We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Palmetto Bluff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montage Palmetto Bluff
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Having never been to the southeast, we were able to truly discover (and fall in love with) the beauty and charm of the low country at this lovely and picturesque property. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Nate (quite possibly the happiest man alive), we knew we were in for something special. Our cottage was beautiful; the morning sunrise over the May River was worth getting up for every single morning of our week-long stay. Everywhere we turned, we discovered some beautiful spot that overlooked spectacularly beautiful scenery. There was plenty to do (or not do, if you are so inclined). There are miles of trails to run, walk, bike, and hike. We rode all over the property on the bicycles that were parked right outside our cottage. The waterways provide all sorts of opportunities: we kayaked in the river with the dolphins and in the lagoon with the gators; we paddle-boarded; we enjoyed a wine cruise with the sommelier. We also sometimes just sat gazing at all the tranquil beauty of the low country or sipping drinks by the pool. And, for even more relaxation, there was, of course, the spa where we enjoyed a marvelous "high cotton" massage. Although the range of activities and the quality of the accommodations were fabulous, it was the atmosphere that made this place so special. Never in our lives have we encountered such friendly and charming people. As we meandered about the expansive property, we felt like we had been dropped into "The Truman Show." The staff, the guests, and the residents of the community really helped make our time there magical. Equally magical was the food. Don't be afraid to leave your culinary fate in the hands of the staff. We always asked for recommendations and were never disappointed. They were also great about making vegetarian-friendly modifications. We LOVED the meals at the Canoe Club; the exceptional quality of both the food and the service was definitely "fine-dinning" but the warmth and enthusiasm of the staff (especially Alexa and Dennis) made us feel like we were eating among friends. The Porch was perfect when we wanted something a bit more casual. Dinner at the River House was something truly special; plan to "dress" for dinner and to enjoy a leisurely meal. Even Leon's drinks by the pool were perfect. Actually, everything about this place was perfect for us. In fact, it was so perfect we had to keep reminding ourselves it was real and not a Hollywood movie set. The only thing we didn't like was that, eventually, we had to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2_of_us_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    44
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
101
268
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The location of the property is a beautiful setting. We stayed in a cottage. The quality of the bedding, the towels, the furniture on the porch, to the amenities were all top notch. Having access to a golf cart and bikes made using the property not only convenient, but fun. We enjoyed room service, which was very well done (not all places do it well), as well as Buffalo's and the Canoe Club. We found the short drive out to the property setting the scene for what was to come and getting you in that relaxed mode. Having an iPad in the room for the property information including making dinner reservations, was a great touch. We will be back!

Room Tip: Water view cottages are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoTravelers245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This property is simply beautiful. From the main building, new, yet built with old time charm to the cottages where you can stay during your visit that even come with a couple of bikes parked outside to use to get around if you want. The service is excellent and so is the food. The property is a little out of the way, but it sits within a small town that has a couple places to eat and a general store that sells basic snacks and also has a small fresh meat / fish counter. Beer, wine and gas is also available. The cottages are drop dead beautiful and very luxurious. Large bathrooms that include a tub and steam shower. Each cottage also has a screened porch that overlook the inland waterway. This place is not cheap, but you definitely get more than you pay for and I would highly recommend this property for a romantic long weekend or even a weeks vacation if you enjoy hanging out and relaxing. In the evenings they have bonfires at the main building where you can roast marshmallows (I didn't even realize they were different flavored marshmallows, wow!) There are also tours of the area if you want to visit some of the local towns like oldtown bluffs.

Room Tip: Select a cottage to stay in if possible to get the full effect of the property, and ideally one clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReviewsByRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramerton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was my second trip to Palmetto bluff in 2 years. We stayed in a cottage. The property is beautiful, Buffalo's and the Canoe Club were both outstanding. I have to admit, I stayed in 2013 when the resort was managed by Auberge. I could definitely tell a difference in the overall quality of the resort now that Montage Resorts has taken over. The service was not the same from the staff inlcuding the bar staff and room service. The cottages come with complimentary drinks and those were not there when we checked in and we had to repeatedly ask for those items during our stay. The in room ipad that allows you to order room service and explore the different activities on site did not work and we called repeatedly to have someone come and fix it with no sucess. The TV went out several times and engineering had to come in and fix it, they could not explain why it was not working. We had room service for breakfast each day and one morning received an opened, used jar of jelly. What I found most upsetting was the rates are the same as last year when the property was managed by Auberge, which delivered stellar service in every aspect. I would recommend this resort but in my opinion the rates are high for the quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank george a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 days at the Inn at Palmetto Bluff last weekend. Our short vacation was absolutely fantastic! It was our first time at the property and all the staff was very helpful and accommodating in very respect. We ate at Buffalo's, and the Canoe Club and the meals were top notch! The sunset views of the May River from the terrace at Canoe Club were stunning!

We rode bikes and drove the complimentary golf cart through all through the property and admired the beautiful homes in the well landscaped neighborhoods. The cottage we stayed in had lagoon views and the screened in porch was perfect for enjoying morning coffee and relaxing.

My wife enjoyed a massage at the spa from "Lisa," who did a amazing job.... Apparently that was one of the best massages my wife had ever had in her life! I played a round of golf at the May River Golf course on the property and the condition of the course didn't fail to impress me. They require you to play with a caddie and I had never done so but it turned out go by a very enjoyable experience. My caddie for the day was "Billy" and he was extremely knowledgable about the course, and the history of the property.

We will definitely return to Palmetto Bluff in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PH1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We returned to a home in Palmetto Bluff for the 2nd year in a row because last year was so fabulous. Once again, the Inn delivered. We got back home yesterday, and the kids are already asking about going back. Riding bikes/golf carts through the amazing property, kids activities (limited but very good), swimming, nightly smores campfire, friendlyness oozing everywhere. It was the same experience that brought us back again. The only negative was that a large wedding was going on during the weekend. You could absolutely tell when there was an influx of people. We couldn't get a golf cart until they left....there were a lot more cars on the roads....things like that. When they build the large new hotel on site, I'd be hard pressed to believe that they will be able to maintain the unique ambiance that exists now.

Room Tip: Cottages can only fit 2 people, maybe 3 on a sofa. Larger families definitely need a home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmokeStinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was a very special place to visit. I loved having a separate cottage, it's such a different experience from staying in a hotel. Our cottage was overlooking the river and we enjoyed relaxing on the huge screened in porch. It was nice to have golf carts and bikes to get around. The entire staff was helpful and friendly. Housekeeping was phenomenal (and I always love any place with evening turn-down service). I enjoyed a massage during our stay and loved that the therapist came to the room for the service. If you are in need of a place to totally "decompress", this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: We were in cottage #7 overlooking the river. It's quiet but also a hop, skip and a jump (or quic...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very cute idea to put the toy alligator on the bed to indicate you do not request your sheets to be changed. I noticed the trash bins in the room had a simple paper doily in the bottom vs. plastic bags.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandag27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
6.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
8.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
9.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Property: Montage Palmetto Bluff
Address: 1 Village Park Sq, Bluffton, SC 29910-8331 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the Inn has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. The Cottage Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 4 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing