We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A New Standard Achieved For Relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montage Palmetto Bluff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montage Palmetto Bluff
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A New Standard Achieved For Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Entering the grounds of Palmetto Bluff one quickly sees the expansive nature of the resort. Worrking our way down into the main area and the Inn we quickly went back in time to the days of plantations and southern hospitality. We immediately settled in to the relaxing nature of the bluff. We checked into our cottage number 21 which was set on the May river facing back towards hectic Hilton Head Island. Our single suite cottage was full of all of the amenities you would expect at a five star resort. I can't say enough about the level of service provided to us at every time of day. The bluff outshines any place we've ever stayed ever and I thank the staff for providing the level of comfort we obtained in the week we stayed on property. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Cottages facing the May river have fantastic sun rise views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hplcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    53
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
116
291
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here twice and it is an amazing location. The rooms are individual cottages and they give you free bicycles to ride around the property. They are getting ready to expand the hotel which is disappointing as it will make the area too crowded.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachy751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We found the service to be impeccable from the valet all the way through to departure. There seemed to be people just waiting on us wherever we were in the property. All were very friendly and extremely customer oriented. The cottage rooms were beautiful and the dinner at Canoe was excellent.
Only downside was the cost- very pricey.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdev100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in a beautiful cottage, which is a duplex, but so quiet we never would have known it had a shared wall (which is the bathroom wall). It was so charming with the most comfortable bed, sitting area, dressing room, large bathroom and wonderful steam shower! And another added treat was the huge screened porch where we enjoyed the beautiful sun rise while drinking coffee and listening to the sounds in the low country waking up. We had a great massage at the spa, biked all over the property and adjoining neighborhoods, enjoyed the adult pool and indulged in great food and drink. There are lots of activities! The Canoe Club was our favorite because of the casual elegance of the interior and simple but delicious food.

We compared it to a recent stay at Blackberry Farm and while both are great retreats and have different pluses (Smokey Mountains near Blackberry Farm versus Hilton Head, Savannah and Tybee Island near Palmetto Bluff), we would pick Palmetto Bluff to return to because of its casual elegance in the low country.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMRWKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Ok maybe its not quite as warm as those places but that's all they have on this southern gem. if there was a sixth star for service this place would get it. In fact, I think I can safely say that from top to bottom the service at Palmetto is superior to that of any other hotel or resort I have ever visited (and you can see from just the previous reviews I bothered writing, that I have been around). From the bellman when you arrive (thanks Adam!) to the pool attendants, to the recreation center, to the restaurants, our service was nothing short of impeccable. The staff seems genuinely thrilled to work there.

I could probably end the review here but that would not do justice to the meticulously kept grounds, the large and beautifully decorated cottages (love the steam showers!) and the extensive activities and amenities this hotel has to offer. Cruising in your golf cart (included in the price with Fine Hotels and Resorts) to dinner, riding your bike on a trail around the world class golf course, taking out kayaks on a lagoon teeming with wildlife or playing tennis (my boyfriend played with Mike the head pro who was amazing), this place has everything. It even has separate pools for kids and adults. The resort is sprawled across what is a small, almost Disneyesque (in the ethereal, idyllic way) town that makes you feel you have been transported back in time to a sort of southern utopia. . .think a far more luxurious version of the town in the film The Truman Show. Even when the place is full, there is enough space both in, and between, the rooms so you still feel secluded.

Every night, they also light up the firepits and have a (free) smores party for adults and kids.
We ate at three of the on property restaurants. At the more casual Canoe Club for dinner and Buffaloes the breakfast spot, the service was still far superior to most top restaurants and the food was very good. Surprisingly, the only hiccup occurred at the more formal River House where the hostess seemed overwhelmed by the 8 oclock rush, the service was just a little slow and the servings were a bit small for the price. But the wine list was world class. our server kind and knowledgeable and those tasty morsels were delicious. It was still a fine dining experience but I might pass on River House next time and head into town to try one of the restaurants there.

On the whole, for what you are getting, the room and food prices are incredibly reasonable. It's not cheap but compared to other five star resorts, its hard to beat the value. Just as important, you always feel like the staff is there to help, not to try to squeeze another a buck out of you as is the case at many other resorts.

Oh and rather than rave about the service again, let me just say that Pat the concierge is in and of herself, a huge asset to this property. She can offer great advice, get you a free Mercedes to take out exploring . yes free, or just chat about the resort and surrounding area with the love and devotion that could only come from a committed, classy, long time employee. She is the perfect face of this spectacular resort.

Need I say more?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed during a week trip to a coastal SC. terrific place. Cottage was so upscale and amazing. Service perfect, what else would you ask for.Great adult only pool with amazing views, bird island on a property, spa beautiful. Overall on of the best places in continental US.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexshulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Inn at Palmetto Bluff was a great place for a family vacation. I was there with 4 other people (3 couples no children). The guests are mostly older couples and families there were no singles that we saw. We were fortunate enough to stay in one of the very nice single family homes on the property so I cannot comment on the cabins or villas. The resort is very relaxing and an overall beautiful property. There are only a few dining options on the property and they were all great. The staff was unbelievable. The concierge was very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. Our server every morning for breakfast Noel was so kind and helpful. We had one in our party with severe food allergies and he went out of his way to make sure everything was prepared in a way that would not put her health in jeopardy. We spent most of our time relaxing pool side or riding bikes through the trails, paths and all the roads in the community. Every night they offered free smores right outside the main restaurant which was awesome and on Saturday night they had fresh baked cookies and lemonade. If you do plan a long stay I would suggest buying some food at a grocery store outside of the resort since the dining options are limited and are pretty expensive. I couldn't have had a more relaxing time and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
6.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
8.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
11.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
9.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
11.6 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Property: Montage Palmetto Bluff
Address: 476 Mount Pelia Rd, Bluffton, SC 29910-8343 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the Inn has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. Spa Montage is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 4 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing