We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montage Palmetto Bluff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montage Palmetto Bluff
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I'll be back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

I hardly know where to start with the accolades... there is so much to appreciate about this resort. The staff that is so friendly and helpful, never forgetting to call you by name is a nice touch. We stayed in a lovely cottage suite that was so appealing, only the beauty of our surroundings could entice us to vacate it occasionally. The grounds were gorgeous and the view of the river from our comfy screened porch was the best place to relax and enjoy our all too brief visit. Our days were filled with golf on a well maintained course, bass fishing in the lagoon in the resort provided canoe and equipment - We caught 3 nice sized bass by the way! We rode the complimentary bikes that came with our cottage on the resort bike paths for hours and took advantage of the personal golf cart to do some extra exploring when we wanted to kick it up a notch. Oh, the spa is wonderful as well. I enjoyed a massage but found the facial by Karen was even better. We opted for private dining for several breakfasts and a dinner and the food was great and service was fast. We also enjoyed the big fire and the smores on the grounds at the Inn. The adult pool was nice and clean as was the whirlpool - it just needs to stay open later and not close at 8:00PM :-( The cottage had it all - the gas fireplace was wonderful, the offerings in the mini-frig at the kitchette, steamer shower, bathrobes & slippers, comfortable bed, flat screen TV and DVD player, upscale inviting furnishings - everything was excellent. The only things I would change would be to provide over-the-top plush towels, increase the selections on the private dining menu and keep the adult pool & whirlpool open until at least 10:00PM. I'm already trying to figure out when I can go again!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank historyknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    44
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
96
263
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Drove from Hilton Head, about a half-hour drive. It was Saturday late afternoon, and we watched the bridesmaids and bride enter the chapel for a wedding. What a treat to see! Had appetizers sitting on the screened porch and they were reasonably priced and fabulous. As dusk settled, the 3 fire pits were lit and young and old made and ate smores at the fire.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ecarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

They greet you by name when you check in but what is amazing is they continue to address you by name through your stay. This includes bell/valet and front desk. The property is fantastic. If you are interested in outdoor activities you can swim laps in the adult only lap pool, kayak,golf, etc. you get around by riding bikes. There are so many paved and dirt trails that you can ride forever. Probably the best part was the showers. We stayed in a river view cottage but really any cottage has a good view. Tons of wildlife. Kayaked next to dolphins feeding today.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neurodoc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at one of the Village Homes for our friend's wedding and it was simply wonderful. The house had 4 bedrooms and easily allowed for enough space for 4 couples to stay.

Each house has a cute front and back porch and hotel amenities.

The grounds were beautiful and the drinks at the bar at the Inn were yummy.

Also, the resort is a quick 40 min ride to Savannah.

Great experience, we will come back again with family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sterling2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I noted another reviewer wrote that they were not sure it got any better, and I would tend to agree. Myself and my girlfriend travelled to a friends wedding, which took place at the chapel, with reception at the Inn. In addition, there was a rehearsal dinner at the golf club the night before. We stayed with another couple in one of the houses. I don't think it's possible for there to be any more amenities possible to ensure you have the utmost comfort. We had the use of a golf buggy for the time spent, or bikes if we preferred. We had full use of the gym, pool and various other activities going on. We also had an 18 month child in the party, but everything was available to ensure he was catered for as well. The wedding itself was splendid, and the staff played no little part in this. The whole place is a town miles away from any distractions or annoyances, in an idyllic waterside location. It really is the ultimate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boyvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I were fortunate enough to attend a wedding here last weekend, and my thoughts mirror those of many of the other reviewers. It was like stepping back in time to a more relaxed, genteel time, albeit with a lifestyle which was probably only experienced by an elite few. The spanish-moss-covered live oaks were spectactular and set the stage for the weekend's festivities, which can only be described as over the top. From the first night low-country boil to the dessert table after the reception, everything was top notch. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly in all instances. The room was - or actually cottage - was spacious and very well appointed. The steam shower was a luxurious change of pace. The complimentary bicycles and kayaks really helped make the weekend for active folks like us, and topping off the exercise with a delicious lunch at Buffalo's almost felt justified...At least until we dug into those very delicious and decadent chocolate covered cookie dough lollipops...One word of advice, all parking is valet, and bags are transported by golf cart to your room, so try to not just toss everything in your car for the trip down like we did. We had to quickly try to compact/pack all our stuff to make it transportable to the room.

Room Tip: The wildlife on the lagoon side was amazing...We really enjoyed watching all the egrets from the exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markrob58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

From the moment you enter the grounds, you will realize that this is going to be a posh vacation. The main house is nicely appointed. But, when you get to your cottage, you will be even more impressed. The "cottage" is actually as big as a house. My husband kept commenting that it was almost nicer than our own home! He loved the spacious bathroom and the reading area next to the bed. We also appreciate a room with a DVD player. We biked through the property, since each cottage comes equipped with 2 bikes. We kayaked in the morning, too. Included. We're return!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
6.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
8.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton,  Bluffton-Sun City
9.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Property: Montage Palmetto Bluff
Address: 1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the Inn has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. The Cottage Spa at Palmetto Bluff is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 4 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing