We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montage Palmetto Bluff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montage Palmetto Bluff
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Coffee on the dock watching dolphins come up for air in perfectly still water at sunrise. Riding bikes to get to-die-for chocolate croissants from the "market" for breakfast. S'more-making and cocktails around the fire after a four star dinner. Tennis, golf, fishing, swimming, kayaking with gators, long bike rides. The best massages you've ever had. Gas lanterns instead of street lamps and spanish moss. An art gallery and the cutest little chapel you've ever seen in your life. Tranquil afternoons by the pool. This place is pure heaven...

Nestled away deep in a forest sanctuary, Palmetto Bluff is a unique escape that caters to homeowners (many of who's homes are available to rent) and guests who stay in the "bungalows." Each home is totally beautiful of course, but the bungalows are out of this world, with spectacular bathrooms with steam showers, supremely comfortable beds, huge beautifully crafted closets, screened in patios & roaring fireplaces the staff turns on for you a turn down. And phenomenal room service. Palmetto Bluff is just picture perfect every step of the way.

My family and I jump every time we have the opportunity to travel there. This year, it is Dad's 78th birthday!

When making a reservation, ask for Pat to help you plan your trip... We love Pat :)

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room at Palmetto Bluff. Some are further away from the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    51
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
108
280
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Do not hesitate when you are about to pull the trigger on this resort! It is as amazing as all of the reviews. Great staff and beautiful accommodations. A great place for romance and privacy. One of the greatest hideaways in the world. Don't hesitate and go today.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conq11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Level Contributor
204 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was our second trip to the Bluff and in our opinion it is the only Forbes 5 star property in South Carolina.

First of all, the rooms are really large cottages facing either a lagoon or the salt marshes. The decor, fine bedding and relaxing large porches (with candles) are unique among top rated establishments we have frequented. The service and staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. The golf course was closed for scheduled aerification while we were there so we did spa treatments instead and we thought our masseuses were in the top five we have ever had anywhere. Add inexpensive electric boat tours, free kayaks-canoes, two bikes to every cottage, free drinks/snacks in the cottage and no charge for parking and wifi and you have the perfect combination. The tariffs are high but the freedom from nickel-diming is nice.

On our last trip, two years ago, the food was the only lacking feature but the management has apparently revamped the F&B operation, resulting in gourmet food and top notch service at both dinner and breakfasts.

We would put this establishment very close to Sea Island Cloisters, which is probably the best in the southeast in terms of accommodations and service. Frankly, we can not understand why Kiawah Resort or Woodlands Inn could possibly receive Forbes 5 stars and Palmetto Bluff only 4....and since we have stayed at both, seems it should be exactly the opposite.

We would highly recommend to family, friends and any business associates.

Room Tip: Lagoon view means you face "Bird Island" which has thousands of birds roosting every night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ritzytopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Ritzytopaz,
Thank for your kind comments regarding the Inn. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the amenities that we offer. We continually strive to increase the quality of product and service that we provide in our Food and Beverage operations and are appreciative of your recognition. We hope that you will return to visit again sometime soon.
Sincerely,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

From check in to check out, our experience here was absolutely flawless. This is classic low country southern charm in a 5 star setting without being over pretentious. Everything about the resort is elegant but very comfortable and the help is incredibly gracious and friendly. Within minutes of getting settled in, we felt as if we have lived here for years and the staff goes out of their way to make you feel right at home. There is both areas for families(great family pool area, each night large bonfires with all the smores fixings, etc) and areas for couples only such as a excellent adult only pool/fitness complex and an intimate main dining room at the River House Restaurant. The various porches are also a great place to have a cocktail and look over the May River. Our dinner at the River House was excellent with service to boot.

If your looking for a Low Country Carolina luxury vacation in a beautiful setting full of southern hospitality, look no further. PS the spa is fantastic as well.

Room Tip: The river view cottages have beautiful views but the lagoon views are equally as nice for a better p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerzdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Jerzdiner,
Thank for your visit to the Inn. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have an outstanding team of service professionals here at the resort and it is always nice to hear how they make our guests feel right at home. We hope that your travels will bring you back to the Inn at Palmetto Bluff again soon.
Sincerely,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Beautiful surroundings, gorgeous cottages, the most friendly staff I've ever encountered. Enjoyed long bike rides, golf, dinner at the Inn, everything was perfect.

Room Tip: The cottages have large porches and steam showers, and the views from the river cottages are absolut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richomnd va
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've been to a few places over the years, some pretty well known resorts, but the Inn was a step above them all. From Pat guiding us through the events we had planned, to Hughes (I believe that was on his name tag ) at Canoe to every and I mean every staff member knowing about other areas of the Inn and being pleasant about it- it was a joy to celebrate our anniversary.

The drive in down the lane started the promise of a special week for us. A great view from our cottage every morning watching the sun rise. The staff at Buffalos (always alert and ready to help at 7:00am), the River and Canoe where the meals were outstanding. Chris King my caddie that helped and tolerated my golf game - twice.

If you have the chance to visit the Inn - I can't image a better way to relax.

Room Tip: Water view cottage. Well worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

There isn't enough space here to list all of the positives of Palmetto Bluffs. The setting; the service; the amenitities; the golf; the spa; the gym; the pools, everything was simply perfect.

The only drawback at all was Rick, the concierge. Everytime we asked him for something, it was like he was doing us a HUGE favor. And our requests weren't abnormal: it was things like, can you confirm that we have a car coming to take us back to the airport (we asked this as we were checking out); or, can you arrange for a mercedes for us. Seriously, would it kill him to smile like the other 50 employees we encountered?

Enough about Rick. This place is amazing. We stayed in a village home this time, but last time we stayed in a cottage. Both were great, in different ways. This time we went with the kids and the home was great. Last time, it was just me and my wife, and the cottage was ideal. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cozmo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Cozmo K,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Inn at Palmetto Bluff. I personally appreciate the constructive feedback that you provided to us in your comments. It is important for us to know where we have opportunities so that we may provide appropriate training to our staff members. It is our standard that every staff member that you encounter provide you with welcoming assistance.
Thank you, once again. It is my hope that your travel plans will provide for a return trip to the Inn.
Sincerely,
Marty Wall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
6.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton,  Bluffton-Sun City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bluffton
Comfort Suites Bluffton
#5 of 6 in Bluffton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Property: Montage Palmetto Bluff
Address: 476 Mt Pelia Road, Bluffton, SC 29910 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the Inn has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. Spa Montage is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 4 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing