We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Armory Steak House” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Armory Steak House

Old Armory Steak House
Ranked #36 of 60 Restaurants in Camden
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old Armory Steak House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

a group of us went there after steeplechase. we were warmly greeted by the owner. the menu is vast with plenty of choices for all. my friends enjoyed the salmon, calamari and crab cakes. i had a big Greek salad and my husband a steak. All meals were well prepared and well presented. i had the house chardonnay and it was quite nice; servings were generous. the prices for food and beverages were affordable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank a-lady-who-lunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    9
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worst ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Dining with my husband, daughter and son-in-law. They served me the wrong entree, and by the time I received the correct dish, everyone else was finished eating. The chicken was not cooked through, when the sserver finally checked, my husband asked for the cost to be removed, as I had eaten one bite of the chicken, and a few bites of the veg. Server refused to ask about it, we were so disgusted by the whole experience we paid and left, have never returned. Eat at your own risk.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SCbooklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great atmosphere, wonderful steak, great live music, very friendly people!! The owner even stopped by to meet us, introduce himself and welcome us!! Definately worth the stop!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrajorobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice setting, average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We ordered the french onion soup which was quite bland -- but, good cheese. Also had a special and the jumbo shrimp - definitely not jumbo, but good enough flavor. The sweet potato fries were rather tasteless and limp -- I saw some beautiful onion rings go to another table, wish I'd ordered them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank flange030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I have tried something different each time my family has gone to this restaurant and never been disappointed. They also have great lunch deals.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TNSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Armory Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Old Armory Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing