We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cayce
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The motel is not brand-spanking new but well-maintained. A great value, convenient to downtown and perfect for my needs. I received a friendly and professional welcome upon arriving. Only problem for me was too much air freshener.



  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 45 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

It's exactly the same room as I stayed in last time, but it now costs $3.00 more, and the weekend prices go into effect on Thursday. Still, the location cannot be beat if you want vicinity to the best parts of Columbia -- downtown, the Vista, 5 points and the university area. Although the price is higher, it is still in the sensible range. Maybe they will use the extra money to spruce up the rooms, like wash the stains off the walls, remove spots from the carpet, or get rid of that locker room smell.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside corridor facing the pool are quieter.
Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Beachtrekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this place for a week moving our girls in to USC in August 2012 and not ever will we stay there again. We were afraid of the people that were staying also in that hotel. There was more activity going on there then people just sleeping and not in a legal way. You kinda pick up on it after a few days. Lucky one of our girls got moved into her place and we made the other stay with her and not come back to the hotel. We stayed away as much as we could because most motels were booked that week because of students moving in to USC. The cleaning people didn't clean the room very well, just change the sheets once when they should have done it 2 more times. They didn't vacum or clean off the mirror or TV screen and when I told them about it they said the stains won't come off so I got some cleaner and showed her it does come off. The frig and microwave wasnot cleaned either and the place smelled like old mold.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENISE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are just looking for a clean affordable place to stay close to Columbia this place will do. It's nothing fancy but the room I had was clean and the bed was fairly comfortable. The room had a frig and microwave in it. It's close to downtown Columbia and the "Vista". Overall I'd have to say this is a place is well worth staying.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdj2055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I always enjoy 1 or 2 nights of relaxation here ! It has everything you want close by ! Bars, food, bowling alley, grocery stores, convenience stores. All the coffee you can drink in the morning. Walking distance to all !

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimmystaggs1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I don't know what the other reviewers expected, but this one is like many, many others that you will find throughout the Southeast, and you can take my word as I travel for a living. It fits the description of a "mom and pop" operation: low cost, reasonably clean but worn & in need of renovation. The only amenities are a pool, free WiFi, a very capacious ice machine, and decent
all-you-can-drink coffee in the morning. As another reviewer points out, the motel is close to retail and eating places, but best of all -- it's just across the river from downtown Columbia. With a good arm, you could probably throw a rock from the parking lot and hit one of the bars, restaurants, and clubs in The Vista (an entertainment disrict). Also if you are in town for the university, USC and Five Points area is only a short drive away. You can also find good watering holes basically around the corner in old downtown Cayce. It's not Orlando, but then again downtown Columbia is not known as a resort destination. It offers the attractions, however, of a pretty cool college town, and Masters Inn is ok lodging, centrally located.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachtrekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayce
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia - Downtown Historic District
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia Downtown/The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Columbia
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Downtown
1.7 mi away
Hilton Columbia Center
Hilton Columbia Center
#10 of 94 in Columbia
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina

Address: 613 Knox Abbott Dr, Cayce, SC 29033-4126 (Formerly Masters Inn Columbia Knox Abbott)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Cayce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Cayce
Price Range: $48 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina 1*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide a clean comfortable room with complimentary WiFi and coffee for our guests. We pride ourselves on service and being the lowest price of any national chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Columbia - University of South Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masters Hotel Cayce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing