We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service in the Low country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Palmetto Bluff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montage Palmetto Bluff
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service in the Low country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We came down for a wedding between Christmas & New Years. The reception was warm, friendly and efficient. Our cottage was well designed, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Large, well appointed bathroom with a steam shower & large tub was a pleasant surprise. Linens were exceptional. Areas to improve: no HD ESPN, and very few HD channels. Inexcusable in a 5 star resort which has an excellent 50" LCD. Pillows far too soft, and bed mattress was a bit soft. A light was out in the bathroom throughout out stay which housekeeping didn't change. The grounds were nice, dining excellent, though limited. Several gas lights throughout the ppty were out, yet gas flowing. Potentially hazardous but no one seemed concerned. Wonderful Inn overall with incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful setting on the river. Only 1 golf course but a great golf staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelltraveledWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    44
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
101
268
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I wanted to dine at the Palmetto Bluff Inn on Dec 24th for our 34th wedding anniversary. Knowing it was a busy time for Palmetto Bluff, I called 10 days in advance. A polite woman named Elaine told me she could not take a reservation at that time, but promised me that her manager would call me or email me within a day or two. I waited three days, heard nothing, called again, and left a voice message, repeating my phone number and requesting a call about a dinner reservation. I waited another three days, called again, and hung up on the automated phone attendant. Then I made other plans for our anniversary.

As locals, we have enjoyed several meals at Buffaloes, but wanted to dine at the Inn for our special occasion. If my experience is indicative of the service provided at this restaurant, I'm glad we went elsewhere. Give Sublime Prime Steak House and Wine Bar in historic Bluffton a try. We did and we were not disappointed. Quality food, nice ambience, class service, fair prices.

Room Tip: We did not stay there. We just wanted to dine at the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoBluff, General Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Deb W.,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our service on TripAdvisor. It is feedback like yours that makes us aware of our opportunities and helps us to continually improve our levels of service.

I was extremely disappointed to learn that we failed to return your repeated calls for dinner reservations. I hope you know that this is not at all in keeping with the high standard of product and service we strive to provide here at Palmetto Bluff. I want to extend my sincere apologies for this experience and the inconvenience it created for you.

Deb W., our Director of Food and Beverage, Jeremy Walton, will be reaching out to you to discuss the situation further. Our guests and potential guests are all very important to us. We hope to have the opportunity to win you over once again.

Sincerely,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was our 2nd time at the Inn and just really love staying at this place. Cottages are beautiful and the shower area with steam bath is so unique. Loved being able to hop on our bikes to ride around.

The only issue was the hot water would not stay hot very long but the staff took care of that promptly. But had a cold shower one morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the river view vs the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, AR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This place is so quiet, you cant help but relax. The cottages are fantastic! And the shower? One of the top three showers I have ever experienced! A great time for couples, although families might find this place too remote and too quiet for kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eforceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Absolutely LOVED everything about Palmetto Bluff...It was the perfect get away for me and my husband to find some peace and quiet in an beautiful romantic setting. The staff could not be nicer, service outstanding, the rooms are stunning and all in peaceful surroundings. The food and wine were fantastic. We can't wait to go back and take our kids with us. Whether its for a romantic or family trip, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMC-ESK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is by far the biggest gem of the Low Country of SC. The place is so overwhelming and beautiful and the service so extraordinary - I felt like I was Jim Carey in the Truman Show with everyone watching and attending to my every need. The food is five star as well as the wine and all the service. Incredible sunrises over the marsh and May River.

Room Tip: Go for the Marsh view rooms overlooking the river. It will be well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We've been to Blackberry Farm, Sea Island and several other high end resorts but never thought to visit Palmetto Bluff until Music to your Mouth. Boy were we surprised. The grounds are beautiful, cottage rooms were beyond my expectations and all the staff we encountered were spectacular.

We stayed in cottage 47 which was a bit out of the way, but quickly got into the spirit of the place as we rode bicycles everywhere. Most folks rode there beach cruisers around the property even late into the night. It's actually fun and made you feel you were back in time when the pace of life was slower. The only reason I do not give the Inn an excellent rating were problems with our hot water heater and a faulty wire on the gas fireplace ignition. The Inn @PB rightfully deserves its place on the best hotels of North America list, and I for one am already planning our next trip.

Don't miss the biscuit bar and lunch at Buffalo's. It is a great southern spread with very friendly and helpful waitstaff.

Room Tip: Stay in a cottage if you can. Those that overlook the river provide wonderful views to relax with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zigzagzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
6.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
8.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
9.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Property: Montage Palmetto Bluff
Address: 1 Village Park Sq, Bluffton, SC 29910-8331 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the Inn has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. The Cottage Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 4 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing