We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Palmetto Bluff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Montage Palmetto Bluff to your Saves list
Montage Palmetto Bluff
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MONTAGE MEMORIES
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way to Charleston. This is a very first rate resort as well as the price. We had a cottage that was one of the nicest rooms we have stayed at, It was right out of Restoration Hardware. It had an entry foyer with compilmentary items, a large vaulted wood ceiling bedroom, a dressing area then a wonderful bathroom with a stand alone large tub, very large walkin shower with steam and three heads, one a ceiling rain shower. It also had a full length screened in porch with ceiling fan and chaise lounges. They had two bikes at each cottage for use as well.
The way the resort works is that you check-in at the main house, they valet the car and then run you out to your room on a golf cart. In retrospect, we should have rented a cart so that we could have more time to view the resort. Overall this is a very noce place to vist. But, beware of the high humidity this time of year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    44
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
93
263
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for four nights in a Wilson Village three bedroom home with our sons, 7 and 8. This was much more space than we needed, but it was fun to spread out and enjoy. The homes are very nicely done and appointed. The resort itself is extraordinary- literally something for everyone to do. The fishing, spa, pools, bikes, golf carts, nightly smores, and general staff service was excellent. We look forward to returning. The restaurants are also great- we did not even think of leaving the resort during our stay.

Room Tip: I am not sure that you could go wrong. The homes are definitely the way to go with families. It lo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nature abounds at this resort- whether you're into birds, fish, turtles, dolphin, alligators, or trees- you will find it here. No asphalt roofs here- all metal, slate or shake to prevent runoff. They are taking care of this land nicely.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBDigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The atmosphere is wonderful for relaxing as a couple and also stellar for kids - A rare combination. Everything has already been said by other reviewers. The staff are well trained, polished, and anticipate needs. The amenities are abundant. The bird island is amazing! The trails are never-ending! The bikes, golf carts and complimentary Mercedes vehicles are fun. The pools and gyms are solid. The cottages are truly decadent, with every detail considered. Beauty is evident wherever you look. The steam showers and eucalyptus spray make you truly relax! No detail goes unnoticed. The spa is heavenly. The food is solid and appropriately priced. We can't wait to return!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank scrutinizing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was here w/ adult family of four for a long weekend and wedding (in Bluffton). We stayed at one of the 3 bedroom Wilson Village homes. Could not have asked for a better stay. The home was beautiful, spacious with huge bedrooms, great bathrooms and too many porches to count. We played golf at the May River Golf club and course was beautiful. Also spent some time at both pools and work out facilities -- fantastic.

Want to go back ASAP!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmullen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Came to this exceptionally lovely resort for a long weekend birthday celebration. The Inn acknowledged the event in a number of thoughtful ways. We had a cottage on the May River, lovely, comfortable appointments and a screened porch for relaxing. We opted for a golf cart making getting around easy and pleasant. The staff is very professional, always helpful and interested in making certain your stay is perfect.
The dining facilities are excellent-well prepared and presented good food with good service. Pat,our concierge, was extremely helpful making sure we were able to do and see everything we were interested in. She arranged a guided tour through a lagoon in an electric boat-saw a huge rookery filled with local water birds. Saw alligators and turtles.
The highlight of the trip for us was a boat trip on the May River to see dolphins with Captain Andrew"Boo" Harrell. He was knowledgable and enthusiastic explaining about the history of the area, the Eco system and of course the dolphins. A trip with Captain Boo is not to be missed by anyone with an interest in or love of the low country-so fun and informative.
We will definitely return to this impressive resort when we need some pampering and would look forward to taking another dolphin trip with Captain Boo!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 727JimT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A truly remarkable resort, THE INN AT PALMETTO BLUFF was beyond our expectations. The main building looked like something out of Gone With The Wind, with elegant screened porches and a five star restaurant. Every night 3 blazing fires were set out front and long sticks, Hershey's bars, graham crackers and marshmallows were provided for make your own Smores. Our cottage had a view of the river, a screened porch, a gas fireplace, kitchenette/wet bar, king sized bed, claw foot tub, steam shower, his/hers marble sink and dressing room with his/hers closets. Our cottage came with two bicycles which we rode throughout the resort (miles and miles of paved bike paths that weave in and around the property). The two pools were appointed with everything from full fitness clubs and locker rooms to restaurant and bar service straight to your chaise lounge. We took several fitness classes (all complimentary) from yoga to spinning. The horseback riding facility was extraordinary- we should all live like these horses- and the Tennessee walker named Preacher I rode was like floating on air. We took a wonderful kayak tour of the May River, and day trips to Savannah were only marred by the fact that it was time away from this wonderful place. Probably the best thing of all was the Mercedes loaner program- guests can borrow the most top of the line Mercedes convertibles, sedans and SUVs for - get this- NO COST AT ALL, not even for gas- to take on excursions off property. Not only was it great not to have to rent a car, but the cars we drove were beyond luxurious and only added to the specialness of the trip. The natural setting was phenomenal and the wildlife was all around us-- from birds like heron to alligators, sharks, dophins, fox, deer, raccoons, flying squirrels.... and the people-- from the guests to the staff were about as friendly as I've ever met. I cannot rate this place highly enough. Just fabulous.

Room Tip: I would definitely splurge for a cottage with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisAinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First impression is of a beautiful resort nestled on the marshes of South Carolina amongst huge moss-draped trees. The architecture is lovely throughout. We were initially smitten with our cozy cottage accommodations. We enjoyed ourselves for the three days we were there, but it wasn't a perfect destination for us and we probably will not return. There are many destinations that beg a return visit; this resort did not do that for us.

The wedding events were lovely--oyster roast and tree house tour for rehearsal evening and the wedding in the charming little chapel followed by a fun reception for the big day itself. We were guests and not in charge of making those arrangements so cannot speak to efficiency, fulfilled expectations etc. of the wedding planning.

While the other amenities are varied--pools, kayaking/canoeing, boating options and even the biking within resort areas in our case there was a huge miss...air conditioning in all that humidity! Our cottage had problems from the get go. Apparently as an energy saver the AC shuts off when the door to the screened cottage porch remains open. Our problem was that it never re-set properly. With all the wedding activities we were in and out of the cottage so frequently that until we returned to get ready for a more formal event we didn't realize that once again the cottage temp still hovered close to 80 degrees. Engineering arrived to reset the system not from the thermostat, but from outside equipment only to have continued problems. We didn't sleep well waking up hot in the middle of the nite nor did we ever feel pulled together in our dress up clothes remaining sticky-humid, big-haired and then wind blown in our golf cart ride to the church wedding!

The staff at the resort is extremely well trained and always pleasant and helpful. Our meals were fine. We were disappointed to miss the huge firepit nite due to rain--which of course the resort could not control. We had a fun canoe outing and just an OK boating experience out of Wilson's Landing. The boat rental was originally to be a two hour excursion. When we returned at the prescribed time to take the trip it was now billed as an hour and a half cruise. It then departed an irritatingly 40 minutes late while often parking in the hot sun with no awning protection to tell a rather lame narration of the local stories instead of cruising the entire marsh area imparting factual history of the area, fauna and wildlife.

Perhaps some of our lack of desire to return is that this resort was not our personal choice, but instead was for the destination wedding. We wanted to fall in love, but we didn't. We much prefer the beach or land that is totally natural and doesn't seem as architecturally contrived or confined in a community pretty as it was. The resort did credit us an amount for the air conditioning inconvenience, but in our case we would have rather had the AC than the credit amount.

Green Features: Very good--in our case with AC conservation maybe too good!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cam8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
6.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
8.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton,  Bluffton-Sun City
9.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Property: Montage Palmetto Bluff
Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the Inn has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. The Cottage Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 4 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing