We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good. Just really really good.”

Higher Ground Char House
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Chapin
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 13, 2018

We came here Friday night for a late dinner. Sat outside. Was not prepared for the very interesting selection of burgers, but let me tell you, this place is GOOD. Had the baby flounder basket, daughter had the "Dis Won" burger. Spectacular. Not sure what the sauce is that they served on the side, but it was absolutely incredible. Fries are great, portions are big. Do not underestimate this place, and definitely do not listen to any negative reviews. Absolutely will be back.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gamastrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Higher Ground Char House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018

Thanks for the great review!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 131 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2018

Not a fancy restaurant but the food is good, especially the hamburgers! It can be very busy at the dinner hour. The outdoor section is great in warm weather.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NanaJana9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

Visited friends in the area and we came here for dinner one night. The burgers were so good! They were some of the best burgers we have ever had. Very quick service and our waitress was awesome and fun (sorry I forgot her name but she did mentioned she lived in NYC for a few years) We will be back one day.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Desire07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Higher Ground Char House, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Thanks for the awesome review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

I really want to like this place but they keep coming up short. If they paid more attention to detail I would give a higher score. Tried the "Gobbler" which sounded good which was except for a couple of missteps. The lettuce was dripping with water which made the bun soggy so I just took it off. The advertised "shaved apple" turned out to be a round apple slice that had grill marks on it which would have been nice if it had been done properly. Instead, it had a burnt apple taste that lingered on my taste buds long after we left even though I removed it after a couple of bites. The cranberry aioli was a nice touch as was the brie. Too bad they did not pay attention to detail. I suggest grilling the apple slices slowly allowing the natural sugars in the apple to caramelize. Would have been a much better taste. Sweet potato fries were great!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Higher Ground Char House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Thanks for your review. This will help us to get better. I will look into changing our process on the Apple and the lettuce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

So so so good! Burgers are amazing as are the flips! Fries are great. Wings are huge and so good (excellent choice for carry out)! Friendly staff and exceptional menu. Don’t let the crowded parking lot scare you off. So many times we’ve thought there would be a long wait because of the crowded parking lot only to find out we could immediately be seated and served.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank merem0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Owner at Higher Ground Char House, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Thanks fot the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Higher Ground Char House also viewed

 

Been to Higher Ground Char House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing