We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful relaxing home with great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camden House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camden House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Camden B&B and Inns
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing home with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a wonderful place for a relaxing and romantic getaway. The bed was comfortable and the large spa tub was great. The food, including breakfast, treats laid out in mid-day, and a daily afternoon snack, was delicious. They are willing to accommodate special diets with no difficulty. The home itself is simply lovely and the hosts were very gracious. We would definitely return here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the English Room and it was wonderful although the bed does squeak loudly when you move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful stay with girl friends at the Camden House! Sharon provided hospitality like no one else! She is a wonderful cook and hostess! There is a fireplace to gather around and celebrate any occasion with wine and fellowship in the afternoon. The full breakfast was second to none! Camden is a quaint little southern town with a stroll back through time in the wonderful accommodations at the Camden House.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
403 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were in Camden for their Candlelight Christmas Tour of Homes and having seen the Camden House in the historic section and reading Trip Advisor reviews, decided to reserve a room. There are only four rooms available and all were full so we were glad we reserved well in advance. Sharon met us at the door like we were long-lost friends, offering us wine and snacks which we declined as we were going out to dinner shortly at Sam Kendall's. Our room, The Allison, was well-appointed and spacious. They have a selection of DVD's in the hallway credenza and we chose a movie to watch after dinner. The only negative was we were awakened by the creaky radiator but went right back to sleep. It was peacefully quiet otherwise and was a minor inconvenience. We were comfortable on a cold night in this beautiful 1832 home. The breakfast was delicious and Paul was very friendly and efficient. The dining room was beautiful and the company of the other guests was very nice as well. A special B&B experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem fine to me. It is very quiet at night all seem to have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnC576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Why pay good money to stay at places like the Comfort Inn where for not much more you can stay in a room the size of five NYC hotel suites in an 1831 Mansion. Paul greets you with wine, Sharon cooks an anti weight watcher breakfast that includes the best grits in the world, there is wifi, there is a swimming pool,there are Sharon's biscuits, rooms with en suite bathrooms and a decor that leaves the Ritz for dead. Paul and Sharon have the Camden Inn up for sale. If ididnt live 25,000 miles away I'd buy it tomorrow

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connolly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I really enjoyed my three-day stay at this bed and breakfast. From the very beginning the owners were very welcoming. My room was immaculate, beautifully appointed and ample. When I arrived, I found there were chocolates, snacks and water waiting for me. In the afternoon, there was chilled white wine and red wine in the living room. The breakfast was different every day and it would be hard to decide which one was better. I confess I most enjoyed the homemade cheese grits, homemade biscuits and the apple turnover. The coffee was also outstanding. The location was wonderful. It was a short walk to the heart of Camden. I wholeheartedly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this B & B.. It is a beautiful old house and we were welcomed by Paul the owner and Marvin who worked there. There was coffee available on the landing with little cakes and biscotti. The bottled water and chocolates in the room was a nice touch too. We were invited to have wine in the drawing room at 4 pm which we took out onto the porch to relax in the sunshine and enjoy the atmosphere of the house and gardens.
It was a short walk into town where we ate at the Old Armory steak house, then had a few drinks with the locals at Sam Kendalls. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.The breakfast the next morning was excellent, fruit salad, homemade grits, bacon and scrambled eggs with biscuits, juice and coffee, it was just what we needed before our drive back to the airport then the long journey back to the UK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calamityjane2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is absolutely stunning inside and out. Yes - it is old, but updated nicely. I only wish we could have stayed longer. Unfortunately our trip was cut short by a family emergency so we were basically late coming in and early out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Camden
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Camden
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia I-20 / Clemson Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
6.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Bloomsbury Inn
Bloomsbury Inn
#1 of 4 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Camden House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1502 Broad St, Camden, SC 29020-2820
Location: United States > South Carolina > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden House Bed & Breakfast mirrors all the charm and grandeur of the antebellum South. Completed in 1832, the mansion is today nestled in the heart of historic downtown Camden - South Carolina's oldest inland city - where it is in easy walking distance to shops, fine restaurants, antique stores, the community theater and historic parks. Experience Gracious Hospitality - Private & Relaxing circa 1832. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing