hotel. We had a great time here and will recommend the Francis Marion to family/friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our five day stay at the Francis Marion was great. We arrived late after a flight delay and were booked into a double bed room instead of a room with a king. Brittany was very helpful and upgraded us to a suite for our remaining four nights due to the hotel's mistake. We enjoyed our great view each day.
I don't understand complaints about the size of the bathrooms etc.The Francis Marion is not about to knock down walls to make large double sink bathrooms and walk in closets. Leveling the floors is not a priority or need. This is an historic hotel in a fantastic location--just what my wife and I were looking for on our first visit from Seattle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view when booking. Corner suites have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimpatp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here recently for a friend's wedding which was held at the Francis Marion. The hotel is in a great location - within walking distance to everything. The bathrooms are tiny. The elevators, which are supposedly being upgraded, are super-slow. There is no pool. If you want to feel like you are in a European hotel...go to Europe. The Francis Marion was not a bad hotel but if I returned to Charleston, I would prefer the modern amenities of the Marriott nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 39donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Everything was great. Located next to many shops and within walking distance of everything else. Nice neighborhood. I traveled alone and was not scared to walk at night. The valet, lobby, room, ect. were all exceptional. The bathroom was a bit small but clean and the size was not an inconvenience to me. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The attached Starbucks was amazing.

Jen

Room Tip: I had a great room that overlooked Marion Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferLynneRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,766 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,148 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing