We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding Service, Free Upgrade and Spotless Room!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Free Upgrade and Spotless Room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Honestly! What more could one ask for? The Hotel Francis Marion bent over backwards for us before we even asked! Charlene and Lauren at the front desk blew us away with their warm welcome and then upgraded us from a standard queen room all the way to suite on the 11th floor, which has the most beautiful views of Charleston - Historic, charming, and luxurious all describe this beautiful Charleston landmark hotel. The hotel Francis Marion is within walking distance to the finest shopping in the area (King Street), dining and antique shops too! Valet the car ($17/day) and enjoy this wonderful pedestrian area of Charleston!

Room Tip: Book room you can afford, then ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    859
    289
    125
    81
See reviews for
500
884
89
615
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Just stayed here with my daughter to attend the College of Charleston 2 day orientation. It couldn't be any closer to the school, there is no need for a car if you flew in. I loved the grand lobby and the way it was restored. The room was great. Yes, the bathroom was very small, but it had everything we needed and there was a nice large vanity table in the room for those who want to put on make up. The beds were so comfy, the linens were fantastic and the room was very clean and quiet. We were lucky enough to have a wonderful view as well. The price was extremely reasonable. As our daughter will hopefully be in Charleston for the next 4 years, we'll stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBicep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

The only downside was a very small bathroom and the fittings were almost falling out the wall. Really great beds, free wifi, great coffee and the bar/restaurant was very good. Good location for restaurants, shopping etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lullu57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We live just outside Charleston. When we need in-town accommodations, or if friends ask us for a recommendation, the Francis Marion in my "Go To" hotel.

Always clean, always quite, always pleasant staff, and importantly always reasonably priced.

Parking garage is immediately adjacent to hotel and costs $12 per 24 hours (hotel rate). This is a reasonable rate for Charleston and if you have ever tried to find convenient off street parking in Charleston you know how valuable this service is.

Stay here. you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Truckstop39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville, alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We loved the "old money" atmosphere and decor. So nice to see a hotel decorated in such classic good taste but still a comfortable atmosphere, even for our 7 & 9 yr olds. Beds were very comfy. We LOVED the view of the park statue, bridges and harbor. Will definitely go back.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank opheliabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

This was our first trip to beautiful Charleston, and what a great week end it was. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and most courteous...always offering help with a southern smile!! The hotel is situated on historic King Street and we were able to walk to fantastic restuarants, shops, and historic buildings Our room was most decorative and had every necessity we needed. We left Charleston with many wonderful memories and highly recommend the Francis Marion Hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luhelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Our group stayed at the Francis Marion from May 21 - June 13, 2011. The location in Charleston is absolutely perfect. On top of that, the staff is incredibly friendly and extremely helpful. We started to think of the hotel as home.

We used the conference space for daily meetings with our graduate students and that went smoothly. On several occasions we used the banquet space and their catering services. Again, we were extremely please.

The concierge helped with restaurants, a boat tour and transportation. The front desk provided all kinds of services for our group. The rooms were clean, comfortable and offered turn down service with chocolates every evening.

The is a historical hotel you will not want to miss!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbeforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ansonborough Inn
#11 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing