We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star Luxury in The Perfect Fairytale Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montage Palmetto Bluff
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“5-Star Luxury in The Perfect Fairytale Setting”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I first visited Palmetto Bluff in 2008. My fiancé (at the time) and I fell in love with it so much that we decided to get married there a year later. We had our choice of anywhere in the world to get married and we chose Palmetto Bluff.
The ambience is magical. It is the only way to describe it. We are from NY and are big travelers. We can honestly say that there is no place in the world like The Inn at Palmetto Bluff. We have gone back every year since our wedding to relive the magic of this place. The accommodations are lush and perfectly detailed. The food is five-star and the service can't be beat.
Make sure you experience the smores by the fire pits at dusk.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. They are all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremydpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    67
    26
    15
    10
See reviews for
144
319
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is without a doubt the best Inn in the South Carolina and the Southeast US. Service is top shelf and delivered by the friendly staff at all levels. The early cocktails on the porch overlooking the May River and the 1920's wooden boat "The Grace" tied up at the pier. This is the way Southern Comfort should always be served up. Rooms are very comfortable and the amenities abundant and easily accessible with golf, spa, horseback riding, cycling, fishing and boating and so many other activities within a short drive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional but if you like to view nature at it's best you'll want to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millerthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed at Palmetto Bluff in early October, 2011 and our expectations were exceeded. Having stayed many times at Auberge du Soliel in California, we new we were in for a treat at this Auberge property, but didn't expect what we found. We stayed in Cottage 13, a duplex overlooking the May River. It was spacious, quiet and spotless. The grounds are spectacular and we loved the complimentary bicycles at the cottage. One can ride for miles around the property enjoying the peaceful surroundings of the Bluff. The architecture in Wilson Village and throughout the Bluff is spectacular. Dinners at the River House and Canoe Club were great and Buffalo's never disappointed us for brakfast or lunch - they have the best cheese grits I've ever tasted! We used the fitness center and the lap pool daily. There was never a problem getting a machine and the view out the front of the fintness center is great. Finally, I think this resort is one of the best values around, we really feel like we got our money's worth. We will definitely be back to visit the Bluff next year!

Room Tip: May River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I recently visited Buffalo with my husband and my sister-in-law. We had heard about the Inn at Palmetto Bluff from our neighbors in Beaufort and they loved it! We had an amazing time as well! The food was excellent- everything from the fried green tomatoes to the Buffalos burger with housemade pimento cheese. My sister-in-law said that her housemade hot dog was the best she had EVER eaten! Our waitstaff was incredible as well; they anticipated all of our needs, including when my husband spilt his water all over the floor! We have never felt so welcome at such a beautiful place. After lunch we took a stroll over to the chapel and the long dock that stretches over the May River. We have recommended Buffalos to all of our favorite friends and it has turned out to really impress them! Thanks
-Claire and Robert in Bluffton, SC

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Instead of one hotel, this property is composed of many cottages. Each has a wet bar, a seating area, large bath, dressing room, screened in porch, and one or two bedrooms. Everything is wonderful! We were there in February, and the weather cooperated. When it rains, staff will provide transportation in golf carts. No cars are allowed around the cottages. We were able to walk everywhere, day or night. Bonfires for s'mores are lit at night. Afternoon tea is provided at times. Food in all the restaurants was great. Had a wonderful fig martini one afternoon! This is equally good for families or for a romantic weekend for two.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieEff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We live close by to the resort and decided to treat our visitors to lunch during their stay. After a walk around the grounds we settled in to lunch at Bluffalos. What a treat. The soup of the day was clam chowder and it was prepared with all fresh ingredients. The special was shrimp po boy sandwich. Large fresh May River shrimp were breaded and fried and served on a long roll with lettuce, tomatoe and avocado with an aoli dressing. Others in our party ordered the cuban sandwich. Both were very good. The sides were a choice of fresh fruit, cole slaw or kettle chips. We each had a different side and all were very good. The kettle chips were fresh potatoes fried and served in a basket still warm. The dessert we all shared since the lunch portions were so large was a small pecan pie tart. Not the best I ever tasted but acceptable. The view and service were exceptional. This will definitely be a favorite we will return to over and over again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannybarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We had lunched at Palmetto Bluff but never spent a night, so we tried it last weekend. The place is an old paper company tract of 20K acres, most of it unoccupied. It's on a bluff, as indicated by the name, overlooking the May River on the SC coast near Beaufort and Savannah,GA.
The original developer apparently had unlimited access to many dollars, and spared no expense in the amenities, which of course led to the inevitable bankruptcy and takeover by the banks. Fortunately, the place was pretty well established by then, and continues to be maintained at a very high standard.
Staff: 5 stars most helpful bright pleasant knowledgeable as a matter of fact, our caddie was a college graduate who knew a surprising amount about the details of the resort's history.
Accomodations: 5 stars equivalent to those we've had at Cabo at Los Ventanas and Cap Juluca with big bedroom, gas log fireplace, huge dressing room, bath with steam shower The room is half of a cottage overlooking the river and has a huge screened in porch to enjoy the view.
Food: Buffalo's for lunch excellent River Room formal dining room, excellent, we had lump crab appetizer, shrimp&grits(much better than the usual in this part of the country), scallops
Unfortunately we tried the Canoe Club the second evening, and were much less impressed with their culinary efforts. "Crispy" duck was essentially deep fried and way too much fried for our tastes. The room was very attractive, the servers very friendly, but the product just didn't measure up. Too bad , but not the end of the world.

Golf: exquisite Nicklaus course winds through a forest of pine, oak, and hardwoods, with occasional marsh views. Well maintained, fast greens (Stimp 11) and many tee choices to appeal to all levels of skill.

It is expensive. Dinner for two with wine and tip: over $220 rooms around $700 per night plus all of the usual add on taxes and fees

We will go back when we can afford it.

Room Tip: ask for a cottage on the riverfront and probably close to the inn offices
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lobsterman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
8.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
11.8 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
773 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
11.9 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
9.9 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Property: Montage Palmetto Bluff
Address: 477 Mount Pelia Rd, Bluffton, SC 29910-8343 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the resort has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. Spa Montage is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 6 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing