We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hey, Mon! You're Gonna Like Dis Place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Stripes Caribbean Cuisine & Lounge

Red Stripes Caribbean Cuisine & Lounge
Ranked #34 of 198 Restaurants in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
464 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Hey, Mon! You're Gonna Like Dis Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a great addition to the Lowcountry! Jamaican food with a little Southern flair. We loved it. And where else around these parts can you find curry goat... or ox tail... all authentic Jamaican favorites prepared just right. Not too spicy since you can zip it up a notch yourself. A couple of us dropped in one day to this nice little place located within shouting distance of two other Old Bluffton favorites, the Sipping Cow and Squat 'n Gobble, both of which we recommend, too. Pass up those chains on highway 278 and have some local chow! Red Stripes is a very comfortable restaurant, done in a converted house, with a cozy bar area and even a pool room, just for passing the time while you're waiting for a table and having a second... Red Stripes beer. The server and the chef were welcoming and knowledgeable about the food, which you no doubt will ask about since it's not anywhere close to burgers and fries or shrimp and grits. We had some chicken soup, served hot and plentiful, and filled with lots of different kinds of root veggies. We followed that up with conch fritters, big and fluffy with perhaps a little too much filler for me, and some jerk chicken, rice and beans, collards and other tasty treats. Very different, very authentic and very satisfying, particularly after a couple of Red Stripes. So, need a change of pace? Then stop into dis place, Mon. You won't be sorry you did. Go local!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakesha D, Owner at Red Stripes Caribbean Cuisine & Lounge, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
We would like to thank you for your review! The fact that you took the time out to let everyone know about your experience says a lot! It has been a few years now and I feel that we have only gotten better! Chef Ezron does daily specials to go along with our amazing menu items! Hope to see you back soon!
Lakesha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    17
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is hard to get to, right off May River Rd behind the Squat and Gobble and across from the Sippin Cow. But make the effort and get here! As stated a husband and wife team own this restaurant, he being from Jamaica. We had the special, Jamaican Fried Chicken and it was wonderfully tasty and adorned w/ sweet peppers. Mom had the peas and rice and Mac and Cheese and said it was wonderful! I had the peas and rice and the greens which were perfectly cooked and the greens were wonderfully seasoned! A cute embiance w/ an aquarium separating the bar area from the restaurant. In warmer weather they do have an ourdoor seating area w/ bands (sometimes reggae). We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, talking with the owners and will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tasckal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakesha D, Owner at Red Stripes Caribbean Cuisine & Lounge, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Greetings, I would like to take the time out to personally thank you for your review. I have always enjoyed serving you and your Mom. Look forward to seeing you back! Hope the new year finds you in good health.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A food adventure!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

The food is an adventure but you need a map. The menu would be more helpful with some explanation of ingredients. We ordered three different chicken dishes thinking we would have three different levels of spice depending on our personal levels of heat tolerance. We got just the opposite. I was disappointed, my wife's tongue was on fire and our friend could detect no curry flavor in her dish. More descriptive menu with heat levels would be very helpful. The plantains were to die for I must say

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakesha D, Owner at Red Stripes Caribbean Cuisine & Lounge, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Dave, thank you for your candid review of our establishment. I am happy to have had the opportunity to serve you and your guest personally. Since your visit we have had ample chances to perfect the flavors of our dishes. I would love to invite you back to try us out again. In the three years since your visit I am proud to say we have gotten a handle on things and pride ourselves on being the only authentic Caribbean store in this area! We look forward to seeing you again.
-Lakesha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jamaica Man!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Been there twice, each time I really enjoyed my dish! First time curry goat, then jerk chicken. Fell off the bone. Not too spicy, plantains and greens sides. A husband and wife team, he is from Jamaica where he was in the biz for years. The menu makes you want to take a trip, but local Lowcountry works. There is a soda that is Pineapple & ginger. Yum! Of course they have Red Stripe beer ergo the name. Ask and you shall know, if they have it they will make it! Treat yourself, soon come!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakesha D, Owner at Red Stripes Caribbean Cuisine & Lounge, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Thank you for your candid review. Tina, we enjoy serving you and your guests each time you visit. Please continue to spread a great word for us! Thank you for always supporting local. -Your friends at Red Stripes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Stripes Caribbean Cuisine & Lounge also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Red Stripes Caribbean Cuisine & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing