We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Little Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Palmetto Bluff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montage Palmetto Bluff
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
152 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2006

The Inn At Palmetto Bluff is one of those places where almost everything is perfect. We went during a very slow time, and there were very few people at the Inn. Others have given a good explanation of how peaceful it is when you enter this special property. Others have also expressed concern about how this tranquility will change during the upcoming years as more and more homes are added to this expanse of mostly empty land. Enjoy it now, before all is ruined!

We stayed in one of the cottages. It was a delight. Beds are most comfortable. There's a nice seating area right in front of fireplace. Perfect backporch (screened) overlooking May River. Staff asked what we'd like in our room refrigerator. I requested grapefruit juice and there was a large pitcher waiting for us when we checked in. Coffee pot, with lots of good coffee. Bath is amazing. Wonderul tub, great shower (with steam) of considerable size, nice dressing area. Plenty of closets and storage space. Nothing compares to waking in the mornings to the sun coming up across the river and gently filling the room. Someone mentioned late turndown service. We noted that also, but simply asked if they could provide that service while we were at dinner. That was done for the rest of our stay.

We enjoyed strolling and biking around the property. There's not an excessive amount to do, but we were happy. We biked a considerable amount one day, and saw alligators in one of the water areas. Lap pool was very nice, with perfect sitting. Little village is nice. Casual type restaurant with good food, little museum, chapel, and art gallery. See, not enough to keep you active all the time, but that's the purchase of this kind of trip. There are kayaks for those who want to be more active.

I thought dining experiences were perfect. Other's have talked about food not being quite there yet, but I thought it was very good. Service was great, with the exception of one server. Nothing really bad, he was just almost insistent that we order wine! The other superb servers made up for him! Concierge was so helpful, assisting us plan a day trip into Savannah. Front desk was helpful, friendly. In fact, all staff showed the right balance of friendliness while respecting your privacy.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wintersummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    44
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
101
267
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

The hotel & grounds are lovely. Housekeeping good.
We are a well-travelled group that researched and planned with the Inns concierge well in advance our annual retreat for relaxation. I was shocked to find out that all three houses around the home I stayed in was under construction starting at 6:45AM, including music! My home was also brand new with fresh paint fumes and a few maintenance calls ie:back door not locking and fireplace malfunction. No one said a word. We also rented another home next to the pool which was away from the construction and quiet. Still no one from the Inn made a connection that it was absolutely inappropriate to put 4 Ladies on quiet retreat in a home surrounded by construction workers.

We made reservations for dining, tours, etc. well in advance. The first evening we arrived to dinner there was not a reservation but we were luckily able to be seated.

The bicycle tour would have been great minus the construction, trucks, noise all over the property.

We had lunch on the veranda the following day and the waiters could not have been more confused and the lunch served ie:fruit plate without the fruit (had to ask after and hour, seafood served twice after being sent back because the customer had asked the salad be served (related to severe seafood allergy) without shrimp and then another dish came out with crab......None other than and apology and further problems to follow.

Make sure you know the construction is through before you go!

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

My wife and I just got back from 5 days at the Inn for a babymoon. We went on to stay three days at Sanctuary on Kiawah Island after Palmetto and that was probably a mistake. Both are relatively new facilities (less than two years old) but the difference between the two is striking.

The Inn is a community, small intimate and inviting. From the moment you drive into the little town which is the center for your stay you feel like you've gone back in time. You ride your bike everywhere. There is no traffic or crime. Just an old fashion town with a few cottages and some beautiful houses.

My wife & I like to stay active (even in her 6 month) and had a great time at Palmetto Bluff. We played golf, went fresh and saltwater fishing, rode our bikes and drove in Hilton Head several times for meals.

Want to compare ammenities between two 5 star resorts...the cottages are top of the line and perfectly built in every aspect. The Beds are perfect (sheets and pillows), the shower is a combination steam and three headed shower that kept the steam in and had limitless hot water(at Sanctuary our two headed shower had inconsistent hot water and it leaked all over the floor). At the Inn if they tell you you have a river view that means you can open the blinds and watch the sun rise over the river marsh...at Sanctuary you have to walk out onto the little porch and look around the corner to see the water (not terrible, but not what they promised).

My wife & I like to remodel our homes, you walk into your cottage and it is perfect. Nothing you'd change, right down to all of the furniture.

The staff was great, though you can see that they are having trouble getting the quality they want across the entire facility (this place really is isolated--though not that far from Savana). We were woken up twice by the turn-down maids who came knocking at 9pm and 10:09pm one night. If you're done for the night hang the DND on the door. Also the resteraunt had a few folks not up to the level of the rest of the staff. But the difference here is that if you bring it to the attention of the staff (and no need to get upset and throw a fit) they will instantly make it right. That's 5 star service.

If you have any problem let the concierge know immediately. They will take care of anything and can arrange for anything...and they are happy to do so.

The spa is very good, but the staff is not quite 5 star talent yet. A massage is very pricey and does not stack up to top spas around the country.

The Bluff is only a little over a half hour to Hilton head so think about staying here if you're looking for accomodations that are truly 5 star. We played golf (Melrose Course, a Nickalaus design) is a must and they can arrange to get you out to the island to play it.

And if you like to fish you had better bring some bass fishing gear. The fresh water ponds that surround the property are home to some of the biggest, hungriest bass I've ever caught. They barely tell you about this until you are there and then they try to give you a kids rod to try to catch them. I ran to Walmart, bought a rod and some gear and my wife and I spent most mornings in a kayak catching bass up to 7 lbs! And there are bigger ones in there. In the next few years they will have several other lakes of equal quality.

The food at the resort is very good, not great yet, but the wine selection makes up for that. How many places do you know that have Silver Oak by the Glass.

The golf course on site (another Nickaluas course) is very good and was our second favorite course on our trip...(the other two courses we played and ranked 3rd and 4th were the Ocean Course on Kiawah-ranked in the top 50 in the US and Turtle Point).

The only uncertainty about this place is how it will grow, they seem to be doing it right but a resort of this caliber is very delicate. They expect to build 3,000 homes on the more than 20,000 acres over the next several years and while that seem very modest it could change the coziness, the traffic and the quality of the life there very quickly.

My wife & I are already planning a return trip next year...oh, and nobody told us but it is one of the most dog friendly resorts you'll ever find. Next year our dogs are coming along.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jmac1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2006

We just returned from a weekend at Palmetto Bluff and were so impressed. Having visited many of the great resorts in the area over the last 30 years (The Cloister, Greyfield Inn, etc...), I must say that this hotel is one of the most beautiful and unique along the Southern coast. It is absolutely a fresh new take on low-country style and hospitality. Every direction is a postcard perfect vista of moss draped oaks and whitewashed cottages, while the service and accomodations are in line with a modern 5-star hotel.

We stayed in one of the "village homes" on the property and loved the spacious new rooms outfitted with oriental rugs and antiques. Both the beds and showers were to-die-for and came with large-sized toiletries in scents inspired by the area. Before arriving I was nervous that the brand-newness of it all would feel a little contrived, but no complaints here. If you are looking for historical significance, Savannah is a short 30 minute ride away.

The infinity lap pool overlooking the marsh was especially nice with plush lounge chairs and attendants coming by with towels and ice water. Unfortunately we did not have a chance to visit the spa, but the fitness facilities and walking trails were wonderful.

If you can afford this place--go! I promise you won't miss the beach.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

Palmetto Bluff exceeded our expectations! The grounds are beautiful, well kept and spacious. The cottage we stayed in was light-filled, comfortable and the bathroom/ steam shower/ deep soaking tub is beyond description. The gym has a great view of the water, and is clean and well equipped.. and the lap pool is a nice addition to those who want to swim for exercise. Both the spa and golf course were well staffed and tended to.. and the staff of the whole resort is exceptional! Good food, mellow atmosphere, plenty to do- there is no need to leave this place. Definitely make use of the free bikes and see the property that way, and take a tour on 'Grace' the wooden boat the property owns. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMR-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2005

I spent a rainy evening at The Inn at Palmetto Bluff with a special female friend. Snuck in - had Stan drive us in his golf cart to our lagoon view cottage.

I cannot tell you how relaxing our stay was. The bed and hotel room was large and amazing comfortable. The bath is arguably best in the country. The au berge bath amenities, double vanities, walk in closets, all the touches - absolutely amazing.

We sat on our own private screen porch, drinking red wine - lit the beautiful candle left there, wrapped ourselves up in oversized bathrobes and watched the rain - man was it nice.

Dinner was stunning later - staff was five star. Go!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank savannahhello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
6.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
8.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
9.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Property: Montage Palmetto Bluff
Address: 1 Village Park Sq, Bluffton, SC 29910-8331 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the Inn has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. The Cottage Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 4 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing